Medcom Reviews | Glassdoor

Medcom Reviews

Updated Jun 4, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
40%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Small Company, but good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Medcom full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    employee appreciation outings, like bowling, catered Thanksgving and Christmas lunches, company bought lunches during the year, early release days before holidays which are paid. Nice 401K match, multiple insurance options.

    Cons

    it would be nice to have days specific for vacation and sick days rather than combined, or flex time if overtime is worked, especially for salaried employees, that can be used along with extra vacation days.

    Medcom2018-06-04
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Stay far, far away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Medcom full-time

    Pros

    Small office. They have a lot of food days.

    Cons

    Low pay. Horrible parking. No clear objectives for job description. Slight feel of racism in the air as co-workers will ignore you speaking to them. Almost like high-school.

    Advice to Management

    Be more open. Pay your employees better. Fix the pre-segregation culture.

    Medcom2018-04-23
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Medcom

    Pros

    The work is in an interesting field and kept me very busy.

    Cons

    The leadership/management team did not have all the necessary skills.

    Medcom2016-09-20
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Small Company Feel mixed with old management tactics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cypress, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Medcom full-time

    Pros

    After being with the company for years, some of the pros are: + Small team that works very well together. + Honesty and open communication between the managers and coworkers (with a caveat in cons). + Very competitive health care. + A competitive matching 401K plan. + Flexible schedule and time off. + In the production team, everyone gets their own large office. + Get to work in a studio during filming. +... You get to wear many hats and learn a lot of different skills.

    Show More

    Cons

    Some of the cons are: - Management has a lot of room for improvement. - No bonus system. - Minimal to modest raises. - No provided meals, personal days, or other recreational activities. - No personal days, just PTO or sick days (sometimes people just need a personal day). - Management isn't very open or ever asks how they can improve the work environment. - Room for growth but compensation isn't very well,... if any.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My advice is to mix things up, bring in new tactics from this generation of businesses. Medcom is great because it has endured for 50 years but change is good for the team. It is a small company and to stay competitive, it needs to start being competitive in the workplace offerings.

    Medcom2016-08-11
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Like working in a time warp, dictatorship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Account Specialist in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Medcom

    Pros

    Can't think of any, maybe a little flexible,

    Cons

    Chauvinistic management, low pay if your female, secretive, no clearly defined job descriptions, management by intimidation, 0 training it's like a cult, management , can't offer opinions or you will be set up to fail. brainwashes employees that they have it good and jobs are scarce. No support as employees have no experience. No HR,

    Advice to Management

    Training in harassment, discrimination, improve commradarie

    Medcom2015-05-01
  6. Helpful (1)

    "DOD army medicine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Medcom

    Pros

    Great Benefits, positive attitudes, positive work environment

    Cons

    Government, you can get lost in the system

    Medcom2015-03-09
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Job is low pay!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Panamá
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Medcom full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    personal office time off when needed nice area

    Cons

    low pay raise is less than min percentage pay is minimal no communication among co workers upset when you talk to them, as if they do not want to interact with you racist sarcastic do not take their co workers seriously if you like working for pay and can ignore awkward company then be my guest don't say i did not warn you!

    Advice to Management

    new managment or change in how company is being run

    Medcom2017-10-09
  8. "It was a great time being involve in all aspects of television from inside out... Lifetime experience!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - National Sales Manager in Panamá
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Medcom full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Television is just a wonderfull place to work, great enviroment and having the opportunity to comercialize TV even better.

    Cons

    At the same time, I would say that sometimes is just too fun and could be too informal.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on doing what we built and lets not give up to anything.

    Medcom2015-02-23
Found 8 reviews