Encore Wire Reviews | Glassdoor

Encore Wire Reviews

Updated Mar 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 39 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
Daniel L. Jones
20 Ratings
  1. "Good Employer!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Encore Wire full-time

    Pros

    I am not sure why there are so many bad reviews! Encore has ~1,300 employees so I guess there are bound to be some negative reviews and experiences... I've been with Encore for almost 2 years now and think that the company is phenomenal! In addition to good benefits, they offer free meals a few times a year as a thank you to employees and they put on events (like the Health Fair) that allow families to attend and get involved with the company.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons!

    Continue reading
    Encore Wire2018-12-19
  2. "Shipping Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Encore Wire full-time

    Pros

    Excellent and beautiful place to work with lots of benefits for staff.

    Cons

    Safety of staff top priority

    Continue reading
    Encore Wire2019-03-12
  3. "Pros of Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Encore Wire

    Pros

    Vacation Time, Health Insurance, Interactive Environment, Emphasis on Employees

    Cons

    Not much to say here.

    Continue reading
    Encore Wire2018-11-19
  4. "Pay isn’t enough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operator in McKinney, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Encore Wire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get the hours 60 plus a week. Weekly pay. Great people to work with. Really cool stuff to learn and sometimes easy going

    Cons

    The pay needs to be a lot more than what they have you do. They have favorites in the plants to where some people get paid more than others if your buddy buddy with manager

    Continue reading
    Encore Wire2018-10-30
  5. Helpful (3)

    "The worst job I’ve ever had."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Machine Operator in Princeton, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Encore Wire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    On site medical clinic for self and family

    Cons

    Low wages, low pay cap, mandatory OT 60-84 hrs a week! No joke. 12hr work days. Management doesn’t have a clue. Extreme temps & humidity in production plants during summer months

    Continue reading
    Encore Wire2018-09-04
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Encore The Plantation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Encore Wire full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The only pro is plenty of overtime!! Great for a single person without a family.

    Cons

    Horrible upper management, once you hit 14.oo an hour no more raises, hard working environment, supervisors or leads( over seers') make it unbearable to work always giving wrong orders, and hourly employees have no opinions. This is the Perfect restoration of Slave Plantation!!!

    Continue reading
    Encore Wire2018-08-21
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Mckinney Gulag.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fork Lift Operator in McKinney, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Encore Wire full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    If you are deep in debt or fresh put of prison and need a job that will consume your life and soul to keep you out of trouble. Well this is the job for you. Insurance is good and on-site Med Cor clinic is handy.

    Cons

    This place is the epitome of chaos. The communication is horrible, the management will break their teams backs for their bonuses and reward them with chicken tenders. Now they're bringing in stand-up reach trucks that will have the employees standing for 10 to 12 hours a day for 6 days a week. There are no formal breaks except for a 20 minute lunch although they are lenient if you take an extra 10 minutes. Ignore the 4 star reviews since they are obviously written by management. This is a last resort job and should only be used to dig yourself out of debt or a temporary job untill something better comes along.

    Continue reading
    Encore Wire2018-08-19
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Dead end"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Encore Wire full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with is the only pro I can salvage

    Cons

    No incentive to learn as the do not give raises but once a year and can choose not to give you it at all.

    Continue reading
    Encore Wire2018-07-23
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Order Puller / Truck Loader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Order Puller/Truck Unloader in McKinney, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Encore Wire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of OT in the distribution center, usually mandatory 72 or 84 hours a week. Time and a half. Constantly busy with little down time, but not rushed. Understanding and sympathetic supervisors. Vacation time is given in full in January for the year, two weeks for even mostly new employees. Overall a good company and campus. Has a well run clinic for the employees and their families (by marriage), which covers simple medical visits for a great price. Can volunteer for extra shifts.

    Cons

    Unpredictable schedule for the day(s) off that you do have however they are currently working to improve the schedules. Raises are yearly and low. You have to wait until January to get your paid vacation time, does not accrue. Distribution Center is going through quite a bit of transition, installing a new rack system and the company is acquiring stand up forklifts. Things are constantly changing and in flux, including the scheduling. Schedules change or are at least modified at least twice a week currently.

    Continue reading
    Encore Wire2018-06-25
  10. "Bottom of pay scale for skilled labor."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electromechanical Technician in Mc Kinney, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Encore Wire full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The only pros are the schedule I have. I work 12 hour shift work which eqautes to being off 15 days out of the month. Generous vacation but you have to write your vacation schedule for whole the year at beginning of the year. 401k is just okay nothing special.

    Cons

    You will pay for everything needed for your job. If you need prescription safety glasses you have to pay for them. Steel toe boots you have to pay for them. Uniforms you have to pay for them. There are no Christmas bonuses or profit sharing plans.

    Continue reading
    Encore Wire2018-02-26
Found 39 reviews