Ryerson Reviews | Glassdoor

Ryerson Reviews

Updated August 22, 2018
169 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Ryerson President/CEO Edward Lehner
Edward Lehner
36 Ratings

169 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Ryerson is a progressive company that has many opportunities for advancement" (in 9 reviews)

  • "Great people and atmosphere, learned a lot about the company and industry" (in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Expect upper management to be rude and passive aggressive" (in 8 reviews)

  • "It takes a lot for the Inside Sales Manager to interact with his employees; don't expect to have much interaction with management at all" (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Inside Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    I have been working at Ryerson full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good people, especially ones that are willing to help you. Training opportunities offered to help you grow your knowledge. Staff is nice., and opportunities to make good money.

    Cons

    Limited vacation when you first start. Not very flexible on hours.

    Ryerson Response

    Aug 9, 2018 – HR Coordinator

    We appreciate your feedback!


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Bad Time to work for Ryerson"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Ryerson (More than a year)

    Pros

    I had a wonderful boss myself, and the people are great.

    Cons

    They cut pretty much everything that made Ryerson a fun place to work and it really hurt morale.

    Ryerson Response

    Aug 28, 2018 – HR Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We’d like to learn more so we can address the situation. Please email us at careers@ryerson.com if you’d like to share more.

  3. "Good Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ryerson full-time

    Pros

    Pay, benefits, and the people.

    Cons

    Structure and amount of work

    Ryerson Response

    Aug 9, 2018 – HR Coordinator

    We’re glad you shared your experience!


  4. "Inside Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ryerson full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities for advancement. Great culture around the company. You get rewarded for making money. The company doesn't mind spending money for training, catered lunches, customer and employee entertainment, etc. Lots of perks outside of just a paycheck

    Cons

    You can move up quickly but you have to be willing to move. If you don't want to move, you are in competition with everyone at the local level and you are subject to seniority rules.

    Ryerson Response

    Aug 9, 2018 – HR Coordinator

    Thanks for sharing your experience . Please email us at careers@ryerson.com if you’d like to share more!


  5. "Inside Sales Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ryerson full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Positive working environment. A lot of resources to help you be successful. Work flow is never boring.

    Cons

    Sales can be tricky and costumers sometimes are rude.

    Ryerson Response

    Aug 9, 2018 – HR Coordinator

    Thanks for sharing your feedback!


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Outside Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ryerson full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Ability to set your own schedule. The company as a whole has high aspirations, which makes you feel that you are working towards a common goal. Generally, the people within the company are easy to work with and will assist with questions/needs. There is a lot of room for advancement opportunity, but you can virtually guarantee having to relocate to do so.

    Cons

    Extremely long hours. Commission, even with hard work, can be hard to come by if the market isn't in your favor. There is a lot of inside sales turnover, making it frustrating due to having to adapt to new faces to those who assist the accounts you call on and manage.

    Ryerson Response

    Jun 4, 2018 – HR Coordinator

    Thanks for providing your feedback. Please email us at careers@ryerson.com if you’d like to share more!


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Stuck in the 1970s"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supply Chain in Deerfield, IL
    Former Employee - Supply Chain in Deerfield, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ryerson full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Not much good to say

    Cons

    - boys club
    - outdated policies
    -culture is terrible
    -“a reading from the book of ‘yes’” felt like a cult

  8. Helpful (1)

    "RUN!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ryerson full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great co workers, health insurance

    Cons

    Major lack of training unless you go through the academy. Micromanaging bosses, lack of direction... Plans change daily what's right one day is wrong the next day. Vacation policy isn't good. Pay is way below average for the field. Lack of feeling valued unless your in sales you rank at the bottom. No room for advancement. Alot of favoritism.

    Ryerson Response

    Jun 4, 2018 – HR Coordinator

    Thanks for providing your feedback. We are constantly evaluating our employee compensation and benefits packages so we are an attractive choice for jobseekers. We are sorry to hear you didn’t have a... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Inside Sales Representatives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ryerson full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Current CEO is great, culture is good, and they have facilities nationwide.

    Cons

    Employees' salaries are typically below the industry average. There isn't much training outside of the bare minimum. Company runs very lean on the sales team. Hard to advance unless you are willing to move. Some management have questionable morals and values.

    Ryerson Response

    Jun 4, 2018 – HR Coordinator

    We appreciate your feedback. Please feel free to email us at careers@ryerson.com if you’d like to share more!


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Ryerson Academy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ryerson full-time

    Pros

    Great entry level experience in sales.

    Cons

    You have to sign a 2-year contract. They are very expensive to get out of.

    Ryerson Response

    Jun 4, 2018 – HR Coordinator

    Thank you for posting your feedback. We do ask participants in our immersive training program to sign an agreement that will help offset some of the housing and travel expenses Ryerson covers should... More


Showing 169 of 188 reviews
Reset Filters