Journal Multimedia Reviews | Glassdoor

Journal Multimedia Reviews

Updated Feb 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Journal Multimedia CEO David A. Schankweiler (no image)
David A. Schankweiler
21 Ratings
  1. "Best Work Family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Event Coordinator in Harrisburg, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Journal Multimedia full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked with the most incredible team. Everyone at this place became family to me. Benefits were good and the job was challenging but fun!

    Cons

    There was really no room to move up from my entry level position. Sadly, after the family business was bought by a bigger corporation, morale plummeted and Corporate didn't seem to care much about that like the family once did. my review scores how I felt about past management.

    Advice to Management

    I feel as though employees worked hard enough when they were trusted that working from home once in awhile shouldn't have been that hard to grant.

    Journal Multimedia2017-10-11
  2. Helpful (1)

    "New owners are horrid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Journal Multimedia full-time

    Pros

    Memories of what the company once was.

    Cons

    Utter incompetence of the new owners. You can’t cut your way to success but you can die trying.

    Journal Multimedia2019-02-12
  3. "Just Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Journal Multimedia full-time

    Pros

    Good people, cubicles, they try new things.

    Cons

    Nickel and dime everything, not much stability.

    Journal Multimedia2019-01-02
  4. "Great company, fun work and CEO/top executives to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Journal Multimedia full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, flex schedule and PTO to have a better work/life balance was great!

    Cons

    Some negative talk at times and office gossip got annoying.

    Journal Multimedia2017-02-07
  5. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Journal Multimedia full-time

    Pros

    Most of the employees got along, fair time off, off for most of Christmas week.

    Cons

    Poor managment, no training, unreachable goals, 401 match = 1%, they control 401, build your own account base - no accounts to start my territory, inadequate leadership.

    Advice to Management

    Be honest and real. I was made many promises only to be stabbed in the back.

    Journal Multimedia2017-02-10
  6. Helpful (1)

    "No communication"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Journal Multimedia full-time

    Pros

    For the industry, the pay is relatively fair with a good amount of vacation days and fair health care plans

    Cons

    Nobody is management, above your direct bosses, really listens or cares to your concerns. Everything is said with a smile but there's a detached disinterest behind it.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your boots on the ground. They see the market and are interacting with the customers every day.

    Journal Multimedia2016-04-13
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Decent stepping stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Journal Multimedia full-time

    Pros

    Left before 2012, but that was the last year listed on here. Company changed names after I left.

    Cons

    Micromanagement. Had to check in and tell the secretary everywhere you went. A little too close for comfort. Not much innovation within company.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees.

    Journal Multimedia2016-02-18
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Harrisburg, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Journal Multimedia

    Pros

    Excellent benefits. They really try and make their employees happy. Open book policy so you know how the company is doing every quarter.

    Cons

    Some additional training specific to your job would be helpful. Also, some of management could use some guidelines/help in managing employees.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. You show that you care about your employees and coming from an environment where that wasn't the case, its great!

    Journal Multimedia2015-12-16
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Worse Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Journal Multimedia full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The only pro is they have a stocked kitchen with lots of goodies

    Cons

    Management is horrible. their motto is "nothing needs to change since it has been working for 20years. We do not need innovation. It's not what we do. People - if you are looking to work here and at Pet Age - you will most likely leave like everyone does.

    Advice to Management

    Get with the 21st century. Be truthful and honest and understand the business. You clearly don't.

    Journal Multimedia2015-11-18
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Are you a dedicated worker?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Harrisburg, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Journal Multimedia full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have worked many places and this is, hands down, the best company I've worked for. The company offers many perks (3pm Fridays during the summer, picnics, trips, event tickets, chair massages, etc) and benefits (adequate paid time off, 401k, and generous health benefits). For a journalism job, 8-5 M-F is a great schedule. The CEO is usually on-site and has an open door policy. They provide regular financial... updates so we all know how the different business units are performing. I appreciate the authority I am given in my job--no micromanagement. I feel free to try new ideas at the risk of making a mistake. The best thing about this company is the people. It is definitely a culture of motivated, ambitious workers (if you're not, you won't last here!), but we all have fun, too. I have read unfavorable reviews here about management not caring about employees, but I have not found that to be true. I have experienced only support in every interaction I have had with all of them.

    Show More

    Cons

    In the publishing world, there are busy times and down times. It would be nice if we had flex time. They allow for a one-hour lunchtime, which you are expected to take. You cannot take a half-hour and go home a half-hour early. While I personally enjoy working in the office environment, it would be nice if employees were allowed to work from home a couple days a week. It would be nice if there were more... opportunity for job growth. Once you're in a position, you're kinda stuck there.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    (See cons listed above) and keep up the good work!

    Journal Multimedia2015-09-18
Found 32 reviews