Diligent Reviews | Glassdoor

Diligent Reviews

Updated Sep 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 86 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Diligent CEO Brian Stafford (no image)
Brian Stafford
53 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and work/life balance(in 7 reviews)

  • "The culture is great and there are great opportunities available for people who are prepared to go the extra mile and work hard(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 3 reviews)

  • "There are no cons that I can think of, read the "pros" section(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "It is a wonderful company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Diligent full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and wonderful company focus

    Cons

    There were no Cons to working

    Diligent2019-07-25

    Diligent Response

    July 30, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. Your insight means so much—especially coming from someone who had a long tenure at Diligent. Our team is at the heart of everything we do, so it’s always very encouraging to hear such positive commentary. Thank you for being an ambassador for Diligent! ...

    Show More
  2. Helpful (9)

    "Professional Recommendation: Look elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Governance Development in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Diligent full-time

    Pros

    Some of the team is quite talented, positive, bring great energy and collaborate well.

    Cons

    Much of management doesn't understand the day to day, communication needs to be reviewed much more efficiently among different departments.

    Advice to Management

    Get on the ball, trust your employees. Optimize reviewing processes and learn better ways to deal with clients, continuous growth is key in this stage of company development.

    Diligent2019-05-15

    Diligent Response

    July 11, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thank you for your feedback. We agree that our team is made up of some of the brightest and most talented folks in the business. We also acknowledge that communication could be better, and we are working on that. We’ve grown quickly over the past few years and continue to work on ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (17)

    "I wish 0 stars were an option"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Diligent full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are a VERY select handful of folks that are bright, driven individuals that actually care about performing their job responsibilities instead of handing them off to anyone else in sight.

    Cons

    Where to begin? 1) Complete lack of leadership skills at the Director and C-Suite level. It all begins at the top, and unfortunately the top is a group of disorganized, disrespectful, superiority complexed individuals with absolutely no strategic vision. 2) Communication across the entire organization is terrible, including from the CEO. At least 7 acquisitions were made in the past year and little to no... communication about product integrations were given until after board meetings when there is a sudden fire drill to increase sales, with sales numbers being the only thing that this company cares about, no matter the cost to employees. There has been absolutely no plan for any department and everyone has to scramble at the last minute to make things happen that the CEO has promised to the board. 3) Leadership mistreats employees and the work environment is prime for gaslighting, obscenely dispectful interactions, and total lack of appreciation for hard work and/or ideas. Leadership is threatened by any good ideas and takes ownership even if the idea was brought up by a lower-level employee OR squashes ideas completely before listening. Directors micro-manage in the worst way, focusing on minutiae that has absolutely no impact and gives zero direction in the areas that need it. 4) The bonus structure is a complete joke. It’s purposely convoluted so that employees are completely unclear about what they are/should be receiving. 5) The "value system" is garbage and means nothing to anyone in leadership; just a thinly veiled guise to appear as a moral and ethically sound organization. 6) Beware: this company is very good at making things sound wonderful, but the work environment at disgustingly toxic at best. No one wants to do any of their own work and slyly continues handing off responsibilities to lower-level employees who are subjected to utter disrespect and unfair compensation. 7) Unlimited vacation sounds wonderful until you're so overworked that taking a day off isn't possible. Leadership expects employees to basically be on call even on days off, even though the office is void of leadership presence nearly every day.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take out the trash! There are SO MANY employees that are so cancerous to your entire organization. Listen to your employees and be advocates for them. Take them seriously when they're telling you there is a problem. Make ONEDILIGENT a reality, because right now, it's a terrible place to work that has impacted my mental health and well being.

    Diligent2019-05-31

    Diligent Response

    July 11, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to detail your experience. We are disappointed to hear you feel this way. While it is hard to receive a review like this, we acknowledge that Diligent has grown quickly, acquired new companies, and that some of our processes can better ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great people, ok work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Test Automation Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Diligent full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worked with some really talented and hardworking people Midtown location Happy with the pay Unlimited vacation and good benefits overall Stable company with job security, organic growth of core product and private equity funding for growth by M&A of related products/companies.

    Cons

    Most technology/development positions require frequent collaboration with the New Zealand office, which has a 16 hour time difference with New York. Poor basic wifi connectivity and extremely unreliable development/test environments located in New Zealand make getting work done slower and more difficult than necessary Company is a private equity flagship for consolidating the corporate executive software and... consulting business. I personally find it difficult to be passionate about the product, the company or its mission.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The technology infrastructure for US operations needs to be housed and administered in the US.

    Diligent2019-02-25
  5. Helpful (26)

    "Do NOT reccomend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Diligent full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Being part of a high-growth global team

    Cons

    -ALL ABOUT BRIAN STAFFORD'S BOTTOM LINE WITH DISREGARD FOR EMPLOYEES WELL-BEING -does not hire enough employees to match growth -does not pay employees market rate -expects you to work all hours, work-life balance non-existent -people that know people get paid more/promoted more -no real company culture except for that one clique of people that just go out and drink -does not invest in employees

    Diligent2019-02-02
  6. Helpful (4)

    "I love working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Support Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Diligent full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great pay - Great benefits - Get to work remotely - Appropriate workload - Professional supervisors - Good CEO - Excellent coworkers - Excellent resources

    Cons

    - Interview process was long (~ 4 weeks) - Sometimes there are errors in pay

    Advice to Management

    Streamline interview process

    Diligent2018-11-29
  7. Helpful (3)

    "It’s an exciting time to be here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Sales Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Diligent full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Diligent is uniquely positioned as the industry-leader while experiencing exceptional growth, driven by a strategic vision to change the industry landscape, and as a result its employees and clients feel they're part of something special. Diligent's management team has hired the best people in leadership to support and develop talent, allowing employees to work independently while being supported as needed. As a... result, our internal cultural celebrates each others' successes while providing merit-based recognition. Diligent is also extremely fair with compensation, time-off, and benefits, with a senior leadership team who is down to earth and easily approachable. At this point in my career I've worked for four different software companies, and Diligent is the only one I've felt I want to stay with for the long-term. Work is no longer just "work", but instead something I feel excited about in my day to day.

    Show More

    Cons

    Through multiple acquisitions and fast-growth there are growing pains, which is expected. System integration and consolidation of internal platforms has been a challenge, but expected.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you’re doing. The future is exciting.

    Diligent2018-09-26
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
     in New York, NY

    I worked at Diligent for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company to work with

    Cons

    No cons at all that i know of

    Diligent2018-10-02
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great summer with Diligent!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Diligent

    Pros

    My favorite part about Diligent was the people. I worked with an incredible team of designers, developers, BAs, PMs, content writes and more. Diligent has offices across the world to improve service for there global clients. Therefore, I had the opportunity to work with people in London and New Zealand which was a really cool experience. Diligent puts their employees first. As an intern, I was welcome to access... the many benefits Diligent employees have. Every Friday during the summer we had "Friyay" celebrations that included ice cream and beverages. I especially loved the endless supply of healthy snacks and cold brew. The internship program also held a host of activities including lunch & learns, bowling, escape the room, and more.

    Show More

    Cons

    I learned a lot and had a great experience. I do not have any cons.

    Diligent2018-09-14
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Work Hard, Play Hard with Great People and Plenty of Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Diligent full-time

    Pros

    Have been working at Diligent for less than a year and love it so far. I work with individuals across most of the teams and can say everyone has been welcoming and the New York office is a great atmosphere to work in. Everyone is professional and talented. There is a work hard, play hard attitude and plenty of opportunity. A lot of flexibility to carve your own career path and challenge yourself in ways that are... meaningful

    Show More

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Diligent2018-08-28
Found 86 reviews