Heidelberg Distributing Reviews | Glassdoor

Heidelberg Distributing Reviews

Updated Jun 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 64 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Heidelberg Distributing CEO Vail K. Miller Jr.
Vail K. Miller Jr.
33 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay to start, however it is very misleading(in 5 reviews)

  • "Saw a lot of how distribution worked--great people(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "middle to upper management cant even do day to day tasks that average employees do "little to no understanding of the technical side of things(in 3 reviews)

  • "Upper management beer sales department is completely clueless and out of touch with what's going on in the market(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Growing Culture, exciting environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Analyst in Moraine, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Heidelberg Distributing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    CEO Vail Miller Jr. has a fantastic vision for the company's growth and the work environment

    Cons

    Hours can sometimes be unpredictable with rollouts of new IT systems

    Heidelberg Distributing2019-04-01
  2. "Friendly atmosphere at office, they treat employees well."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hebron, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Heidelberg Distributing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I haven't worked a job with a friendlier bunch of people. Food is brought in almost every day. Good benefits, they even have credit union that you can join and stay at for life - apparently that isn't common. The company gets us what we need when it comes to items (ex: planners) even offers more than we ask for sometimes. Having a 1 hour lunch break is nice too.

    Cons

    Pay isn't impressive, but it isn't terrible either.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Heidelberg Distributing2019-06-05
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great, Family-Owned Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Hebron, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heidelberg Distributing full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fun industry, great brands, and a strong culture of teamwork.

    Cons

    Busiest work season is during the holidays

    Heidelberg Distributing2019-02-25
  4. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Heidelberg Distributing for less than a year

    Pros

    Saw a lot of how distribution worked--great people!

    Cons

    none..it was an internship. had fun! no other interns though.

    Heidelberg Distributing2019-01-31
  5. "Admin Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dayton, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Heidelberg Distributing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Family owned and operated. Great team effort. Lots of knowledge from seasoned veterans of the industry.

    Cons

    I dont have any cons.

    Heidelberg Distributing2018-11-21
  6. "Sales rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Heidelberg Distributing full-time

    Pros

    Great working environment and great people.

    Cons

    None off the top of my head.

    Heidelberg Distributing2018-09-27
  7. "warehouse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Heidelberg Distributing full-time

    Pros

    pretty relaxed job, discounts everyone was pretty nice

    Cons

    pay was not great

    Heidelberg Distributing2018-08-20
  8. "Ok Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Heidelberg Distributing full-time

    Pros

    Great Money, Flexibility, trips, incentives

    Cons

    Working holidays, time off, vacation time, no advancement

    Heidelberg Distributing2018-08-20
  9. Helpful (4)

    "One of my favorite places I've ever worked!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Professional in Hebron, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Heidelberg Distributing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers, management is direct and to the point which I liked, fun experiences, good pay, they offered really cool training opportunities, I learned a lot about beer, wine and spirits. You could win amazing work trips and meet a lot of awesome people you wouldn't have met as a regular consumer. Energetic and competitive atmosphere without feeling too cutthroat. You really feel like family with your team. Also you...

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes you would have to work an event on the weekend but they were usually pretty fun.

    Advice to Management

    Maybe work with suppliers to realize more manageable monthly goals.

    Heidelberg Distributing2018-02-14
  10. "Worked full-time during seasons/holidays and during the summer as well."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Heidelberg Distributing full-time

    Pros

    Amazing atmosphere with hard working individuals. The CEO has his company heading in the perfect direction; up!

    Cons

    The only downside of working for Heidelberg Distributing Co. was that the supply chain side of the company could be better.

    Advice to Management

    Need to keep a better tab on drivers and make sure they are utilizing all of their time on the road, instead of paid for slacking off.

    Heidelberg Distributing2018-02-14
Found 64 reviews