KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Hecla Mining

Is this your company?

Hecla Mining

Add a Review

Hecla Mining Reviews

Updated Sep 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 of over 23 reviews

3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Hecla Mining CEO, President, and Director Phillips S. Baker Jr. (no image)
Phillips S. Baker Jr.
16 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work

    Sep 10, 2021 - Mill Hand 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people and willing to teach

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Toxic culture from top down

    Jul 2, 2021 - Project Engineer in Coeur d'Alene, ID
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits are good Good for narcissists

    Cons

    Everything except benefits. This company is toxic. IT department is utterly useless. Like being gaslighted constantly for having IT issues? Yep, these people are incompetent and make up for it by lying and gaslighting employees. Witnessed c suites exact petty revenge on outgoing employees. Lucky Friday is a cesspool of nepotism with employees that act like whipped dogs. Total fear culture stemming from their technical services manager. First day on the job, most people will tell you to never trust this guy. Runs the mine like his own kindergarten. Fake people, fake interaction, coward employees ruled by fear. There is a reason no one new lasts here, start your job and ask around. There is no one new, they all leave or are fired because of the underlying toxic culture this company eminates. Maybe a 5% chance of advancing. Management is desperate for attention and will keep entire departments, pretty much the whole mine, behind to advance their own agenda. Careers go here to die. Unethical management. Culture of company promotes stealing other's work, lying, gaslighting, backstabbing, protecting the good ol'boys.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Awesome internship

    Mar 2, 2021 - Accounting Intern in Coeur d'Alene, ID
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The finance team was amazing at Hecla. They treated you with respect and kindness. It was a wonderful learning experience.

    Cons

    None that I can think of. Great team.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Excellent Organization

    Feb 17, 2021 - Corporate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Hecla has done well by providing excellent benefits for its employees that are extremely competitive in the market. As a company, they are highly aware of the market trends and take action to bring long term value to employees and shareholders.

    Cons

    Where much is given, much is expected! The high expectations either make the person, or they end up seeking alternative employment.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Solid company with good potential for growth

    Feb 15, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Coeur d'Alene, ID
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work experience, culture, opportunity for growth, good compensation, great benefits

    Cons

    Hard to think of any

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Good

    Jul 9, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Culture: cares about employees & community, compensation: among the best in the area and great retirement

    Cons

    Metals prices are very volatile

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Solid mining company

    Feb 16, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Coeur d'Alene, ID
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good, safe working environment. Pay and benefits exceed industry standards, especially in the locations where they have mining operations. Positive employee relations. Stable employment opportunity. One of best US mining companies.

    Cons

    Mining industry can be volatile in terms of metal and mineral prices.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Horrible Management

    Feb 15, 2020 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Co-workers are amazing. Fun atmosphere.

    Cons

    Poor management. Long days. Low pay compared to other local mines.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Technical Services

    Oct 21, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work environment, good people, good company culture

    Cons

    Long hours, endurance test, investment in people’s training is inadequate

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Worst management I've ever seen

    Sep 12, 2018 - Process Control in Mullan, ID
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent pay, great schedule, awesome benefits.

    Cons

    There was a problem between my boss and other departments. I did everything I was instructed, and got daily "great job" . Then I was let go with no reason. They fired my boss as well. Instead of moving me under someone else, or reorganization of management, they just opted to let me go. I loved the position, and the mine. Most people there were nice, although some of the "good ol boy/girl" crowd didn't much approve of me. They moved my family and I here, and 4 months into the job I am screwed. I don't think pissed off quite covers how I feel about them.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 20 Reviews

Popular Careers with Hecla Mining Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Hecla Mining? Share Your Experiences

Hecla Mining logo
or