Ocean County Library Reviews | Glassdoor

Ocean County Library Reviews

Updated Feb 4, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
11%
Approve of CEO
Susan Quinn
8 Ratings
  1. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Ocean County Library

    Pros

    Great working environment and learned a lot of valuable professional skills.

    Cons

    A lot of staff vacations makes it difficult to keep up with longer term projects.

    Ocean County Library2017-01-18
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Mangement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Library Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ocean County Library part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Being a book lover, being able to upcoming titles. The pay I believe is competitive for a part time worker and you do get vacation and sick time. Flexible hours.

    Cons

    One word: Mangement! You think we were doing brain surgery the way we are micro managed. It’s a library! People sitting around in offices think up new policies, that make no sense, depends on which branch/manager you have how much they are followed. People would think a nice easy job, but between working with the public and the mangement, not as non stressful as it really should be. Also, they are all about diversity,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop just sitting in your offices and actually work with your customer base and listen to your front line employees to what is effective in making good customer service.

    Ocean County Library2018-02-05
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Not Surprised...Really...Librarians are for people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ocean County Library full-time

    Pros

    Resources are by far excellent. The people, librarians and patrons, were talented and exciting to work with. They understood what the job entailed. Change was easily embraced.

    Cons

    When I worked with Susan Quinn years ago, I was surprised that people in the library did not run through the hallways crying. She is the reason why the offices and librarian staff do not work efficiently. Passive aggressive and ignores the larger picture, she is the reason why it is going down hill. Leadership needs to sit down and take a moment to understand what the patrons need and want.

    Advice to Management

    The Director needs to resign.

    Ocean County Library2017-06-25
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Good place for a first time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Monitor 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ocean County Library part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible work schedules Job is not very difficult Friendly coworkers and customers The people I worked with made the job great otherwise not as good. I would recommend to someone looking for a first job but don't expect to advance to a new position

    Cons

    No room for advancement Few pay raises only small usually only 1.5% so typically between $.10-.15 an hour. Work is dull but that is the nature of the job

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the people at the bottom they interact daily with the customers and have valuable information to share. Don't disregard our opinions. Promote from within give the monitors a chance at other positions instead of hiring from outside

    Ocean County Library2016-10-20
  5. "Part Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Ocean County Library

    Pros

    Fun environment to be part of

    Cons

    Can't think of any cons at the moment

    Ocean County Library2016-09-29
  6. Helpful (8)

    "It's definitely not what it used to be."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ocean County Library full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The support staff are basically nice people who work hard for little pay.

    Cons

    An administration that is out of touch with reality. Very high turnover. Not even a cost of living increase in salary (there's no money in the budget) yet admin gave themselves huge increases. Very low morale.

    Advice to Management

    Pay more attention to the support staff's needs and concerns. Maybe give them an actual raise w/o taking something away. It might just boost morale a bit.

    Ocean County Library2016-08-25
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Bad for morale"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Librarian in Toms River, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ocean County Library full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lower level librarians and support staff are great! Your day to day co-workers make it worth going to work.

    Cons

    Management micro-manages and is judgmental. Staff constantly being questioned and taken to task.

    Ocean County Library2016-09-17
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Used to be a great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Librarian 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ocean County Library full-time

    Pros

    The biggest pro would be job security.

    Cons

    One of the biggest cons would be job security for co-workers who don't pull their weight. This used to be a great place to work, but the current management team is more concerned with how things look than how things work. Biggest disappointment is a new (and costly) Maker Space, complete with sewing machines, 3-D printers, a 3-D scanner, soldering irons and a Silouette Cameo machine (for creating decals and all...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I'm not optimistic that the management team would listen to any advice. My advice is to the library's appointed Commission members: start reading the incident reports; take a look around the library buildings and notice what is shabby; interview former employees to see why they left; visit other library systems to see what they are offering or even just look at the websites of other library systems and explore what OCL...

    Show More
    Ocean County Library2016-08-12
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Nightmare Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Library Assistant in Toms River, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ocean County Library

    Pros

    Nothing worth working there for. Employees are unhappy.

    Cons

    My manager was an underskilled nightmare and lied to cover her inadiquite behavior and choices. The way people are treated there is bottom of the barrel. Adminstration is dysfuntional and unprofessional. Waste of tax dollars.

    Advice to Management

    Comission needs to fired adminstration and start over. Bad news.

    Ocean County Library2016-07-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ocean County Library

    Pros

    Staff are wonderful, benefits are great

    Cons

    Parking at TR branch can be difficult

    Ocean County Library2015-08-20
Found 14 reviews