KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

PALIO

Is this your company?

PALIO

Add a Review

PALIO Reviews

Updated Oct 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 41 of over 43 reviews

3.0
48%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
PALIO President Kim Johnson (no image)
Kim Johnson
4 Ratings

The latest conversations about Advertising

Join the conversation on

Advertising

4m

works at 

Publicis Health

I recently received an offer from iProspect (part of Dentsu) I’ve heard ups and downs about this company. I currently work for a great company and not sure if I should leave. The new opportunity pays a lot more than I currently make. Does anyone have any advice about this company and whether I should take the job or not?

24

18 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great people(in 11 reviews)
  • "+Great team, very supportive of each other and of clients(in 3 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Leadership

    Jun 27, 2016 -  in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This company has made fantastic strides in the right direction under the leadership of Kim Johnson and her senior team. Ineffective, dead weight, legacy employees have, for the most part been removed and new energy has been brought in. This place is a great place to work!!!

    Cons

    Having to deal with the legacy negatives that all the old employees and leaders have been putting into the market against Palio.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Eh

    Oct 19, 2021 - Manager in Annapolis, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent people in management and ownership

    Cons

    Didn't listen to on the ground managers.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Good Italian Food

    Mar 3, 2021 - Food Server in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good people and a great place to work

    Cons

    sometimes understaffed but the food is good

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great people, corporately driven

    Oct 26, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great creative team, I thoroughly enjoyed concepting with my team

    Cons

    Your billable hours are equal to, if not more important than the quality of work

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great, small healthcare agency

    Apr 19, 2016 - Vice President, Associate Creative Director in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people - very smart, motivated and progressive. The agency, atmosphere and work are getting better each and every day. The team is very open to new ideas and to making change for the better. A great place for younger people to get experience and to be part of the action, involved in meetings and conversations they would never be invited to at a larger agency. Agency is making an investment in new training opportunities and developing talent, so that has been a good show of their commitment to growth and development

    Cons

    Some processes and procedures need work, but they are getting better...way better than where things were at this time 1 or 2 years ago. inVentiv network makes things tough sometimes, but again, things are getting better

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Want the truth?...read this review

    Jun 28, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are a handful of talented, good people. Unfortunately for them, the company is led by someone who is neither.

    Cons

    Indisputable facts: Since the President (KJ) took the helm of Palio, the agency has: Closed two once viable, thriving offices, laying off scores of talented people, after lying to them repeatedly regarding her intent Experienced client attrition at an unprecedented rate (won and lost business within 6 months) Experienced a dramatic rise in employee turnover (hovering at 50%) If those FACTS were not enough, you should know the following about Kim: She lacks any personal accountability for the agency's struggles She uses personal relationships to keep her job - which is incomprehensible given the business results and investigations conducted at both Palio and Cement Bloc (previous employer) regarding potential improprieties She has no heart, no soul and no conscience. To say a wolf in sheep's clothing might be a compliment. She will save herself at the expense of anyone else (with the possible exception of Michael Austin) personally attacking employees at will.

    Continue reading
    22 people found this review helpful

    PALIO Response

    Talent Management

    I’m sorry to hear about your experience at the Agency. In your one year at Palio, the Company has gone through changes with the Headquarters moving to New York. Palio’s focus has been on revitalizing the strategy of the Company which involves a more integrated approach with the rest of inVentiv. These changes have allowed us to focus on closer client interaction and more new business wins. Even with all these changes, our turnover rate is less than half of what you stated. As our strategy is continued to be put in place, we believe our turnover rate will be reduced even more. We in HR take employee concerns very seriously and we encourage employees to approach HR with any issues and concerns. We wish you the best of luck in your career and future endeavors.

  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Great at first but went downhill after corporate buyout and merger.

    Jun 12, 2014 - Interactive Developer in Irvine, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people, creative environment, leadership was supportive, and overall what made Ignite successful was the forward and innovative thinking about presenting ideas and ways of operation and that would eventually become fantastic product.

    Cons

    Leadership took a dive, and not much personal growth. Went away from what made the company so successful in the first place - forward thinking and experimenting with new methods and encouraging in-house creativeness rather than cutting corners and outsourcing work. Corporate wasn't too interested in promoting their creatives, and the shuffling corporate leadership eventually pulled the company apart.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Onwards and upwards

    May 14, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great opportunities for visibility for junior team members due to the small and open environment. Senior leadership is accessible and genuinely interested in listening to everyone in the team and improving areas of concern. Great hours for an NYC ad shop, hardly any late nights or weekends. Fun talented people who genuinely enjoy working together.

    Cons

    A great deal of necessary change over the past few years has led to a lot of ups and downs and sour grapes from past employees. However the roadmap is in place to keep building now and things are improving.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Driven

    Aug 21, 2014 - Art Director in Saratoga Springs, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people are the best thing about Palio+Ignite. So many talented and wonderful individuals. Summer Fridays are wonderful! The work is really impactful and often times we had amazing clients that allowed us to deliver and create amazing work.

    Cons

    Leadership was good, but the company as a whole was often slow to change, lack of transparency around business decisions and changes as a whole to the organization, left many people confused and angry. Compensation was low and promotions few and far between.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    On our way to greatness

    Apr 25, 2016 - Vice President, Associate Creative Director in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    One of the greatest things about working here is the transparency and accessibility of the senior leadership team. We have regular all-agency meetings where they keep everyone informed about how we're doing as a company, what our goals are, and guidance on how we're going to achieve them. There's definitely a "can do" spirit here, and it's nice to know that our goals are supported by the people who can make them happen. Overall, it's a great place to work.

    Cons

    Open floor plan and limited office space makes it hard to have quiet meetings. But that's pretty much across the board these days...

    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 41 Reviews

PALIO Reviews FAQs

PALIO has an overall rating of 3.0 out of 5, based on over 43 reviews left anonymously by employees. 48% of employees would recommend working at PALIO to a friend and 35% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, PALIO employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.3 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at PALIO. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

48% of PALIO employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated PALIO 3.0 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.2 for culture and values and 2.8 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at PALIO to be culture, career development, coworkers and the cons to be work life balance, management, senior leadership.

Popular Careers with PALIO Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at PALIO? Share Your Experiences

or

PALIO Photos

+ Add Photo
PALIO photo of: Awards we won over the years
PALIO photo of: Palio
PALIO photo of: Halloween party fun @ the office
PALIO photo of: We love our team!
PALIO photo of: Office fun
PALIO photo of: Palio office space
PALIO photo of: Fun
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

inVentiv Health, Inc.
See all affiliated companies