LanguageLink Reviews | Glassdoor

LanguageLink Reviews

Updated 11 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 46 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
LanguageLink CEO Jeff Barger (no image)
Jeff Barger
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "Opportunity to work from home, save on gas, work in your pajamas, fair pay, very easy access to management if you have any issues(in 6 reviews)

  • "The call center leads were always very resourceful and clever when helping with issues with the systems or procedures with clients(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Connection of the Call Center to the Rest of the Company(in 4 reviews)

  • "Interpreters from South America get paid 5USD an hour(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Challenging and so rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Interpreter Manager in Vancouver, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LanguageLink full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Credit is given to everyone who earns it. My superiors always push me to overcome challenges. If I make a mistake, I am responsible for it, and am given the opportunities to fix any mistakes, as is everyone else. In 7 years with the company I can honestly say that there hasn't been a dull moment. Our COO is always willing to lend a hand, and makes sure that all of his managers are in sync and have all the... necessary information and tools to get the job done. LanguageLink allows for creative ways to attend to situations, and no idea is too crazy.

    Show More

    Cons

    A little more monetary income would be welcome. However, it's not bad at all.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    LanguageLink2019-09-11
  2. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - WFM Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LanguageLink full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work enviroment, ability to work from home, good pay, options for upward mobility within the company

    Cons

    it can be overwhelming without proper training.

    LanguageLink2019-09-11
  3. "Interesting and Constantly Challenged"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at LanguageLink full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Supportive coworkers and fast-paced environment at times

    Cons

    Can be overwhelming without training

    LanguageLink2019-05-22
  4. "Better Than Minimum Wage But That's About It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Vancouver, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at LanguageLink full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pays more than minimum wage Technically fairly easy work Ability to surf the net while at work

    Cons

    Management Connection of the Call Center to the Rest of the Company Treatment of Call Center Employees Little to No Chance of Upward Movement Pathetic Raises Negative Employee Perception Resentment Towards Company From Employees Lack of Consistent Training

    Advice to Management

    There's one manager specifically that is notoriously disliked for good reasons. You know who it is. Figure out how to improve their relationship with the call center as a whole or remove their privileges. Listen to senior members of the call center in regards to new guidelines. Sometimes the ideas just aren't good in practice, regardless of how they appear on paper. Go to bat for your employees. Be on their... side. Demand better staffing, demand better treatment. At least try.

    Show More
    LanguageLink2019-05-31
  5. "Love the job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Vancouver, WA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LanguageLink full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a great company, great people, management is great

    Cons

    Pay is not competitive

    LanguageLink2019-05-30
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Avoid the call center at all costs!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CST - Call Center in Vancouver, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at LanguageLink full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People are friendly. I really did enjoy my coworkers. Schedule is semi-flexible as the call center is open 24 hours/365 days a year.

    Cons

    ***this is for the call center only. I hear other departments are better, but I cannot say for sure**** The call center is a horrible place to work. The training is a mess. You only get half the information you need, then you are thrown on the phones without knowing what you are doing. When you ask questions, you are given attitude as if it's your fault you didn't know the answer already. When you do ask... questions, it is very common for you to get one answer in person, then a follow up email later (from the same person) giving you another answer. This applies to not only standard procedures, but also attendance policies. People have been told that you cannot take time off unless you have vacation hours. You are not allowed to take time off without pay. They do not accept doctor's notes for illnesses. You must have vacation hours. If you call in sick, 90% of the time you will get attitude back. It doesn't matter if they can obviously hear that you are sick. You can go days or even weeks without talking to co-workers or supervisors as they expect you to be on the phone taking calls for the full 8 hour shift - with queues of 40+ calls it's not easy to even catch your breath. Numerous people have slow computers which uses up most of the after call time. When this is brought up to management, you are basically told tough luck. No suggestions on how to work with it and no option to have IT take a look at it. Half the time it's suggested that no one else has that issue, but if you ask around, there's several other people with exactly the same issue. I personally went to HR with these issues and nothing happened. I know of at least 5 other people have gone to HR with these same complaints and were told they would "look into it" but as of April 2019, people who still work there say nothing has changed. If you can get past all of that, the pay is pretty close to minimum wage. Medical benefits costs are just over 40% of gross income. That's not even including vision or dental. And to top it all off, it's rare that someone actually advances to another department or even position. People have been there for years in the exact same position as the day they hired.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It's simple. Get training in order. Pay associates an honest wage. Treat them like adults. Accept that even if someone has been there for years, they may not necessarily be better at the job than someone that just started. Seniority doesn't equal better customer service. And finally, it's generally in poor taste to be off in Hawaii painting, yet ask your minimum wage employees to spend $400+ on your artwork......no matter the quality.

    Show More
    LanguageLink2019-04-25
  7. "Home based interpreter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Home Based OTP Interpreter in Spokane, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LanguageLink full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to work from home, save on gas, work in your pajamas, fair pay, very easy access to management if you have any issues. Amazing, friendly and understanding management, I've been having some health issues in my family, and they always were able to meet my needs and were willing to work with me. This is not the first company that I worked for as the OTP interpreter, and it is much better in comparison.... Better benefits than other similar companies offer.

    Show More

    Cons

    Can't think of any cons.

    Advice to Management

    You're doing a great job, keep it up. The only thing that I wish for is if you would expand, get more clients and have more open positions, so I can refer some of very good interpreters, my former co-workers, to our company.

    LanguageLink2018-12-22
  8. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at LanguageLink

    Pros

    Laid back company culture, nice coworkers, decent benefits

    Cons

    Busy, high volume, boring work.

    LanguageLink2018-12-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Interpreter Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Interpreter Manager in Vancouver, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at LanguageLink full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You do your job and show your value, and you will surely walk up that ladder pretty fast. Transparency within departments and from upper management all the way down the ladder is amazing. Easy access to your superiors at any time, for any subject.

    Cons

    Still growing, so not too many positions open for management.

    LanguageLink2018-03-20
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Sales Manager -Eastern Half United States"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at LanguageLink full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting industry but they cannot seem to truly engage. Very cheap and won't invest what is required to truly grab market share.

    Cons

    Wild west culture. Overall the people are good but the management is certifiable. No real depth. In experienced in true people management. Set in their ways and unwilling to open their minds to alternatives.

    Advice to Management

    Sell to a buyer who can truly manage and foster growth instead of demanding.

    LanguageLink2018-03-07

    LanguageLink Response

    March 13, 2018Vendor Management Office

    Thank you for your feedback. The management team at Language Link fosters a transparent and collaborative environment for all of our employees, so I am disappointed to hear about your experience. Over the past year, Language Link has undergone significant changes and refocused on ...

    Show More
Found 46 reviews