Moncur Reviews | Glassdoor

Moncur Reviews

Updated Oct 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.6
42%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Moncur Principal  David Moncur
David Moncur
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "A Second Home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Creative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Moncur full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Yes, we have snacks and a beautiful new space to eat those snacks in. And of course, we have amazing benefits, fun perks, and incredible opportunities for growth. However when Glassdoor asks, “What are the pros of working at Moncur?” such bigger, more meaningful things come to mind. What are those things? The people. If you put every “pro” aside, yet the people remained, I would still proudly come to work every day. Each person I have had the privilege of interacting with at Moncur has truly had a positive impact on my life, both personally and professionally, one way or another. Leadership — When I was faced with the most life-altering news, going through the hardest of times, our executive team was there by my side, supporting me like an extension of my family. I see them as the parents of the company; always encouraging us to reach our fullest potential, putting us in roles that allow us to grow and to succeed. They are, hands down, some of the most compassionate, family-orientated, intelligent, creative, and impactful people I’ve ever met. Client Services — You don’t know what it means to be cool, calm, and collected until you have met someone from our client services department. They are the most real, warm, thorough, and organized individuals in this industry. I believe they have 8 arms, 6 of which are imaginary. They somehow manage to do “all the things,” all the time, with smiles on their faces. Creative & Development — This is my team. The ones I work with, side by side, day in and day out. The best of the best. A group of incredibly talented designers, copywriters, and developers. Those with intellectual and creative abilities I have never experienced within another agency. I am proud to work with these people and honored to be considered one of them. Regardless of which department you’re interested in at Moncur, there is one thing all people within all departments have in common — an undeniable passion for what they do and the opportunity to use that passion to its fullest potential. Every day, they’re impacting the culture and the company as a whole, bringing a constant renewal of life and energy, and allowing work to feel much less like work -- and much more like home.

    Cons

    Every company, every person, and everything has it's con. However, after being here for 4 years, I can confidently say that when an issue arises or something doesn't feel like it's working, our leadership has a remarkable ability to focus and resolve concerns. Their growth and improvement mindset is the reason we are better today than we were yesterday. And I promise you, we will be better tomorrow than we are today.

    Moncur2019-10-04
  2. "Totally Unfit Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Designer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Moncur full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice office and benefits offered

    Cons

    Management is totally disjointed and confrontational with employees and each other. The office is incredibly dramatic and gossip-filled at times. Total lack of understanding of digital marketing and it shows in the web development and digital team's work.

    Continue reading
    Moncur2019-08-07
  3. "Dysfunctional to the core"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Southfield, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Moncur full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of snacks, happy hours

    Cons

    Constant long hours, last minute feedback on tight deadlines, under paid, general lack of appreciation

    Moncur2019-06-29
  4. "I really love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Moncur full-time

    Pros

    - The people in the company really care about each other - The directors are constantly working to improve the company - Compared to most agencies, we have an amazing work-life balance - There is a huge focus on culture which makes working here fun - I've learned more here than anyplace else I've ever worked - Insurance benefits are amazing - I'm proud of the work I do here

    Cons

    - Everybody wears multiple hats. It is exciting, but it can also be overwhelming at times. - Oftentimes there is too much focus on being perfect which can slow things down

    Continue reading
    Moncur2018-05-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "appreciated what i got there- positive overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Moncur

    Pros

    reliable, patient, kind people, organized

    Cons

    maybe more snacks? idk tbh

    Moncur2017-11-11
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Completely Crazy. Don’t be lured."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Art Director in Southfield, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Moncur full-time

    Pros

    Great office layout and food perks.

    Cons

    The management is completely crazy. While promoting themselves as a current, leading-edge company, they live in some other reality with outdated concepts of management and deliverables. They over bill and under deliver. The fast revolving door of positions is evidence enough.

    Continue reading
    Moncur2017-09-11
  7. Helpful (10)

    "Unpredictable Management Style"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Graphic Designer in Southfield, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Moncur full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    • Better for young designers. Lots of creative freedom. Great place to build a portfolio. • Creative directors encourage young designers to push their skills. • Good, healthy snacks available to all employees for free. • Fun happy hours, full bar. • Decent pay. • Variety in projects.

    Cons

    • An 'everyone can do everything' mentality. Employees often work on projects that are out of their skillset and have to learn on the job. • Management team is very disjointed. They don't trust each other and do not work as a team to lead the company. • Absolutely no follow-through on promises from executives. • Not a supportive environment for seasoned professionals or introverts. Felt invisible unless I wore heels. • Gossip and visible frustration on every level. No in-house HR. Unpaid maternity leave. • Other than the executives, I have never seen a director-level employee stay for more than a year.

    Continue reading
    Moncur2017-04-17
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Full of middle school drama and inappropriate relationships"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Moncur full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of the younger team members do good work, though talented people typically on rather quickly, due to poor leadership

    Cons

    Boss is continually involved in inappropriate relationships with team members and seems to enjoy participating in the gossip-fueled culture. Gives attention to those who "show well," rather than those with true talent.

    Moncur2017-04-17
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Good people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Moncur

    Pros

    Cool office, people are nice. Beer fridge and snack bar for employees.

    Cons

    Feels like high school with people talking about u. Management doesn't listen to staff unless they want to. Overworked. Management doesn't communicate well with each other. Management expects u to know what they want without telling u. More concerned about the girls being pretty then doing their job.

    Continue reading
    Moncur2016-12-07
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Overall good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Art Director in Southfield, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Moncur full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities for Junior and Senior Designers to grow and learn. Good variety of projects and clients. Management approachable and easy to get along with. Very talented individuals to learn from. Team and culture constantly growing and improving. Company not afraid to change and evolve to improve culturally and as a business. Good healthcare benefits. Extra PTO time rewarded to loyal employees. Office interior design is nice / comfortable (kitchen is awesome), with beer in the fridge!

    Cons

    High turnover on projects requiring occasional overtime. Leadership seems slammed the majority of time making it difficult for them to manage. No work-from-home policy or flexibility on hours.

    Continue reading
    Moncur2016-04-07
Found 14 reviews