KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Guardian Liberty Voice

Is this your company?

Guardian Liberty Voice

Add a Review

Guardian Liberty Voice Reviews

Updated Feb 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 of over 11 reviews

1.9
22%
Recommend to a Friend
27%
Approve of CEO
Guardian Liberty Voice Founder DiMarkco Chandler (no image)
DiMarkco Chandler
9 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Contractor, more than 1 year

    Excellent Free Training Program

    Feb 10, 2017 - Certified Writer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The bootcamp experience is 8 weeks long. The exchange of articles required to graduate is exceptional. I continue to work for the company and was trained well enough to write elsewhere. I am paid well by DiMarkco.

    Cons

    The hours can be long, but I am disabled and it can take me longer than average time to complete and article.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Freelancer, less than 1 year

    company is a scam and unethical

    Feb 13, 2020 - Freelance Writer in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    fair training for writers I guess

    Cons

    I completed about 30 articles for them with the writers boot camp. I was promised compensation and never given even a dollar for the work that I completed. My articles were submitted and are still active on the site today. Since I live in a rural area, I had to go to town and get a motel room for the evening so that I could complete the 9 articles in a day (or something close to that) because we wouldn't pass without doing that last day of boot camp. What I was going to get paid for the bootcamp would have just covered the cost of my motel room (and maybe a few dollars extra). I passed the boot camp and was never compensated for ANY of my articles. DiMarkco Chandler was rude and denied that they ever agreed to pay anything! I couldn't believe the audacity that such a biz would be ran by a guy like this. Even though I had proof of what they were supposed to pay me, with a dying mother, it was the least of my worries so I never fought it. I figure that they use the "bootcamp" as a way to get a bunch of articles written by others for them for free. Such an awful unethical company!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Freelancer

    Good To Learn The Ropes, But Poorly Managed & Not Profitable

    Aug 15, 2017 - Freelance Writer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - You go through a rigorous training program that is actually quite useful in learning the ropes in their WordPress, the style guide, etc. - You have *some* freedom when choosing subject matter.

    Cons

    - Very little to no pay. You need to "viral," as they call it, to get paid anything, and even then the payments are few and far between. - The management is a mess. You're not sure who reports to who, who is in charge of what, etc. It's essentially an online publication run by hobbyists with little, if any industry experience as journalists. - The training, while useful on the technical side, teaches very poor practices one might not want to pursue utilizing in an actual journalistic position. Essentially, it was an intriguing job for half a year as a college student before I quickly realized the pay was minimal and the website wasn't moving anywhere.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Nearly 80 Articles Averaging 800-900 Words, Many With Thousands of Views, And Not A Penny To Show.

    Feb 5, 2015 - Certified Writer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I am struggling to find a positive from my experience with Guardian Liberty Voice. I just end up outraged when I think about it.

    Cons

    I was naive and blew off some early signs that I was being taken advantage of. I had read some negative material regarding the organization, but told myself that the authors probably didn't get paid because their articles didn't generate views. Well, I got a lot of views on my articles, through my own social media efforts and with no help from the organization. I had something like 100k views on my articles in my first month writing there, and never received a single dime. I worked hard to try to keep the brand afloat while it was declining, and the hopes of even the pitiful pennies he paid other writers evaporated. The site went from 300k views a day down to nearly 50k and never back above 100k.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Contractor, more than 1 year

    Pros

    It is difficult if not impossible to find any pros about writing for this company.

    Cons

    Guardian Liberty Voice has a well-detailed history of refusing to pay its writers for work done. This history is easily found in hundreds of online accounts, in exposes written about the company, and in many blogs and articles about this company. This company is a well-known content mill that does not pay any salary to its staff, makes false promises about equity ownership, deceives the writers and forces people to work up to 22 hours per day for no salary. If a person Googles the name of the company, there is a huge wealth of information online regarding this problem. Most recently, the company's accountant left, citing fraudulent business practices. Her accounts of the deceptive business practices can be found online and they are easily accessed just by Googling Guardian Liberty Voice. She also indicates that this company has not filed any tax returns in two years. The owner is running a pyramid scheme, and most people who fall victim to it have not gotten paid. Now the owner is running a new scam he calls an "essay contest" in which he is charging people money to submit an essay. Many writers who have left have written about their experiences with this company.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Freelancer

    Use the training to get other work

    May 28, 2018 - Anonymous Freelancer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The wordpress training is solid, they will show you how to use the system. Even if you have no writing credits you will be published on a site legitimate enough to get views.

    Cons

    No logic in how articles are assigned (not based on familiarity with the subject matter) and there is little ability to communicate with your editor/supervisor. Editors were brusque at best. Training was at set times over other real life obligations even though it is online and unpaid. Any mistakes or "absences" are used to extend the training writing period during which writers are not eligible for payment (it is a scheme to get more free articles). Even when accepted as a writer you need to go viral to make the pay break down for hours spent writing logical.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Promising work and a great opportunity!

    Jan 26, 2017 - Certified Journalist in Louisville, KY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great opportunity to be a journalist. You become a published author immediately. Work with excellent staff. DiMarcko is an awesome spokesman.

    Cons

    Long hours but worth it.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Horrid Experience

    Oct 21, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Consumes your boredom but there is no pros

    Cons

    You basically work for free. They literally make you write articles for them and then fire you. And you get no pay and they get away with it by saying its an accredited course. But they are not accredited cause no school accepts it so its all for nothing. You get robbed of your intelligence. If you feel like learning something take the course but don't force yourself to do the work but at the end of the day its all bull.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Really, really bad.

    Mar 23, 2017 - Writer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None. There are no good reasons to work here.

    Cons

    Upper management are crooked, no payment for articles, awful "journalism" emphasizing SEO over producing quality content so that they can make money that they won't pay you. The "boot camp" is awful and ridiculous and just a way for them to get free articles out of you. If they weren't so crooked, they would just operate like a normal company and ask people to submit prior writing samples.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    Ripoff, wrote dozens of articles for basically free

    Oct 23, 2014 - "Certified Writer" 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None. The owner is full of BS and hires a staff of shameful people pushing his nonsense.

    Cons

    No work/life balance, OH wait we are freelancers, but not. The owner demands dozens of articles monthly with very little pay. I watched my articles get barely any views and the highest article on our site is one from 2013!! What a scam. This is not a citizen journalism, reputable company. It is a disgusting writing mill.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews

Work at Guardian Liberty Voice? Share Your Experiences

Guardian Liberty Voice logo
or