Credit Protection Association Reviews | Glassdoor

Sign Up for FREE in seconds to unlock millions of salaries and reviews

Credit Protection Association Reviews

Updated May 2, 2018
10 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
David Baber
6 Ratings

10 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "Liars"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Credit Protection Association full-time

    Pros

    Really can't think of any

    Cons

    I would say the whole career is flawed. they were lauding one of the guys in my team for being a star but he sold very little and earned very little so the rest of the team, newbies mostly were thinking "if he's the best what do the average earn?"

    Advice to Management

    Stop Lying


  2. Helpful (2)

    "They do What it says on the Tin!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Service Manager in Portsmouth, South East England, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Account Service Manager in Portsmouth, South East England, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Company supports you every step of the way from starting out, through to becoming established on territory.
    Follow the training guide and you get the results and are very well paid for effort put in.
    Like following a recipe. Put in all the ingredients, follow the timings and you get cake! Leave out some of the steps, or an ingredient and you get a biscuit. Not the same at all.
    Great team in the office who have lots of experience, some have worked at head office for decades. Always there to help and advise you when you are faced with difficult situations when on site in meetings with potential new members or existing members. As a company, they do what it says on the tin........provide excellent credit management facilities and recover overdue accounts very successfully for their subscribers.

    Cons

    None that are not happening in every other place I have ever worked.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the innovations being put in place and continue to look to the future with I.T. improvements

  3. "You dont have to be mad to work here but it helps"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Collections Manager in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Collections Manager in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Credit Protection Association full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Lovely Staff who are efficient in their own roles and work as a team. Good camaraderie between all departments.
    Quirky and lively environment cross between 'Are you being Served 'and 'The Office' lots of laughter .
    Great Christmas Parties with our Sales teams.
    Spacious offices and situated in a great place for shopping at lunch time.
    Hard work is rewarded. We support a great sales team and interact with all our sales people daily.
    We have fantastic relationships with our clients and every day is different. I have been here 29 years and still enjoy every day.

    Cons

    No parking. Can't think of anything else.

    Advice to Management

    Delegate


  4. Helpful (5)

    "load of crap - dont do it - its a total non job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Credit Protection Association full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    none at all - it's not a job - you are a self employed tout for someone elses business and you cant even bill for your time

    Cons

    everything -
    being lied to about how you are going to be working a patch that hasn't been done for years only to find you cant visit x y or z company because they signed up two months ago.
    Being given a patch with only 500 elligible businesses who answer with things like 'not you lot again'
    discovering that the product is actually worthless and there are many better alternatives that companies already use
    discovering the company is so far out of date its laughable
    discovering this commision only job keeps the owner in new jags while everyone else effectively works for free.
    Even if you miraculously make some money you will run out of prospects within four weeks . .

    Advice to Management

    shut your company and stop exploiting people
    to anyone thinking of applying forget it
    you would earn way more begging assuming you made a quid.

    Credit Protection Association Response

    Nov 23, 2016 – Operations Director

    e appreciate comments but find it hard to believe that you worked full-time at The Credit Protection Association (CPA) as a salesperson, because experience proves if you had worked full-time and... More


  5. "interesting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great intensive sales training - they really know their stuff
    It was great being out visiting prospects
    You could sell the product on the first visit
    Able to work near home with an exclusive area.
    The manager was happy to come out with you and help.
    Only had to travel to the office one day a week.

    Cons

    Phone days are tough
    You have to find your own prospects
    the prospects were all SME's and would often break appointments
    It is full on

    Advice to Management

    Break up the sales process. Book appointments for the salesman

    Credit Protection Association Response

    Nov 23, 2016 – Operations Director

    Thank you for your comments which are much appreciated. We agree with you that phone days can be tough, but it is usually the case that people who do not make sufficient appointments have not stuck... More


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Its a Plc but feels more like family to me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Stable long established company with good resources.
    Run by an owner-director so decisions can get made quickly.
    Everyone is treated like an individual.
    You are trusted to do your job and get on with it.
    Great office camaraderie and spirit.
    Average member of staff has been here more than 12 years.
    If you work hard and get results you get fantastic rewards.
    Office is in a lovely position set away from the road with lots of amenities and close to transport.

    Cons

    local parking is difficult.
    You have to get the district line if you come by tube.
    Because of the longevity of staff, progression can take time

    Credit Protection Association Response

    Nov 23, 2016 – Operations Director

    thank you.


  7. Helpful (5)

    "Completely unrealistic and costly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Area Account Manager in Bolton, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Area Account Manager in Bolton, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Credit Protection Association (Less than a year)

    Pros

    There really aren't any, unless you really want a decade old laptop and second rate business cards..

    Cons

    Scripted sales patter. No deviation allowed. Most businesses are covered by the telephone protection system or tps meaning you can't sell to a business without having actually visited the premises. This adds a huge cost to your expenses which aren't covered at all. Even though you're told an area is virgin and hasn't been hit before you'll find that people call you tony and say "still no" overall the only winners here are the people who pay you nothing to make them money. Avoid wasting your time and money and avoid like the plague. Or should I say you'd like to avoid them like the plague,,,wouldn't you,,,,,?

    Advice to Management

    Be honest, tell the truth about tps. Tell the truth about areas being hit before. Go for quality not quantity. Your idea of numbers in terms of staff will only get you bad press and a bad reputation. Invest in staff. Pay a basic. Don't repeat training days over and over with exactly the same content.

    Credit Protection Association Response

    Aug 11, 2016 – Operations Director

    I am sorry to read your review and I can see you were not at all suited to the role.

    As a self-employed agent you were free to use your own laptop if you preferred and were to free to provide... More

  8. Helpful (4)

    "Dreadful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Sales in London, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Credit Protection Association full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Non, I do not think it will survive much longer, all cold calling and nobody is remotely interested in the product

    Cons

    A terrible waste of time, if your desperate still don't bother. An awful experience, that will cost you money, self respect and dent your confidence

    Advice to Management

    Difficult business to manage but to retain staff you will need to pay a basic salary

    Credit Protection Association Response

    Aug 11, 2016 – Operations Director

    I am sorry to read your review and hear that you couldn't make it work,.

    You say that nobody is interested in our product but our sales figures would say otherwise. I am sorry though that for... More


  9. Helpful (3)

    "Working at Credit Protection Association Plc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Manager in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Territory Manager in London, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Good for new recruits/ young applicants with no work experience.

    Cons

    The company still use 'old school techniques', e.g. recording everything on paper, index cards, and cold callings to introduce services to businesses. There's no integrated CRM system in place, and everything has to be recorded on paper (not very environmental friendly).

    Advice to Management

    -Very outdated style of management. Still use scripted cold calling, which may need updating as MDs usually not take the appointments seriously.
    -Use hard selling techniques, and do not care about their customers. Require their customers to sign there and then.
    -Very tight on expenses, mileage claiming, and this should be improved.

    Credit Protection Association Response

    Aug 11, 2016 – Operations Director

    I am sorry to read your review. It is interesting what you say. If you were with us at the end of 2014 you may have experienced that we did try to implement a CRM system for sales leads however the... More


  10. Helpful (3)

    "Interesting, but not in the real world."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Account Manager in London, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Credit Protection Association full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Structured training with fully documented manuals and guides
    Advise and recommendations on planning and working your patch.
    Sales literature and product presentations are well worked and generally relevant.
    A good initial team spirit.

    Cons

    Commission only pay structure. .
    You make all your cold telephone calls.
    You find all your own sales leads.
    Pay does not match the £85,000 quoted in the job advert - I never met anyone making anything close to half this.
    Travel one day a week to work out of the company call centre - at your expense.
    New starter turnover is very high.

    Advice to Management

    Be more honest about pay and commission new starters are likely to earn.

    Credit Protection Association Response

    Aug 11, 2016 – Operations Director

    It would appear that you were with us as a Self Employed Accounts Manager with an exclusive territory.

    Thank you for the "Pros" you mention and I am glad you found it interesting.

    Responding to... More


Showing 10 of 11 reviews
Reset Filters