Herc Rentals Reviews

Updated Aug 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
53%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Herc Rentals CEO    Larry Silber (no image)
Larry Silber
80 Ratings
Pros
  • "I enjoyed getting to work at Herc, Good benefits, employee stock plan, and 401k match(in 11 reviews)

  • "Great benefits and opportunity for growth and development(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management very much a click this company literally ruined my life(in 8 reviews)

  • "Low pay, Severe lack of management(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Sales Representative in Fort Myers, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Herc Rentals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible, good management and training

    Cons

    Seasonal customers who like to call at the last minute

    Herc Rentals Response

    August 2, 2020Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the great review! I wish you wouldn't have left... if you could, please reach out and tell me why you did. Thomas.wirtz@hercrentals.com. It seems we made a great impression on you, I'd love to know how we can keep doing that!

  2. "Honest review"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Herc Rentals full-time

    Pros

    Fair salary compensation is a pro.

    Cons

    Intelligent employees, toxic management and culture.


  3. "HERC RENTALS"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Herc Rentals full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Old, well established company. Diversified product line with nationwide presence.

    Cons

    Was not very well run the last 10 years I worked there. Understaffed and overworked. Company goals and objectives were not very well communicated and the structure of the business pitted different business units against each other causing the company to become dysfunctional and very unpleasant to work for.

    Continue reading

    Herc Rentals Response

    August 2, 2020Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to review Herc. I appreciate the long tenure that you were at Herc, I know we must have done a lot right for you to stay that long! However, I apologize for the negative feelings when you left. Please feel free to reach out to me at any time to chat. Thomas.wirtz@hercrentals.com. I would love your candid feedback.

  4. "Laid back"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Coordinator in Decatur, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Herc Rentals full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Laid back place to work, management is always there to help.

    Cons

    Sometimes you get loaded down with a lot of things that aren't technically part of your job

    Herc Rentals Response

    August 2, 2020Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review... please let me know if there is anything I can do to make your role even better!

  5. "Fun place to work"

    5.0
    Former Employee - AP Clerk in Bonita Springs, FL
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Herc Rentals full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed getting to work at Herc, Good benefits, employee stock plan, and 401k match.

    Cons

    None to mention, large company at corporate HQ if you don't like that environment

    Herc Rentals Response

    August 2, 2020Director of Talent Acquisition

    I am so happy we made a great impression on you, and frankly wish you would not have left! We must have made a good impression on you, so please reach out and let me know what it was so we can keep doing it! Thomas.wirtz@hercrentals.com. Thank you!!

  6. "HERC Rentals"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Territory Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Herc Rentals full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay and benefits were normal for work

    Cons

    Cronyism and not seeing or listening.

    Continue reading

    Herc Rentals Response

    August 2, 2020Director of Talent Acquisition

    I am sorry that you did not enjoy your time here... I would love to know why. Please reach out to me at Thomas.wirtz@hercrentals.com. We are always trying to understand how to get better and would appreciate your input.

  7. "Management"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Herc Rentals full-time

    Pros

    Pay Is decent and off weekends

    Cons

    Favoritism and no work life balance

    Herc Rentals Response

    August 2, 2020Director of Talent Acquisition

    I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time here. I would really like to understand how we could have made it better. Please reach out to me at Thomas.wirtz@hercrentals.com to let me know how we could have made your career more enjoyable. Thank you!

  8. "Welcome to Herc High School"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting Clerk in Bonita Springs, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Herc Rentals full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and opportunity for growth and development.

    Cons

    Too many layers of Management with opportunistic individuals doing whatever it takes at whomever's cost to better themself no matter how it affects the employees they are so called managing.

    Continue reading

    Herc Rentals Response

    May 11, 2020Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you so much for taking the time to review Herc. I am sorry that your experience was not the greatest and that you feel we can get better. I would love to chat about how you can help me make this a better environment. Please reach out to me at Thomas.wirtz@hercrentals.com if you want to discuss. Thank you!

  9. "Best Company I have ever worked for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Herc Rentals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Executives Care about Employees & Good Work/Home Life Balance

    Cons

    Operations tend to make their own rules

    Herc Rentals Response

    April 6, 2020Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the review!

  10. "Great place"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Laborer in Virginia Beach, VA

    I worked at Herc Rentals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits good staff

    Cons

    No cons at herc rental

Found 155 reviews