GS&F Reviews | Glassdoor

GS&F Reviews

Updated Sep 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
GS&F CEO Jeff Lipscomb (no image)
Jeff Lipscomb
22 Ratings
  1. "Gish, Sherwood, and (Actual) Friends"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Media Planner/Buyer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GS&F full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture at GS&F is unlike any agency I've been at. Weekly Friday meetings with shout outs, new business announcements, and presentations showcasing the amazing talent at the agency. Departments truly support each other, one-on-ones with managers help employees set goals and work to grow in their career! The entire agency participates in six-month assessments and has the opportunity to review their managers as well. I have never felt like there was a time when the executive team wasn't in it with us and working just as hard if not harder on last-minute client asks or pitches.

    Cons

    Working through growing pains and rolling out new leads based model is taking some time for full adaptation

    GS&F2019-09-20

    GS&F Response

    September 24, 2019VP, Human Resources & Operations

    Thanks for the feedback. We greatly appreciate it.

    Continue reading
  2. "Creative workplace, fun people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GS&F full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Creative energy and good people

    Cons

    Long hours, could be better at work life balance

    GS&F2019-09-23

    GS&F Response

    September 24, 2019VP, Human Resources & Operations

    We appreciate the input. Thank's for providing it.

    Continue reading
  3. "Great Company, Great Teams, Positive Mindset"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer in Columbia, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GS&F full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The schedule flexibility is great. As a commuter I'm able to work remotely when it makes sense. Creative reviews are positive and forward thinking. Weekly group and agency meetings help maintain communication and positive attitudes with shoutouts and awareness of what the company is doing outside of your team. Leaders encourage furthering your skillset and provide real opportunities for you to do so with goal setting and creating work for clients based on that goal.

    Cons

    The only con I can think of is work flow, which they are actively pursuing to streamline and improve.

    Continue reading
    GS&F2019-08-20

    GS&F Response

    September 5, 2019VP, Human Resources & Operations

    Thank you for providing this feedback!

    Continue reading
  4. "Great agency that values its people and continues to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GS&F full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I recently joined GS&F and after working at several agencies, I can honestly say that it's one of the best! The transparency in communication and what's happening is driven by all agency meetings every Friday morning, which speaks volumes of how much the Executives care about our people, culture and clients. We have a great client roster and unlike other agencies, there are free floating teams which allow you to work on multiple clients - it's one of the many reasons why people stay so long with the agency. The people are what makes the agency so great! You'll find new, talented friends that you can learn from and people that you genuinely want to spend time with you inside and outside of work. Not to mention, you can't beat fun events and a dog friendly office!

    Cons

    The agency is growing quickly and processes are still being built out so it may not be for everyone if you come from a structured agency environment - not necessarily a con.

    Continue reading
    GS&F2019-08-09

    GS&F Response

    September 5, 2019VP, Human Resources & Operations

    Great feedback! Thanks for taking the time to give it.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "An agency with aspects—good and bad—of both digital and traditional advertising"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Interactive Developer in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at GS&F full-time

    Pros

    The people are quite good for an ad agency. The political layer is very thin. If you are ambitious, there is very little keeping you from doing what you want. Several amazing people have worked here, and I've met some of the most talented individuals I've ever worked with in several departments. As for day-to-day work, there's a lot of variance. Work hours are more flexible than many other places which is helpful to combat increasing commute times. Sometimes we work remotely. We all have quite good equipment to work on (all high-end Apple laptops). There tends to be frequent gatherings for food and drinks. Also, if you're asked to work over so a project is on time, you're generally given part of the time back. On the technical side, the work is rarely boring. We work with interesting technologies and build impressive systems to be able to compete price-wise with much lower quality competitors.

    Cons

    For a partially digital agency, there is a hard cling to some aspects of traditional advertising. Often, those from traditional advertising roles perform unsuccessfully on digital projects because they don't have training or understanding. Projects are sold by people with, at times, a dangerously poor knowledge of what's being sold. General unwillingness to learn digital processes has been a major factor in many failed projects. Further, it can be a struggle to communicate with some people. For example, we officially use Slack, but some people refuse to use it. Work-life balance can occasionally tilt toward no life, although the times are few and far between: usually a week or two per year. Throughout the year, the heaviest work ends up on already burnt-out people. Spikes of higher work above the day-to-day has been seen to send those burnt-out workers looking elsewhere for employment. As I mentioned before, you can do what you want if you're ambitious, but it can be difficult to remain ambitious with so little assistance in some areas. As for people, it's mostly positive with very few exceptions. There are a few people that clearly try to use politics to get ahead, but those people tend to not be successful for long and gain little support. However, there are niche areas that have repeat failures with no corrections. It's a very small portion of the agency (maybe 5%), but they seem to be the largest contributors to project failures overall. On the technical side, there are a few people that have requested more challenging projects, but have gotten stuck with the same old projects because they've "always done it." There is a move away from this, but it is still worth mentioning. Also, all improvements in processes have been born on the shoulders of a small group of people and always done outside normal work hours. While our work is impressive, one could imagine how much more impressive it would be with dedicated time for process improvement. Lastly, the most minor con to me related to social activities. Essentially all social activities revolve around alcohol; it's just not my taste. Also, if you work outside the normal work hours, which is an increasing number of people, you will likely need to adjust your schedule to take part in any social activities.

    Continue reading
    GS&F2019-06-17

    GS&F Response

    June 19, 2019VP, Human Resources & Operations

    This feedback is fantastic, thorough and very helpful. Thank you for taking the time to provide it. We are knee deep in several work streams that will tackle many of these concerns and hope to have meaningful movement in these areas very soon. As always and with every organization, we are a work in progress. Thanks again for your helpful feedback.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Toxic culture, disorganized, unprofessional, low morale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at GS&F full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good location, free soda. There are some kind and talented people here. The agency has potential but needs to make some major changes or employees will keep jumping ship.

    Cons

    There’s a toxic culture here. Politics, lack of transparency, poor communication between teams, backstabbing, unclear growth plans, etc. They talk about being able to voice your concerns, but in reality, I’ve seen that’s not true. Many promotions are based on favoritism and politics instead of qualifications, resulting in cliquey and ineffective management. This contributes to the disorganization of this place. The review process doesn’t work for many departments. Feels like just a box to check off so they can say they’ve done it. The backstabbing is unreal. People will act nice and then throw co-workers under the bus to save their butts. Happens between managers and subordinates and even between senior leaders (SLT). Account management doesn't know the basics of UX, public relations, social media, creative, digital/dev, etc., and what’s worse is that they don't listen to the people who do. Huge write-offs, sloppy work, and lots of frustrating meetings result from this. Frat bro culture, which has been mentioned on here but hasn’t changed. Many employees drink excessively together all the time. If you want to act professionally and be treated with respect, go elsewhere. A VP told an entire department to stop writing negative reviews on Glassdoor. They also ask employees to write positive reviews, which is what ultimately compelled me to share my honest thoughts. If a friend asked me if they should accept a job here, I’d tell them no.

    Continue reading
    GS&F2019-06-24

    GS&F Response

    September 5, 2019VP, Human Resources & Operations

    We sincerely regret that this has been your experience while at the agency. We would love to sit down and chat about this further to get more context and input so we can learn from your experience. Please don't hesitate to reach out to your supervisor or Human Resources! Thank you for providing this input.

    Continue reading
  7. "A company continually striving to improve."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Management Intern in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GS&F part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - One of the qualities that I appreciate about GS&F is how the executive team is always striving to adjust to improve. They are continually looking for opportunities to grow, while recognizing the areas that we excel in. The reason I, as just an intern, know this is because of the candid dialect they have with the employees. We seldom have a Friday morning meeting without some kind of update in that realm. - The company culture is unlike any company that I have been apart. When the President of my company knows me, an intern, by name - that is special. They care about each individual, seeing them as a member of the team. We worked hard, but all out of the passion that the leaders have for doing good work. They make sure that we are not only coworkers but friends. - There is a collaborative team structure, which allows us to provide that good work for our clients. - The company as a whole is flexible with schedules and time - you are able to work out of the office if needed or desired.

    Cons

    - Not everything is ironed out perfectly. GS&F still has areas to improve on, such as streamlining processes, but what company doesn't?

    GS&F2019-02-22

    GS&F Response

    February 25, 2019VP, Human Resources & Operations

    Thank you for the feedback, we greatly appreciate it.

    Continue reading
  8. "It is an experience that is mostly what YOU make it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GS&F full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working in marketing and advertising is not always going to be sunshine and rainbows, and there will always be boring accounts. But my experience at GS&F has been overwhelmingly positive. While I have had to work long hours, paid my "dues," had bad days, felt frustrated with current position or salary, had a tough client, experienced low company morale, etc - it was always temporary. I have been consistently treated with respect, been listened to and heard, handed responsibility, and given opportunity to forward my career trajectory. I've had people genuinely care about my personal life. The executive team has been flexible with accommodating me when I have external conflicts affecting schedule. I've seen the executive team use the term "Family First" and actually mean it. I've had very clear growth plans given to me and followed through on. I've been encouraged and given positive reinforcement frequently. I've felt valued, appreciated, and mentored. I love coming to work every day and I feel exceptionally lucky that this is my place of employment. This place is not for everyone - and I know some people will call it clique-y, disorganized, or "a lot of finger pointing," but I simply think some people just can't hang in a mid-sized agency environment, and that's reality. Work hard, be proud of your work, be excited about your work, care about the quality of your work - and you will have a fantastic experience like I have. We have ample parking, a very flexible and relaxed work schedule/work from home availability. We have dogs all over the office. Free food. Personally, sparkling water is a huge pro for me. All of the employees are super social and friendly. We work with some awesome clients. GS&F encourages employees to find and go to conferences and they pay for them. They pay for team outings. The IT director is super reliable and smart (a huge plus if you've ever had a bad IT team). The accounting department is incredibly reliable and real unsung heroes. If you work here, you'll work with some of the most brilliant young people you've ever encountered.

    Cons

    - Has always felt top-heavy to me. Directors have grossly inflated salaries while coordinators barely scrape by on salaries that are less than HALF of what the NBJ says is the cost of living comfortably in Nashville is. - Also, this place is VERY gossip-y. Self explanatory. - The integration is an issue. An open office environment is supposed to encourage communication but, if anything, it caused departments to be more "silo-ed." - While I personally think the dissolving of project management was a very smart move for GS&F, it has had a longer period of adjustment time while people come to terms with the fact they are going to have to manage their own workload and remember their own deadlines. That's caused a bit of hiccup in operations, but to no fault of the company - it's the individual employee's responsibility IMO.

    Continue reading
    GS&F2019-02-20

    GS&F Response

    February 25, 2019VP, Human Resources & Operations

    Thank you for the great feedback, insight into your day-to-day experience and candid areas where we can improve. There are some great pieces of feedback that we will take to heart and will inform our decisions moving forward. We appreciate it.

    Continue reading
  9. "Ambitious Agency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at GS&F full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've met some of the most creative people I have ever met at GS&F. The benefits are great (but I have a limited scope of comparison). The space is beautiful and nurtures a creative environment. People are, for the most part, super friendly. There is always FREE food. If you are a dog owner, they encourage well-behaved dogs allowed in the workplace. They have a flexible work schedule, so if you need to work from home, you have the freedom to do so. The pay, for me, was right on point and I feel was paid market value. I think the ELT is balanced. Jeff appears to be cool, calm, and collected (and genuine), Gregg is excitable with HUGE goals and ideas, and Roland is absolutely the most creative mind I've ever seen in action. They temper each other well.

    Cons

    As others have said, there seems to be a lack of professional development. I wasn't there for very long, and I think my perspective is biased based on some weird events after I was hired. The onboarding process is a little disjointed, because it is based on the availability of others. That specifically applies to the account download process. While it is an integrated marketing agency, from my perspective, there doesn't seem to be a lot of integration between the different teams. Overall, the culture is "fun" but I got the sense everyone is expendable. There seem to be agency favorites, but I guess that's part of any job. My biggest complaint, it is FREEZING.

    Continue reading
    GS&F2019-02-08

    GS&F Response

    February 13, 2019VP, Human Resources & Operations

    We greatly appreciate the feedback, input and general assessment of our environment while you were with us. Your feedback is important and we are lucky to have it. Thank you.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "If it weren't hard, why bother"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at GS&F full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Insanely smart, talented coworkers. Challenging projects. Healthy, growing company. On a mission to constantly get better.

    Cons

    Normal growing pains such as constantly seeking to keep things simple and not over complicate even as the company grows quickly.

    GS&F2018-06-04

    GS&F Response

    June 5, 2018VP, Human Resources & Operations

    Thanks for the great feedback. We appreciate your time in providing it.

    Continue reading
Found 29 reviews
</>Embed