J-PAL Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

J-PAL Reviews

Updated 22 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
J-PAL CEO Iqbal Dhaliwal (no image)
Iqbal Dhaliwal
21 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great co-worker, good working environment(in 6 reviews)

  • "I found managers who cared about my professional development and they helped me carve out a path of increasing responsibility and new challenges(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "They barely stands up for the RAs(in 5 reviews)

  • "Tight work schedule and working hours are long(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Extremely supportive and intellectually curious co-workers and work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at J-PAL full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Supportive, collaborative work culture - High expectations - Smart and passionate peers

    Cons

    - Little room for upward mobility

    J-PAL2019-05-02
  2. "Great in-field research experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Research Associate 

    I worked at J-PAL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great research experience for budding researchers or who want to apply for graduate schools.

    Cons

    - Limited interaction with PIs.

    J-PAL2019-07-31
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Very collabrotive!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Entry Clerk 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J-PAL part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Supports team environment attitude

    Cons

    Independent working is often the leading mentality

    J-PAL2019-06-04
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work and learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Policy Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J-PAL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unparalleled training on impact evaluation and rigorous research. Mission driven staff, very talented colleagues.

    Cons

    The organization is at the intersection of academia and policy and does not always navigate that divide well (i.e. academics are often more concerned about publishing than social impact and the reverse is often the case for staff).

    J-PAL2019-04-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing place to learn and kickstart career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Associate 

    I worked at J-PAL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - smart coworkers - great office culture/good place to make friends - flexible hours - good mix of fieldwork - skills you learn on the job make you exceptionally marketable for grad school in the US/any jobs in policy and research.

    Cons

    - salary is a bit low for the sector

    J-PAL2019-01-28
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Research Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at J-PAL full-time

    Pros

    Able to get into the details of the research, everyone was friend.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    J-PAL2018-12-03
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J-PAL

    Pros

    Working here is really exiting, you never stop learning, and you have access to the top economists on earth.

    Cons

    Sometimes is hard to develop a career inside the institution.

    J-PAL2018-07-27
  8. "From a former RA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior RA 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J-PAL full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great place to gain field experience - Get to learn diff parts of an org - admin, finance, research - Very supportive team and colleagues

    Cons

    - Work hours can be crazy and get out of hand if team is not supportive - Many times it may feel that you've been thrown into the sea and have to figure it out yourself.

    J-PAL2018-05-15
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J-PAL full-time

    Pros

    Innovative and important work in international development, super friendly colleagues, lots of opportunities for professional development and international travel, very accessible senior leadership from managers to executive director, open culture of up and down feedback and coaching, work from home Thursdays, pizza lunches and happy hours, almost no evening or weekend emails.

    Cons

    Not much work directly with majority of affiliated professors. Steep learning curve on existing research. Hours can be long when special projects come from regions or grants. Salary is average for non-profit world but don't expect to save a ton given Cambridge rents (though MIT benefits are nice). Be prepared for long and cold winter coming from warmer weather.

    Advice to Management

    Even though overall work life balance is fine, need to improve ups and downs in work hours to prevent burn out during special projects. Need more admin support for events and travel. Promote more racial diversity in hiring affiliates and staff. Raise salaries especially increase after promotions is not very high.

    J-PAL2018-04-15
  10. Helpful (12)

    "What a deeply unhappy place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Cambridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J-PAL full-time

    Pros

    There is a lot to learn at this job, and some of your coworkers will be outstanding. This organization has done remarkable things in the past, but I am not sure what the future holds for it.

    Cons

    I worked as a manager here for over 2 years and boy, was this an unhappy place to be. First, I need to clarify: this is a huge organization. There are offices all over the world. I worked in the Cambridge office. The overall executive director of this organization verbally abuses his employees to the point that they literally cry (this did not happen to me, but to many others). It is remarkable to see this type... of treatment tolerated in a modern-day workforce, but it is allowed because it is really not that out of line with the culture. The culture, is, in general, extremely hierarchical. Employees lower down the ladder are directly devalued, to the point that it is assumed they are not going to stay for over two years. Managers are also not treated very well, and there is little actual room for advancement. During my time at the organization over half of the managers left. Several others left in the months after I departed.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I really don't understand why such an unhappy culture is tolerated at this organization.

    J-PAL2018-04-09
Found 71 reviews