LEAP Reviews | Glassdoor

LEAP Reviews

Updated Jun 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
89%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
LEAP CEO Henry Fernandez
Henry Fernandez
3 Ratings
  1. "Amazing organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LEAP full-time

    Pros

    Great environment, friendly staff, get to see the kids during programming

    Cons

    No notable cons applicable to the entire organization

    LEAP2019-06-14
  2. "Amazing organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LEAP full-time

    Pros

    LEAP is an amazing organization and truly changes the lives of children! I feel grateful to be a part of this organization as I watched my students grow and get an opportunity to reach their optimal level.

    Cons

    The only con to this is that we don't get too much time with the kids, but then again, it is an after school program!

    Advice to Management

    Allow the tutors to be creative with how they help their students and remember that some days reading is not the only thing they need to work on! Some kids thrive from doing written activities, and that ends up helping their reading and comprehension.

    LEAP2019-03-21
  3. "Activity Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at LEAP part-time

    Pros

    Very nice company to work for and gain valuable experience in the education department.

    Cons

    There are no cons. But I would say be prepared for a hectic schedule and you should be prepared for whatever comes your way.

    LEAP2019-01-11
  4. "Young place with growing pains, but overall great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at LEAP

    Pros

    Young company with people that really care about what they do

    Cons

    company that's still seeking for it's direction in some sense

    LEAP2017-10-02
  5. "teaching artist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at LEAP part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    creative teaching, flexible schedule, part time work

    Cons

    low pay, sometimes odd communication with the schools and the teaching ARTIST

    LEAP2017-09-04
  6. "Pretty good for career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Fremont, CA

    I worked at LEAP full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You can learn a lot from senior engineers and CTO, they all have lots of experience not only the development but also the kernel of architecture.

    Cons

    Sometimes you need to work during the weekend

    Advice to Management

    Should have more time to consider the business model .

    LEAP2017-01-05
  7. "Months at Microsoft"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at LEAP

    Pros

    Great people, Interesting Technologies and a lot of opportunities

    Cons

    Not easy to get a foot in the door

    LEAP2016-10-03
  8. "Leap Arts in Education"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at LEAP full-time

    Pros

    High quality program service model, high caliber of teaching artists, dedicated staff and Board

    Cons

    Scarce resources, budget stretched thin

    Advice to Management

    Diversity in fundraising will help the organization continue to grow and achieve its goals

    LEAP2015-12-15
  9. "Manage a team of HS and college students who mentor and implement social and literacy-based programs to children."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Site Coordinator in New Haven, CT
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at LEAP full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Constant learning and development happens through the work that is done, not necessarily because of training given to staff, but because of challenges that the team helps guide you through.

    Cons

    Requires a lot of extra time and effort, especially during the summer program. It can be very draining and demanding with very little reward.

    Advice to Management

    Communication skills lack greatly. Respect for individuals' time also lacks. Job incentives are nonexistent.

    LEAP2015-10-16
  10. "Site Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at LEAP full-time

    Pros

    Great Team, Great job flexibility, very rewarding and satisfying work. Great autonomy to make decision on how your program is going to be carried out.

    Cons

    At time job can be very demanding, can be hard to find work life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Senior management is always available to listen to suggestions and does an excellent job of building team atmosphere. Decisions made by current executive director can at time be unfounded.

    LEAP2015-09-24
Found 18 reviews
</>Embed