KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Futures Explored

Is this your company?

Futures Explored

Add a Review

Futures Explored Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 of over 21 reviews

3.2
59%
Recommend to a Friend
Futures Explored Executive Director Karen Smith
Karen Smith
0 Rating
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Amazing Company

    Sep 9, 2021 - Direct Support Professional (DSP) 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Futures Explored promotes working as a team to create the best outcome for individuals with developmental disabilities. Staff are great, management is very collaborative and supportive. Great benefits, great people including staff, participants and management.

    Cons

    It is hard for us to recruit good, reliable staff these days.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Great People - Great Company

    Sep 8, 2021 - IT Specialist in Sacramento, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've been working for Futures for almost a decade and I'm super grateful to work for such a company. The culture is centered around caring for each other and you feel valued as an employee. I've noticed that as a whole, most staff care about each other and it creates a tight-nit work environment. We have multiple staff that have worked over a decade with a company (I believe the longest working current staff started in the late 1990s). Our company is trying hard to make employees feel welcome by creating trainings on mental health, safety, and other interesting topics. We also have a fitness challenge program as a fun way to give back. There has been some recent restructuring of the programs to make them more efficient and specialized. The Exec Director is looking to continually improve and cares about employees. Happy to be part of such a great company!

    Cons

    Every company has cons, but I think Futures is good at balancing those out with the positive

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Fulfilling work while teaching something I love!

    Sep 7, 2021 - Production Coordinator in Sacramento, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lot's of creative freedom in terms of what I can teach. Fulfilling work with the community we work with. Great staff as well!

    Cons

    Studio location isn't always the best for film/video projects. Lots of planes and trains!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Able to Be Creative

    Sep 7, 2021 - Director in Sacramento, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Supportive work environment, good teams, rewarding work. I enjoy getting opportunities to be creative and think strategically in supporting the goals of our participants each day.

    Cons

    Could be better funded by system to give us all time to focus on being person centered in our mission

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work!

    Jul 15, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This company provides a supportive environment to their staff. Usually mistakes are used as a learning opportunity. In working here, you get to help people every day often while doing really fun things like going to the movies, gardening, day trip to San Francisco to name a few. It offers excellent time off and health benefits and allows for a great work/life balance.

    Cons

    Some positions require a lot of driving.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    A company with passion

    Jun 8, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great mission, wonderful staff dedicated to providing an awesome service.

    Cons

    None, I love working here

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Pathetic company

    Jan 20, 2021 - Lead Janitor in Sacramento, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nothing is a pro with this company.

    Cons

    Terrible pay way under industry standards. Time wasting trainings that have nothing to do with work. Management has no idea how to run a company, fulfill contracts or order supplies.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Futures was a great job

    Sep 18, 2020 - Finance Director in Concord, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Futures was a great job

    Cons

    It was a learning experience

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Lacks consistency, positive leadership, promotes inclusion, often fails to execute it.

    Feb 7, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This organization has been around for a very long time, and because of this, are a staple in their community. What they're trying to succeed at is extremely noble as another reviewer put it. When it works, the participants shine bright. There is a lot of positive intentions and ideas that travel through the organization, unfortunately many are abandoned without any attempt.

    Cons

    • Disorganized, lacks daily and long term planning, lacks communication between management and staff. • Some employees use passive aggressive tactics to dictate what individual participants are doing right/wrong. When nothing improves, the participant continues to behave poorly until they are given enough warnings that they are asked to exit the program they are attending. • Management delegates/share responsibilities among all staff, no explanation given. When that employee fails to accomplish a task, they are ignored, criticized or it’s handled by another employee. Additionally, the employee whose official job holds them responsible and should have been given the task in the first place is penalized for not doing their job. • Management will not admit any accountability unless blatantly obvious, and at that point the damage has been done, and the staff still need to fix the issue. In conclusion, if you're looking to pay your bills, this organization is for you. If you’re looking to make a difference, apply for a company that recognizes your skills, promotes equal opportunity and inclusion. Then be an advocate for the participants so your company hires them, and they won’t have to be involved with Futures Explored anymore.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Great Program Management needs help Executive Director needs to go

    Sep 10, 2019 - Consumer in Lafayette, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great field trips classes are fun

    Cons

    closed our thrift store without telling anyone

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 21 Reviews

Popular Careers with Futures Explored Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Futures Explored? Share Your Experiences

Futures Explored logo
or