Lane College Reviews | Glassdoor

Lane College Reviews

Updated Jun 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
48%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Lane College President and Trustee Wesley Cornelious McClure (no image)
Wesley Cornelious McClure
4 Ratings
  1. "N/A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 

    I worked at Lane College

    Pros

    Great campus to work on with great people

    Cons

    Need to undate buildings and staff

    Lane College2018-07-27
  2. "Food server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Service in Jackson, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lane College full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Relaxed place to work and start career

    Cons

    Small school with no raises.

    Advice to Management

    Annual raises!

    Lane College2019-06-04
  3. "Good Start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I worked at Lane College

    Pros

    Easy job, nice people

    Cons

    Poor communication, buildings need some help

    Advice to Management

    Things need to be more organized, better flow of communication

    Lane College2018-10-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "A small school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Jackson, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lane College

    Pros

    It is a very small liberal art college. The working condition is pretty relaxing and family oriented. It would be a good place for someone to get teaching experience before moving up.

    Cons

    The quality of students is pretty bad. Most of students can only understand middle school math. The working conditions were the worst.

    Advice to Management

    Professors are stacked in tiny cubes that small badly, yet these so called administration occupy nice single clean rooms.

    Lane College2017-01-14
  5. "Follow me to Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Freelancer - Professor in Jackson, TN
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lane College for less than a year

    Pros

    I was about to pick what days and time I wanted to work.

    Cons

    Haven't been working long enough to say

    Lane College2016-07-14
  6. "contract not renewed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Administrative Assistant in Jackson, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lane College

    Pros

    Flexible work schedules and light work loads.

    Cons

    Too political. Too much nepotism.

    Advice to Management

    Promote based on skill set, not last names.

    Lane College2015-10-05
  7. "Terrible, Boring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Teacher in Jackson, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Lane College for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lazy environment. Rural Community. Easy life.

    Cons

    Students are not motivated, no discipline. Administrators have no clue.

    Advice to Management

    Have better promotion system.

    Lane College2015-09-16
  8. "Not a bad place to start after graduating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Fort Benning, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lane College for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, really close knit company. You have to apply yourself to progress, lots of travel included also. I really enjoyed my time there.

    Cons

    The health benefits are expensive because most of the staff is old, the chances of promotion are slim unless someone gets fired.

    Lane College2015-07-03
  9. "Only work here if you have no other choice!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Residential Monitor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lane College full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Do not work during while students are out for Christmas, Spring and Summer breaks.

    Cons

    Only get a raise whenever minimum wage is increased. no pay (can't draw unemployment) while not working during breaks, verbal & physical attacks by students. If students say it happen, it did and you risk being terminated without defending yourself.

    Advice to Management

    It doesn't matter, they don't care!

    Lane College2013-09-13
  10. "Lane College has great staff and personell"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    General Maintenance in Eugene, OR
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lane College

    Pros

    Lane is very commited to respect for the individual. Family and Health issues are an emphasized priority. I believe that they would like to help the economy by offering employment to many people if they they had funding and necessary work.

    Cons

    Not enough projects to keep temporary employees around longer. Sad to leave.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work ..you are a fine group of individuals. I hope all the best to you and your familys. God Bless

    Lane College2010-11-05
Found 12 reviews