Excel Partners Reviews

Updated May 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
64%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Excel Partners CEO Donald E. Hutchinson, Jr.
Donald E. Hutchinson, Jr.
2 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Contractor, more than 1 year

    Highly Recommend Excel Partners

    Dec 11, 2017 - Anonymous Contractor in Norwalk, CT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly, helpful professional staff. Leadership in temporary division have long standing relationships with clients. Clients trust Excel to supply qualified candidates. Temporary personnel can expect opportunities at a variety of professional settings.

    Cons

    Only con is the is downtime between assignments. But you can count on the temporary staff to keep you updated and place you as soon as they are able.

    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    What's the Point

    May 8, 2019 - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They tell you about jobs that are allegedly available.

    Cons

    A Skype cancelled 20 minutes before scheduled time. You cannot get a return phone call, email or text. Sent on few interviews for same job. Never heard a peep or an inquiry of how it went. Need feedback and it doesn't happen. Did I get job or not.? I'll never know.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    Executive Administrative Assistant

    Sep 12, 2018 - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Recruiters are very helpful and give positive feedback.

    Cons

    No one returns your calls or follows up by email.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    This is a great company to start your career

    Mar 30, 2016 - Senior Associate in Westport, CT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The firm is currently expanding, and the growth opportunities are endless (which is amazing). The firm was originally stationed in Stamford, CT, but has recently transitioned to Norwalk, CT. I've personally had the privilege of working at both locations, and couldn't be happier! Half the recruiters here, are young top college graduates looking to get experience in: recruiting, marketing, client service or account management. The other half of the recruiters (especially in the Accounting & Finance department) are from top hedge funds. If you want to work hard and grow with the firm, the possibilities are endless.

    Cons

    If you're just looking for that typical 9-5 full-time job, you probably won't last. People who come in with that attitude, don't last more than 4 months. Excel is a fast paced environment, where "learning on the fly" is essential. If you are not hungry or have an entrepreneur type personality, you will probably not last.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Hired Candidate

    May 6, 2015 - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excel Partners is one of the most highly respected placement firms in the the Fairfield County CT metro area. They were recommended to me by multiple former candidates in 2001 and I have been working with them with great satisfaction over the course of my career ever since. Founder/President Gary Gilbert runs the firm with an awesome hands on approach. He is smart, caring, highly professional and ethical. His excellent team of recruiters has always exhibited the utmost professionalism. I cannot recommend this firm more highly.

    Cons

    I found no downside working with Excel as a candidate over the course of the last 14 years. Excellent recruiting firm that strives to place a candidate only with client with whom they will have the best possible fit.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Freelancer, less than 1 year

    The absolute worst experience I have ever had with any recruiter. Run. Run away.

    Jul 19, 2015 - Paralegal in Brookfield, CT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    About that...I can't think of anything. Best part? Still working on that...I got nothing.

    Cons

    The recruiter I was assigned to miscommunicated multiple essential elements about the assignment, including, but not limited to, job responsibilities and compensation, and was usually unavailable when I attempted to reach this individual. Upon request to have my file transferred to another staff member following a terrible experience with one incompetent recruiter, never heard back from the agency.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good Company to work with

    Aug 18, 2015 - Contracted Hire in Stamford, CT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Your contact with Excel Partners is very invested in helping you get the position you are looking for: they will help prepare you as well as they can for the interview and do their best to make sure you succeed. Keep in contact with your recruiter: much of the work handled tends to be temp-to-perm and they're someone who will be in your corner when its time to move on to another position.

    Cons

    None cons to complain about. Could be closer to where I live I suppose?

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    Thumbs up to Excel Partners!

    May 13, 2016 - Administrative/Office Coordinator in Mansfield, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've been working as a contract worker for the last 4 years. Out of all the agencies in my area, Excel Partners has been the only agency that has come through for me. They've place me at great companies, with great people and a decent hourly pay. My consultant, Tara Kiniry works very hard finding assignments for me, and whenever I need to speak with her regarding anything related to my assignments, she's always available.

    Cons

    No complaints at this time.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Contractor, more than 3 years

    Very Happy With Excel Partners

    Nov 29, 2017 - Contract Employee in Stamford, CT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people are great to work with and easily accessible. I have been placed at a top-tier company several times, plus - they actually listened when I gave my criteria as to what I was looking for in a job. Everyone in the office is nice and knowledgeable, and they have many options available regarding positions, both temp and perm.

    Cons

    The office is a bit difficult to get to if you have no car.

    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Senior Recruiter

    Jun 27, 2017 - Senior Recruiter in Norwalk, CT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I worked at Excel Partners for 23 years and was very successful! The CEO is a tremendous mentor and educator. He will teach you everything you need to know to succeed in the recruiting industry. The benefits are outstanding and if you work hard, there is flexibility to be had.

    Cons

    Must have a sales mentality and willing to work hard and play hard!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 18 Reviews

Popular Careers with Excel Partners Job Seekers

Manager/Director of Business Development
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Excel Partners? Share Your Experiences

Excel Partners logo
or