CopyPress Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

CopyPress Reviews

Updated Dec 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
59%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
CopyPress CEO Dave Snyder
Dave Snyder
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "Comfortable and friendly work environment(in 12 reviews)

  • "Good team of editors and supervisors(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Way too many "editors" in the process(in 13 reviews)

  • "Paper checks instead of direct deposit (though the goal is to move to(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great pay and interesting writing topics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Copywriter in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CopyPress full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Not sure why this company has so many negative reviews. Perhaps they had a few rough years trying to work out the kinks. Anyhow, I’ve only had good experiences with the people here. I’ve been getting paid consistently well by direct deposit; no paper check nonsense that others were talking about. I personally get to work remotely and can easily communicate with the team if I have any issues. I love being able to earn a bonus every week.

    Cons

    The only con I can think of is having to wait 90 days for benefits, but I understand why they do it.

    CopyPress2019-12-09
  2. Helpful (8)

    "Payments Not Paid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Writer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at CopyPress part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The assignments I accepted were interesting.

    Cons

    I still have not been paid for work that was published on client websites 11 months ago. It doesn't matter how many times I write to them, they don't send a check, claiming some internal mixup. When I first started 2 years ago, payments were made quick and jobs were plentiful. One year ago, however, they went downhill and show zero respect toward their writers.

    Continue reading
    CopyPress2019-09-16
  3. Helpful (5)

    "As Much Work as You Want but Slow to Pay and Unprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Editor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CopyPress full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is a lot of work, and you can work whenever you want as long as you make the deadlines.

    Cons

    The pay is low, the management is very difficult to reach if you have questions, and the pay was ALWAYS very late. I didn't receive my very first paycheck for 6 months -- 3 months AFTER the 90-day period (their net-90 policy) you already have to wait before you'll get your first check. And their net-90 policy? A bit misleading, as that 90 days doesn't begin until the CLIENT approves the work -- NOT after you actually do the work. When the checks were late, they explained that clients sometimes take a long time to track down to have them sign off on the tasks and that it's out of their hands. In my opinion, that's a cost of doing business, and you should be paid for your work regardless of whether the client has paid the company yet! Then, after my first check was incredibly late, which made me afraid it was all a scam to begin with, the next paychecks were THREE MONTHS late!! At that point, I told my managers that I didn't feel comfortable taking on anymore work until I was paid for the 9 months they already owed me. A while longer, they eventually sent the checks, but when I told my managers that I was ready to start taking on work again, they avoided me completely. It wasn't until I emailed the upper management that I was then told -- three months after going without work until they caught up the thousands of dollars they owed me and being told that the work would be ready when I was and that lots of people take time off and they understood my fears -- that the completely virtual company (what I was told in the beginning) was switching to in-house editors (?!?!) and they no longer needed me. So I went without any income that entire time AND without looking for another job because they told me mine was secure.

    Continue reading
    CopyPress2019-05-23
  4. Helpful (6)

    "The worst."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CopyPress full-time

    Pros

    LOL. Would give 0 stars at this point.

    Cons

    Copypress used to be a great place to work, but inept management has turned it into a nightmare. There’s no one in place with any actual prior HR or general management experience. Management is essentially winging it while the CEO covers their mistakes (even the sketchy ones). My favorite policy is the one where exempt employees are required to request overtime, although it calls into question their status as exempt. This is also despite the fact that the CEO made all employees exempt years ago to avoid having to pay anyone overtime, and the constant reminders we receive about how we shouldn’t be a company of clock watchers. Roles are constantly changing and there’s 0 job security. While I understand the contractors anger over not being paid on time, imagine being a full-time employee who is being asked to wait to cash their paper check and worrying constantly that one day you’ll come into the office and they will have closed up shop completely.

    Continue reading
    CopyPress2018-11-08

    CopyPress Response

    November 12, 2018CEO

    Thank you for you insight into your experience. I want to break down the issues with overtime first and foremost. Employees were never made exempt to make employees work overtime in the past. In fact, most employees work between 35-40 hours a week. We have constantly preached a work-life balance and never asked employees to put in extra time. Further, we do a 4 days in office and 1 day out schedule to give employees flexibility in their work week to handle tasks that a normal office job may make difficult. The reason for us watching overtime numbers is two fold: 1) We don't want employees burning out , and want to keep on how much time is being spent by each 2) FLSA makes it illegal for us not to pay overtime to certain exempt employees. Your issue with the company is actually a Federal Law that we have to comply with. I did find your assertion that you would "love to stay here long-term, but things have got to change" to be a contrast to your point that there are no Pros to the job. If there were no Pros there would be no reason to stay here long term. On the note of "bribing writer" for good reviews, this is also false. We have let our faithful writer and editors know about Glassdoor, and let them decide whether to create reviews and how to review us. We don't even have a way to track if they have responded, so it would not be possible to reward them unless they told us about the reviews. My advice would be to bring these issues to management. There is no way to fix issues that are not made public. We have never let an employee go based on complaints about the company. In fact, we have a long history of taking actionable steps to improve the workplace based on feedback. We cannot make actionable changes to CopyPress without insight into the employees perspective.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Editor or Writer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at CopyPress full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have not found any as yet.

    Cons

    Promised 3 assignments to get started still waiting after 4 months to complete the process. When I did get one assignment to edit the author of the article refused to take my corrections and the client asked for some of the same edits as I did. Anyone over 30 is not wanted in this company.

    Continue reading
    CopyPress2018-10-10
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great work-from-home opportunity!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contractor in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CopyPress full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Flexibility - Great pay - Kind and helpful management - Ability to adjust your workload as needed - Ability to work from anywhere with a computer and internet connection - Management will work with you to give you the work you want and need while supporting you along the way -Every question or concern I've had has been answered quickly and thoroughly

    Cons

    - Payments can take a while to get to you sometimes, but I always get paid - Some assignment instructions can be unclear, but project managers are always ready and willing to answer questions and help you

    Continue reading
    CopyPress2018-09-21
  7. Helpful (5)

    "CopyPress Pays Well When They Pay If You're Lucky Enough to Score an On-going Assignment That Last for a Few Months"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Writer/Editor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CopyPress part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - CopyPress pays well for on-going assignments - They give a writer and editor many chances to earn money when you first sign up

    Cons

    - They say they are supposed to pay the writer/editor 90 days AFTER client approval. - When it comes time for them to pay the writer/editor, after the 90 days has passed, they are very slow in paying which goes as far as 2 to 3 weeks passed the 90 days that is stipulated in the contract and they give all kinds of excuses when you email them to find out why you haven't received a check yet. - They have over-zealous editors that try to earn their .02/word by ripping apart the writer's work. The supervisor was supposed to create editing guidelines for the editors so they wouldn't get carried away with over-editing, but it never happened. - When you email the supervisor to find out why the editors are still permitted to over-edit your work after they promised that they would set up written guidelines for editing these "SPECIAL" kinds of piece, the supervisor stops answering you. - They pay their American employees with paper checks, but yet, they can pay their foreign writers and editors by PayPal. (Why can't they pay all of their employees through PayPal?)

    Continue reading
    CopyPress2018-08-20
  8. Helpful (11)

    "Not A Gig You Can Depend On"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Freelance Writer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CopyPress for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay is decent compared to what some others offer.

    Cons

    The 'training' is kind of a joke. Poor communication between writers, editors, and project managers. As other people have mentioned, they take FOREVER to pay. When you start, you'll be told that you'll be paid 90 days after assignments are accepted, but this isn't true. This isn't a gig you can depend on at all. There should be a better process for getting assignments.

    CopyPress2018-06-05
  9. Helpful (2)

    "A Review From a Newbie"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at CopyPress full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's my opinion that CopyPress truly deserves more recognition. This is the reason why I am going to give an honest and detailed review of the company as a whole. I was a bit skeptical actually coming in for the interview since there were some unpleasant reviews. However, I gave CopyPress a chance after reading the passionate responses to those reviews from my now current CEO, and let me tell you, I'm glad I did! CopyPress is really passionate and open to new ideas which I enjoy since I feel like I have a ton to offer this company. This all stems from our CEO driving that passion with the company and his employees. They cater food for their employees almost every week and has an amazing stockpile of snacks, coffee, and water. Which is outstanding because something so simple as snacks and coffee goes a long way. Especially when there's such an abundant selection! The office is normally quiet and you can listen to music and dress casually to work. No expensive suits or business apparel to shop for since everyone's closet fits the dress policy! There's really a work hard play hard mentality here. There will be no one micromanaging you or breathing down your neck. However, you are responsible for getting your work done correctly and on time! (Should be no surprise here!) At times, there can be a ton of work, but I'm pretty ok with this since the day really flies when you're here and you actually feel like you're contributing to the company with all the work you put in. The training is superb and asking questions and learning is really encouraged here! There's no stupid questions since we're all in it together to learn and grow. I honestly couldn't be happier. I love the people I work with! The company is growing exponentially. So much that we will be soon moving into a bigger building and nicer office. Pretty happy about that! The benefits are outstanding as well. Which was a major selling point in picking a company to work for. I would say if you are considering CopyPress as your next employer, go for it!

    Cons

    The only small con I can really think of is the company still hands out paper checks. However, I know a new system is being implemented soon for Direct Deposit since the company is growing! It's my belief that CopyPress didn't have the need of Direct Deposit when they first started since the number of employees they had in-house was small. But CopyPress is quickly adapting with the changes which is a really good sign for the future of this company.

    Continue reading
    CopyPress2017-09-29
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at CopyPress full-time

    Pros

    Learn the in's and out's of SEO and digital strategy that are important to know as you progress in the industry.

    Cons

    Repetitive work with little growth potential within.

    Continue reading
    CopyPress2017-08-10

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 48 reviews