KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Dataminr

Engaged Employer

Dataminr

Add a Review

Dataminr Reviews

Updated Jun 30, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 232 of over 258 reviews

3.9
74%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Dataminr Founder & CEO Ted Bailey (no image)
Ted Bailey
129 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

403

60 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Dataminr and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee
    Featured Review

    Best work experience of my career

    Feb 11, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people, opportunities to learn and culture are amazing.

    Cons

    None that I can think of. I left for personal reasons.

    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Review

    Jun 30, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people and career opportunities

    Cons

    Nothing comes to mind now.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Very good

    Jun 28, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They have a good pay

    Cons

    Not big space for the career

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    A Good Start

    Apr 13, 2022 - Customer Success Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's a small but growing company that mainly focuses on contracts for public organizations such as the DoD. I would suggest working here for a few years and then jumping ship to another company. That is if you are looking for upward movement. If not, then this is a good company to work at for a long period.

    Cons

    No upward movement which is not a problem if you do not care.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Dataminr Response

    Chief People Officer

    While we respect everyone’s views and experiences, the notion that we mainly focus on the public sector is simply not true. Dataminr enables faster response, more effective risk mitigation, and stronger crisis management for both public and private sector organizations that span global corporations, first responders, NGOs, and newsrooms. In fact, Dataminr Pulse, our corporate risk product, is used by more than two-thirds of the Fortune 50 and half of the Fortune 100. As for upward mobility, we not only encourage employees to take ownership of their progression, but we also support our people through that journey with professional development funds, growth frameworks that both themselves and their managers feed into, and access to professional mentorship and management programs geared toward growth within the company. None of these programs are mandatory, but they are available for employees to opt into. If interested, I’d like to connect to get a better understanding of the roots of your feedback.

  5. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Stay far, far, far away. Terrible.

    Mar 16, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Any job is amazing after this one.

    Cons

    CEO is nowhere to be found. A sweat shop. Everything is urgent. No time to ever eat lunch or take breaks. They will tell you to make sure to take breaks but then continue to ask for 100 urgent items. Terrible and mean leadership. Just not nice and most people I worked with were miserable and only staying there because of a certain person. I assume there will be a mass exodus upon bonuses. Want to go on PTO? You won't be able to because every meeting is urgent and you'll have to go even when you are OOO. Gross.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful

    Dataminr Response

    Chief People Officer

    I'm disappointed to learn of your experience. I always appreciate employees sharing their perspectives. We provide many opportunities for employees to share their individual experiences, and encourage them to use their voice so that they can effect meaningful change. A perfect example of this is our expanded mental health benefits, increased investment in leadership training and management programs, as well as new, more expansive employee resource groups. We pride ourselves on curating safe spaces for our global team, and encourage people managers to have open dialogue with their team about their evolving needs. If you’re open to it, I would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and discuss the best path forward for all.

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    FP

    May 9, 2022 - Financial Planning and Analysis Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work atmosphere. Super interview process

    Cons

    No cons to mention. . .

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    .

    May 8, 2022 - Customer Success Associate in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working remote is a nice plus

    Cons

    No cons for the role

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great product, poor leadership

    Apr 28, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Incredibly impactful product that motivates employees to do more -Solid benefits package, especially the very affordable health care options -

    Cons

    -Inexperienced managers who pretend to be leaders -Horrendous transparency issues where nothing is communicated to the lowest levels -Stagnant promotions opportunities which is incongruent with startup culture

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Dataminr Response

    Chief People Officer

    We appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking the time to submit a review. If you’re open to it, I’d welcome a real-time conversation so that I can more deeply understand your experience and we can discuss some of our manager leadership programs and manager/people promotion statistics. Until then, here’s a bit of information I can offer: All people managers are enrolled in our Manager Development Program. We provide instructor-led training and a variety of resources to help grow and develop our managers. Topics explored in these trainings include Giving Effective Feedback, Crucial Conversations, and Interview training. Additionally, we’re soon launching a specialized training that further refines leadership interview skills in the areas of diversity, equity, and inclusion. It’s important to us that our training is reflective of the needs of the organization, our managers, and, of course, our employee base. Beyond managerial programming, we also provide all employees with access to LinkedIn Learning. You mentioned stagnant promotions, so I’d like to offer some transparency on that. In our most recent review process, 20% of our employees across the entire organization were promoted, and this has been consistent over the last year of review processes. I believe this is reflective of our investment into internal upward mobility and the continuous learning provided to both our employees and people manager population. Thank you again for your feedback. Providing an exceptional employee experience is core to executing on our company values. I am happy that you find our products and service motivating, and our healthcare and broader benefits package to be solid. I look forward to hearing from you so we can continue this conversation.

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Workplace

    Apr 25, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It’s a great work environment.

    Cons

    I don’t have any cons.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Excellent Company

    Mar 16, 2022 - Account Executive in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Compensation is above average, the team overall is filled with tenured and seasoned intelligent people, and they are on a trajectory to grow exponentially.

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 232 Reviews

Dataminr Reviews FAQs

Dataminr has an overall rating of 3.9 out of 5, based on over 258 reviews left anonymously by employees. 74% of employees would recommend working at Dataminr to a friend and 75% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -6% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Dataminr employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.1 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Dataminr. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

74% of Dataminr employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Dataminr 3.5 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.8 for culture and values and 3.6 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Dataminr to be culture, career development, benefits and the cons to be compensation, management, senior leadership.

Popular Careers with Dataminr Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Dataminr? Share Your Experiences

or

Company Updates

Logo

Dataminr

28 days ago

Events
Dataminr will be at the Open Data Science Conference (ODSC) in our virtual booth on June 15 and 16. Our Director of AI Research, Aoife Cahill, PhD, will be speaking on "AI for Emergency Response" - don’t miss it! Learn more and register for ODSC Europe at https://odsc.com/europe/
Shared image
See all

Dataminr Photos

+ Add Photo
Dataminr photo of: Our engineers have the most fun.
Dataminr photo of: Dataminr in action
Dataminr photo of: "Building and Capitalizing on Your Network" - a panel hosted by our Black@Dataminr ERG
Dataminr photo of: London team enjoying a rare, sunny day in the grey city!
Dataminr photo of: Dataminr celebrates PRIDE all over the world!
Dataminr photo of: AAAI 2020 Conference!
Dataminr photo of: BeTime Practice bringing mindfulness and meditation to our NYC offices.
See All Photos