MVF Reviews | Glassdoor

MVF Reviews

Updated Sep 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 123 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
MVF CEO Michael Teixeira (no image)
Michael Teixeira
46 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free breakfast, fruit and lunchtime exercise classes really do encourage a healthy work/life balance(in 22 reviews)

  • "Great work life balance, 9-5 working hours(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not very diverse work force especially at senior management(in 6 reviews)

  • "There is a lack of career progression except for those who are favourited by senior management(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to start a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Lead in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MVF full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I started at MVF about 3 years ago as the 3rd US hire and we're now a team of 16. I've since been promoted to Sr. Account Executive and then again to Team Lead. The story of the US office is one that I'm quite proud of as so much has changed since I was hired. To name a few: - Well developed Sales Academy for new hires, and even an external sales trainer booked to come on site in February - Management Development Academy - all managers are now getting sent to the UK on regular trips to complete an accredited mgmt training - Creation of an America's focused marketing team with members making regular trips to the Austin office - In the past year, the CEO, CPO and Director of Client Success were all here to give 1:1 training - 401k with great employer match This is an incredible team of top performers that embody our company values. It's been a privilege to be a part of this growth and to see the US become the fastest growing business unit at MVF.

    Cons

    There have been things (like the 401k) that took longer than we initially thought and reasons behind the delays weren't well communicated- this has recently gotten better.

    Continue reading
    MVF2019-01-11

    MVF Response

    January 23, 2019PR & Communications Manager

    Hi there! It's amazing to hear your story working with MVF and to see how proud you are of your work - we are too! We're always trying to do better in terms of rolling out benefits outside of the UK. Austin is our first offshore office, so we have learned so much since launching it and building the incredible team there. I've passed your advice on to the team, but if you have any specific ideas feel free to reach out to me, the People team or a Director. Thanks Amy

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Not Worth It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MVF full-time

    Pros

    - You will meet some truly amazing people at MVF. They are great to talk with and will try to help you succeed when they can.

    Cons

    - Very cliquey culture, with gossip and exclusiveness stemming from the top down - Mgmt gives you feedback on every little thing you do wrong- even irrelevant things - Commission structure is disappointing. - After hours events are just centered around drinking - Leads talk about your performance in the middle of the office because they don't think anyone can hear - You feel like a bother when you constantly have to ask other sales people for help even though they have quotas they need to meet. "so and so will help you out" really? Because that sounds like my managers job

    Continue reading
    MVF2019-08-20
  3. "Great Company if you like sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MVF full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent Salary, Great People, Good Benefits

    Cons

    Bad Commission Structure, Product isn't great

    Continue reading
    MVF2019-04-26
  4. "Current Employee - full time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MVF full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    One of the best parts about working at MVF is the people, the team is always constantly encouraging each other and helping each other grow their skill sets. You will have the opportunity to do full cycle sales and manage your own accounts.

    Cons

    The job can sometimes be stressful but you learn how to manage your time once you get in the flow.

    MVF2018-12-19

    MVF Response

    December 20, 2018PR & Communications Manager

    Hi there, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review, we appreciate the feedback. It's great to hear you are enjoying the autonomy of your role and have settled into the flow of your position. Mental health and stress are things that are really important to us at MVF, so if you do have any questions about the programs or initiatives we run - or have any suggestions for how we could better support MVFers in this area - please get in touch with our Health & Wellbeing Advisor Hannah Meredith. Thanks again, Amy

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Good place to start, not much else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MVF full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I started at MVF right out of college, and got good experience in sales. I've continued to be successful in the field, so I think it steered me in the right direction I got to go to London a couple times, which was cool. You also won't have to work that much. 9-5.

    Cons

    Where to start... 1) No investment in growing the US: When I was hired, I was told that the company was investing massively in the US, and wanted to have the office at 50 people by 2018. I was the 10th US hire, and now more than 8 months after my departure, the office is no larger than it was when I started. All the operations and marketing are still run out of London, so don't expect timely responses to anything, or good coordination with the team. Have a big client in the US that you have to get a deliverable to? Maybe next months lead forecast? It's gonna take a few weeks, and probably won't be accurate. They routinely hire people who should be sussed out in the first round of interviews-- in my time there we had several hires who would just stop showing up to work, or didn't understand the first thing about our business, or business in general. They won't bring in anyone in the US to run marketing-- instead they'll say they can teach you some basics and expect you to start pulling levers-- with no additional compensation. I was also told, more than once to review legal documents. I have no legal training. Also expect to be treated as the red headed step child-- the UK is awash in perks you won't start to see. 2) Constantly changing comps: While I was there, they had an element of OTE in the form of a small bonus every month you hit target-- right after I left they axed it. They'll change targets, how they're tabulated etc., at the 11th hour and expect you to adjust. 3)No Investment in people: Want a 401(k), equity, professional development? Don't work here-- none to be found. They'll give you a budget for training, but don't expect it to get you far, or for them to approve the trainings you want to do. 4) No real career progression: I started when I was fresh out of college, so admittedly wasn't looking at this as a long term gig. After finding some success, I became a top producer, and was promoted. The pay scale did not increase meaningfully, while I was expected to hit a target twice as large. You might get "promoted" to team lead, which again, takes time away from your targets, gives you a team to manage, but comes with no pay increase. 5) Leadership: There are a few good people in positions of leadership, but while I was there the CEO was rarely around, and when he was he would often act childishly. Emotional outbursts, not showing up to things, late to meetings he'd call you into, etc. You're going to be reporting to people who aren't exactly inspiring or affirming. They can be fun though. 6) General Sales Planning: While I was there, there was no planning to the sales team. Any account was available to anyone, and accounts are constantly dropped from your name for not being "touched" with in a couple weeks. You're going to do a lot of pray and spray selling, and waste a lot of time chasing accounts that aren't worth your time. 7) General misleading of employees: I heard a number of times they'd be awarding equity, straightening out promotion criteria, adding a 401(k). None of these came to fruition during my two + years of employment There's also a very clear "in" group and "out" group that carries across the pond, and from all accounts is even worse in the UK. That being said, those who are "in" are usually from a certain type of family in London. They all party together, which can admittedly be really fun, but also all get promoted together, and perpetuates an in and out group. Feels very boys club-y.

    Continue reading
    MVF2019-01-10

    MVF Response

    January 18, 2019

    Hi Thanks for your review which I read with interest. As you left the business eight months ago, there are lots of things which have changed, and some things I think I should clarify. These are around three areas: growth in the US, marketing support and benefits and progression. 1. Growth in the US: We are investing in growing the US office, and this is now one of the highest performing areas of our business. The office is certainly bigger than 8 months ago - since then, we’ve almost doubled our gross profit contribution. We still have some improvements to make to our hiring process but given team performance, we are proud of the recent recruits and the value they have brought to the business. In fact, I visited the US office in Nov 2018 and have to say, I think we are very fortunate to have the best team in place since we started. 2. Marketing Support: Our US office is a sales office, so marketing is currently done in the UK by a dedicated team. Many of that team have visited the US in the last 6 months spending up to 3 - 4 weeks at a time. I believe that the dedicated Americas team was put in place after you left eight months ago so a real shame that you didn't see the benefit of that. 3. Benefits and Progression: The US office has been in place for just over two years. It takes time for an international office to embed and start performing. Once performance takes off, it starts to pay for things that we didn't and couldn't have from the outset. Thanks to the brilliantly performing team in place, the US office is now giving the UK a run for its money in terms of business performance. As a result, in the latter half of last year, we introduced a 401K and are about to roll out a new Sales Development Programme for the team this quarter. The US Leadership Team and People Team are working closely together on the US People Plan which was devised based on the feedback of our team to improve on relevant aspects of life in our US Office. I do appreciate your feedback but hope you understand that in a fast paced environment like MVF, eight months is a long time. I’m pleased to see we’ve made positive changes in the core areas you’ve addressed in your comment. If you have anything you’d like to add or any questions please feel free to reach out to me via LinkedIn. Best Ange

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MVF full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They (the Austin interviewers) don't look at experience - they look at sales desire; attractiveness; and ability to be "trained" (although everyone worthy of being a mentor has left the company or gone back to the UK). So, you can just get a job right out of college if you're hungry and presentable. Cool office; fun group of people to drink/party with; everyone's pretty good-looking....I've heard the whole office has gone to Ibiza but at this point it seems like a myth. We went to Disney world, that was cool.

    Cons

    MVF Global seems to be a great company to work for but they just have not figured out how to run a satellite office. The Austin office has a "CEO" that rarely showed up (this may have changed since I've been gone for a while now) and only cares about numbers. While he has title of CEO - in a small office with inexperienced managers - there's no hands-on effort or 1-on-1 advice - he just holds private meetings with the "managers" of the team who then pass down the advice or criticism. The team leaders are young, inexperienced and most of their accounts/revenue have been handed to them (mostly from the strong talent that has left the business and moved on).

    Continue reading
    MVF2018-08-05

    MVF Response

    August 7, 2018

    Hi, Thanks for your detailed review. It sounds as though you left us some time ago, so I thought it might be worthwhile bringing you up to date. As you know, our Austin office focuses on sales, so it is very natural for our CEO to care about the numbers. That said, it isn’t the only thing he cares about. He spends quite a bit of his time each week updating the London headquarters about the work you are all doing and also requesting activities, tools or programmes that will make a difference to the lives of all our US colleagues. It’s very easy to criticize senior leaders based on the things you think they do or don’t do, but there is often a lot that you don’t see going on behind the scenes. However, feedback is important and I am sure that he has seen yours and will take that onboard. Best sales members…I can only go by the facts and our numbers in the last three months suggest that this team is the best sales team we have had to date in the US office. Our US leaders have also started our Management Development Academy as it’s only right to support someone’s development when they have an aspiration to lead. One person has completed MDA with a further two people due to start attending in the next month. We also run our internal engagement survey often to get feedback from MVFers on what we can be doing better, and the People Team have worked with the US to determine the actions that need addressing, including any themes relating to management. As for my visiting the US office, good call – I have a trip planned for November. Whilst I’m there, if you’d like to meet for coffee please contact me and we’ll arrange it. Although things have moved on, I’d still like to hear about your experience at MVF. Most Glassdoor reviewers have never taken me up on my invitation so perhaps you might consider changing that. Ange PS: It is said that ‘beauty is in the eye of the beholder’ so I am sure that your colleagues in our Austin office will be pleased to know you thought they were attractive, but I can assure you that this is not one of the pre-requisites for a job at MVF! It’s not exactly an objective data point is it?!

    Continue reading
  7. "Sales Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at MVF full-time

    Pros

    cool company, and they send you to London

    Cons

    cliquey environment, commission structure isn't that great,

    MVF2018-06-12

    MVF Response

    June 22, 2018PR & Communications Manager

    Hi there! Thanks so much for leaving us your feedback, we really appreciate it. Glad to hear you liked popping over to our London offices for training as part of your role. In the US in particular we are looking at holding some more socials over the Summer to onboard new starters and bring the team together - we hope this helps you feel more at home in the working environment. As for the commission structure, I would definitely encourage you to leave this feedback in our anonymous employee engagement as well, but I can tell you that MVF's People team is working on the overall reward strategy which will involve some external market/industry benchmarking to improve the transparency around these structures and how they are set. If you have any more questions or suggestions for how we can make MVF an even better place to work, please feel free to get in touch! Amy

    Continue reading
  8. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MVF full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The work life balance at MVF is amazing, and there is so much opportunity for progression.

    Cons

    Can sometimes be a siloed working environment.

    MVF2017-12-11
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Culture is King!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MVF full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I'd like to avoid the work hard play hard cliche, but it definitely is true here. During office hours everyone is very motivated to work and achieve together, but have fun doing it. Management want to lead by example (and do so!). It's awesome to have the startup vibe and aggressive growth goals, but to have the backing and experience of the UK HQ at the same time. Outside work, everyone loves hanging out together too - a really enjoyable combination. Great career progression available - still have very aggressive growth goals, and the meritocracy will mean results are rewarded.

    Cons

    Initially lacked solid training or career direction, but that seemed more to do with the company genuinely being a startup, and not having the processes yet developed. This has now changed, and training/career paths are clear, and seem still to be getting better!

    Continue reading
    MVF2017-03-02
  10. Helpful (23)

    "Don't walk away...RUN!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MVF full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The only thing good is the location.

    Cons

    -The pay and benefits are terrible-when they offer you the job they promise that they are in the works to get this changed and that is actually not the case at all. They will make you take off for national holidays but then they take that from your vacation time. -They like to hire kids straight out of college, so if you are older than 23 you will not fit in and they will all talk about how old you are. It is like working on the set of mean girls. -The manager is terrible, you can ask for help, but you will never get any help. They will expect you to know everything right away and when you don't they will criticize your performance. -The manager is completely unprofessional, he talks about how he is going to fire people to your colleagues. -They advertise they have great healthy snacks and food- they literally order a few generic items from the grocery store. -There is no way to move up in this company, they will promise you advancement and then when you meet the goals and you do not get promoted they will blame it on the London office. -They micro-manage EVERY minute of your day. You spend so much time telling the team what you are going to do for the day and then what you did during the day. Then you need to document all of this in about 5 different places. -They constantly talk about how HR is in London therefore they can act and talk however they please. They will talk about doing drugs, getting hammered, make racist and sexist remarks. They always say if they had an HR department there that none of them would have jobs, this includes the manager. -They will text you on the weekends and ask you to complete documents (that you already did in the other 5 things you filled out) and they will want you to do it right now! -This is honestly the worst career decision that I have ever made, I would strongly advise anyone against working here. There are so many good tech companies in Austin to work for with good benefits. Please do not let them convince you to work here with their empty promises.

    Continue reading
    MVF2017-01-20
Found 123 reviews
</>Embed