Oneupweb Reviews | Glassdoor

Oneupweb Reviews

Updated 31 Jan 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
67%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Oneupweb CEO Fernando Meza (no image)
Fernando Meza
14 Ratings
  1. "Best Work Culture I've Ever Experienced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Marketing & SEO Project Manager in Traverse City, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oneupweb full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been here for about a year and a half, and I love it at Oneupweb. Pros: -Kind, creative, talented coworkers -A culture of constant learning, honest feedback, working hard, having fun with the work and each other -Respect for family and personal time (weekends off, regular work hours, etc.) -Lots of variety because of diverse clients and projects -The company is growing in exciting ways... -Competitive pay and great benefits -Really cool location and office environment -Room to grow within the company

    Show More

    Cons

    The learning curve is steep for any position. This is a small team, so we're constantly stretching our comfort zones. You'll need to be willing to work really hard, hold yourself accountable, and grow your skill set quickly as the company expands core offerings. If you like a challenge, this isn't really a problem.

    Oneupweb2019-01-31
  2. "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Traverse City, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oneupweb full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Open-door workplace policy and a great work/life balance.

    Cons

    Oneupweb is a fantastic place to work.

    Oneupweb2019-01-31
  3. "Cool People Doing Cool Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Content Producer in Traverse City, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oneupweb full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The team at Oneupweb is as smart and skilled as they are friendly and funny. Fernando has done a great job of building a community of creative people that have similar goals and drive. This makes for an excellent company culture. Oneupweb works hard, plays hard, and does great work.

    Cons

    Even if you have the skills for the job, if you don't jive with the group, it might be hard to feel like you belong (especially if you don't make an effort to branch out). With a sharp wit and an easy-going personality, you'll fit in great.

    Oneupweb2019-01-22
  4. "There are no “cons” to working at Oneupweb"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Marketing Project Manager in Rapid City, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oneupweb full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    During my time at Oneupweb, I’ve learned how to interact with clients, strengthened my writing and editing skills, become a Google Analytics guru and developed countless other abilities. I love working cross-department with my design and dev coworkers to develop creative solutions to client challenges. Oneupweb is staffed with talented and passionate individuals who get the job done and get it done right. The work... is challenging, but the environment is anything but. I’ve never worked anywhere where I felt so supported.

    Show More

    Cons

    In my opinion, there are no “cons” to working at Oneupweb. One of the reasons I’m so proud of our company is that we work to better ourselves and our teams. We’re always striving to improve communication and documentation, work more efficiently and innovate.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Oneupweb2019-01-08
  5. "a healthy and collaborative environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oneupweb full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've worked for an NBA team, a huge car manufacturer, start-ups, etc. In all of my many years of working, this is the most healthy and collaborative environment I've ever worked in. It's a beautiful environment of collaboration. I have never experienced anything like this before … we don’t allow each other to fail … no back stabbing … no politics … no games … no egos … I understand this wasn’t always the case.... Fernando Meza took over as CEO in October 2014. While I was not a part of the team under the old leadership, I can say that management under Fernando (and the current leadership team) has made this the best place I have ever worked. To date, I have worked at Oneupweb for 8 months. The environment here is very transparent. Co-workers are fun yet really serious about their work and good at what they do; I am treated with respect and look forward to making contributions to projects; my work is respected and valued; if someone is stuck solving a problem then the team rallies together to come up with possible solutions; and there are plenty of fun activities like potlucks and Friday afternoon beer growlers. We work hard yet we get plenty of time off to play too. In addition to the regular PTO we have, there is a Ferris Bueller day off, your birthday off and summer hours with alternating Friday’s off.

    Show More

    Cons

    I'd like to make more money, but whoever makes all the money they want? I think I make a fair wage for the work I do and for the area I live in.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the humor, transparency and open communication going.

    Oneupweb2018-05-24
  6. "A Wonderful Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oneupweb full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Everyone says it, but I'll say it again: the people here are just the best. It truly is like a family. Fernando, the CEO, makes time to personally connect with all his employees, which can't be easy. He's also a really great boss in that he works to create an environment in which people feel encouraged to be themselves, work hard, support each other, communicate, and do all the things a healthy company should... (which is sadly rare). He wants his employees to be happy, and works toward that. Other pros: - Great focus on work/life balance, and very flexible schedules, including the option to work remotely as you want - Random lunches / outings / other treats - Fun! We mix laughter and socializing with hard work, which makes for great output - Work flexibility: If you want to do something, you can generally do it, because everyone's up for making things better on a daily basis - A creative work environment: if you enjoy creative thinking and coming up with new ideas, you'll thrive here - Super talented, bright people: you'll be inspired by and learn a lot from everyone, because they're open to sharing and are very good at what they do Seriously, it's a really great place to work. The word is out about the new Oneupweb--come see for yourself!

    Show More

    Cons

    All the pros far outweigh the one con: It's a flat organization, so you can float between roles and responsibilities. Which on the one hand is really great, because you're not locked in to doing the same thing every day. But on the other hand it means there's no clear path to career development, and it seems like nobody really advances.

    Advice to Management

    I'd love more transparency about how healthy the company is, so I know exactly what to do to improve the bottom line. It'd also be great to receive more specific feedback on how to advance. Keep up the great work!

    Oneupweb2018-05-18
  7. "Best Career Move Ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inbound Marketing Manager in Traverse City, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oneupweb full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people you work with at Oneupweb are amazing. I've never worked with a more talented mix of people. The flexibility in scheduling is vital to someone with a family and the CEO truly understands what is needed to provide a work/life balance. The ability to steer your own ship as far as how you see your career with Oneupweb evolving is beneficial to anyone who just wants their skillset to be used to the highest... potential without letting job titles get in the way.

    Show More

    Cons

    It's an open work environment meaning if you are easily distracted it may drive you a bit crazy. I often have to go into headphone world. Not only to stop distractions but to stop being a distraction to others.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on keeping on.

    Oneupweb2018-05-11
  8. "A company that gets it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Traverse City, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oneupweb full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Probably one of the most brilliant and motivated group of people I've ever worked with. OUW is composed of a team of characters, so you have to have a good sense of humor working here! We keep it professional but know how to have a good time. The people I work with are awesome, and I look forward to walking into work every morning. It honestly feels like a "work family". Management also takes great care of staff... (and keeps us well fed). They aren’t solely focused on getting the work done, but they are also cognizant of our well-being. That’s a huge deal. There are many articles out there that state people don't quite a job, but they quit management (I am one of those people)...this is not a place that you would want to leave management. Their door is open and they foster a very warm and inviting environment. Coming from the service/hospitality industries, to have weekends and holidays off are a dream. We also have some bonus time off outside of the set PTO. Management encourages a healthy work/life balance. It's also nice to be able to work remotely when needed (whether circumstances outside of your control, or just need a mental reset). Management is at the office, on site and in the trenches with you. Never do I wonder "what does manager X really do? - how come they are never here?" If you've ever worked for a place that you felt like this, then you will appreciate what I mean! Lastly, projects are a team effort and you have the team to support you. But be prepared to grow and self reflect. There are days that are not sunshine and roses, but the growth you get from team and client feedback is indispensable. You'll be a better person for having worked here.

    Show More

    Cons

    There aren't many. I still pinch myself daily that I get to work here. But, if I had to dig for some cons I would include that it's an open work environment, so you need to know how to manage your time wisely and use techniques to not get distracted. And our work hours are 7-4, 8-5 or 9-6 with an hour lunch (or two 30 minute breaks)...sometimes I wish I could work through lunch and come in later or leave earlier. I... mean, not really much of a con! (And to be fair, I've never asked management if there is any flexibility - so hard to be a con if I haven't asked!)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing and keeping our interactions and work real. Keep sharing your dream with all of us, so we keep working harder and striving to be bigger. I'm so thrilled to be part of the "new era" of Oneupweb. I can't wait to see how we keep growing - the possibilities are endless!

    Oneupweb2018-03-26
  9. "The good is still good, and the old bad is way better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oneupweb full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've been here for ages (in marketing years, anyway) and I've seen a lot of changes. Some things have stayed the same. The employees here have always been our greatest strength, both before ownership change and after. The people here are supportive, creative, energetic, and genuinely welcoming. They're the type of people who aren't afraid to try something new, or to offer pushback when it's needed, or to change... direction if it means it's better for the client. They genuinely try, every single day. For as many people who have come and gone, that has stayed universal. I think that, because of these traits, having a former employee come into ownership has been critical for the collaborative environment here. This is the type of place where you're not only offered a seat the table, you're expected to walk right up and ask for it. If you want to be able to actively change the place you work at, then this is your place. Input is always welcome, even if it isn't necessarily acted on (which frankly is a good thing: that's a sign of good, thoughtful management). Every employee here is valued. That's shown in ways both big and small, through holiday parties, surprise lunches, plans for group camping trips, or just a meeting that runs a little long because everyone's laughing their butts off. (If there's one change from the early days that was needed the most, it was that.) Appreciation is especially common between employees. A lot of people here are quick with compliments for one another. People are also generally happy to hop in when someone else is struggling, either to collaborate or pick up work.

    Show More

    Cons

    It's mentioned other places, but we really are a sink-or-swim kind of company. It's the type of thing that leads to new employees sometimes giving up because they feel discouraged and unsupported.

    Advice to Management

    Honestly a lot is going really well. I think there are only a few things I would ask for: - Increased transparency. From my vantage point, it seems that everyone knows something a little bit different from everyone else. That leaves a lot to the grapevine. - As much as we hear it from other employees, one-on-one praise from management would be really healthy. Appreciation is shown through action, but... sometimes people just need to hear it. - Having a stronger onboarding process would be hugely helpful, both for new hire-ons and the current employees who don't know how to support them.

    Show More
    Oneupweb2018-03-20
  10. "This is the Best Place to Work in Traverse City"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Developer in Traverse City, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oneupweb full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Beautiful, airy, plant-filled office at the Grand Traverse Commons. Flexible schedule. Opportunity to work remote. The CEO goes out of his way to make Oneupweb a fun work environment and he's eager for employees to embrace their unique skillsets. I honestly look forward to going to work throughout the week. Every member of the staff is talented, stylish, and friendly. Somewhat uniquely among tech companies, at... Oneupweb the male/female ratio is 1:1. I am learning a ton of new skills here and I would recommend this company to anyone looking for a new job.

    Show More

    Cons

    My salary is a bit lower than I would like (although fair) but it is a tradeoff I'm willing to make given all of the new skills I'm learning and the aforementioned great work environment.

    Advice to Management

    I wouldn't change a thing about the management. This is the first job I've ever had where I would say that. Keep doing what you're doing!

    Oneupweb2017-10-06
Found 37 reviews