KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

HotGhostWriter

Is this your company?

HotGhostWriter

Add a Review

HotGhostWriter Reviews

Updated Jan 1, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 of over 14 reviews

2.2
18%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Flexible hours, management recognizes talent

    Apr 14, 2021 - Copy Editor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I started working here when I was first starting out, and it was a great way to get experience and some cash! I'm a night person, so I was able to shift my hours around so I worked at nights and had some day-time free, which was not a possibility at my other job. Then, after a year and a half, management reached out and promoted me! It felt great to be recognized and valued, especially during the pandemic.

    Cons

    I do sometimes miss having workmates since this is all remote, but on the plus side, no one comments on my PJs!

    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Bad Management

    Jan 1, 2022 - Romance Ghost Writer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You get to meet good people

    Cons

    The managers are terrible at communicating with you and they make you sign a contract that you will be open with them about your ability to write certain subjects and when you are upfront with them about it, they penalize and punish you for it. They also reward bad writing and give no props to the better writing

    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Contractor, more than 1 year

    Low Pay

    Dec 4, 2021 - Editor/Ghostwriter 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Plenty of work to go around. Good communication with editors and managers for the most part.

    Cons

    Way too much work for the compensation. Pay was $13 per 1k words for fiction. Unless you're a speed demon, that could be less than minimum wage. Deadlines too tight for the work load.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Fun but Low Pay

    Nov 14, 2021 - Ghost Writer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun job if you love writing! Get to write unique things, work with clients, and gain experience!

    Cons

    Low paying and a lot of work, but if you love writing it can be a good way to gain experience.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    The pay comes in once in four months

    Nov 19, 2021 - Technical Content Writer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are a lot of options. A lot of jobs to choose from.

    Cons

    They hardly ever pay writers. Even when they do, it's only after a lot of delays.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Contractor

    Please stay away -- exploitative scam

    Nov 11, 2021 - Ghost Writer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Plenty of opportunities to write, but you might as well be paying for the privilege. Better to invest your money in a writing workshop or even an MFA program. Writing for this company amounted to paying the client.

    Cons

    Too many to mention. Scam. Exploitation of writers. Pay is so dismal that it amounts to a complete financial loss. You might as well pay the client up front for the time you will spend doing the multiple rewrites that they promise.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Dismal Pay

    Oct 20, 2021 - Freelance Writer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There is plenty of work available.

    Cons

    Although the company tries to lure writers in by advertising that they have fiction available, the vast majority of the opportunities are standard non-fiction books. For example, I'm looking at a list of 42 book projects presently available, and there is not a single fiction opportunity. The pay is absurdly low. I was hired to write a 20K word book, which would have come out to $260. HGW makes you pay a monthly fee for the Asana app they use to manage projects. And they pay you through the app Wise, which takes out a fee every time you get paid. The clients themselves do not have to have any real ideas. You will be writing entirely from scratch, with very little or no input from client, and you will not be paid for the time you put in researching the topic. My client said he wanted to use a pen name with a fake bio that claimed he was an expert in the field. And HGW enabled this lie because he paid them. They constantly police your work. You're strictly forbidden from communicating with client outside the Asana app. And you have to do all your work in a shared google doc to which they have access and are always monitoring. This of course is so they can keep their clients from working directly with the writers who are doing the real work. In conclusion, HGW is a gig-ec middle-man company that is exploiting writers. They are the Uber of the writing world. I'm shocked that they don't have more negative reviews online, but that shock diminishes when I consider that in google searches of the company, there are a lot of paid advertisements saying how great they are.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Avoid This Company

    Sep 15, 2021 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None for native English workers.

    Cons

    Enough to fill a book. Very few, if any, of the upper management has actually written, edited, and narrated books. The turnover rate is outrageous. Compared to the pay, their expectations from everyone are ridiculous. Most claims they make to clients and, well, everyone are nothing but slick talk wrapped in charm. Anyone with enough experience to give sound advice or dare to speak out (U.S., expats, and Canada, listen closely) are egotistical, arrogant, and angry for no reason. Conflicting information from clients, owners, and management should always be followed. If you're exhausted, sick, or some catastrophe happens and a break is needed, expect a termination email in your near future.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    I have been told to lie or they won't post

    Aug 17, 2021 - Editor in Greenwich, CT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None. The writers are well below subpar. They get people to sign up for their services and then write gabage and convince the client that they approved what they got.

    Cons

    They use information that is illegal, quoting movie titles that they don't have rights to. Had to rewrite a poorly written book over the weekend. 48 hours to fix a mess that their writer did for a client. They make up medical procedures, have no clue about grammar and punctuation and don't pay what an edit is worth. 48 hours to rewrite and edit something I didn't do in the first place and I was paid approximately $50. Don't work there, For the edit only. Was told a client approved a manuscript prior to it being given to me for editing. Two of the chapters were nothing more then copy & paste of a previous chapter. At first i was told to tell the writers and when i was fired for complaining about the poor workmanship, was told the client had approved the manuscript before I received it. Would a person paying yo get something done approve two chapters that are carbon copies of each other?

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Contractor

    Do not if you value yourself

    Aug 11, 2021 - Editor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They pay weekly and there's always work to go around, although it's through a bidding system

    Cons

    Racist project managers, allegations of not completing work, hiring people that are under qualified

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 14 Reviews

HotGhostWriter Reviews FAQs

18% of HotGhostWriter employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated HotGhostWriter 2.9 out of 5 for work life balance, 2.6 for culture and values and 2.4 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at HotGhostWriter to be coworkers, culture, career development and the cons to be benefits, workplace, management.

Work at HotGhostWriter? Share Your Experiences

HotGhostWriter logo
or