Ryerson Reviews | Glassdoor

Ryerson Reviews

Updated June 3, 2018
164 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Ryerson President/CEO Edward Lehner
Edward Lehner
33 Ratings

164 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Expect upper management to be rude and passive aggressive" (in 8 reviews)

  • "It takes a lot for the Inside Sales Manager to interact with his employees; don't expect to have much interaction with management at all" (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (2)

    "Oustside Sales Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ryerson full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    The company is willing to meet you half way with your career aspirations. Growing age of work force means several opportunities for younger employees to grow and succeed. I have only ever experienced an open door policy, and coworkers from the truck drivers to the senior management group are willing to answer questions.

    Cons

    Working in a business centered around buying and selling commodities can be challenging when prices go up or down. Some branches seem disjointed with others.

    Ryerson Response

    Mar 19, 2018 – HR Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your experience!


  2. "Outside Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ryerson full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Ability to set your own schedule. The company as a whole has high aspirations, which makes you feel that you are working towards a common goal. Generally, the people within the company are easy to work with and will assist with questions/needs. There is a lot of room for advancement opportunity, but you can virtually guarantee having to relocate to do so.

    Cons

    Extremely long hours. Commission, even with hard work, can be hard to come by if the market isn't in your favor. There is a lot of inside sales turnover, making it frustrating due to having to adapt to new faces to those who assist the accounts you call on and manage.

    Ryerson Response

    Jun 4, 2018 – HR Coordinator

    Thanks for providing your feedback. Please email us at careers@ryerson.com if you’d like to share more!

  3. "Stuck in the 1970s"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supply Chain in Deerfield, IL
    Former Employee - Supply Chain in Deerfield, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ryerson full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Not much good to say

    Cons

    - boys club
    - outdated policies
    -culture is terrible
    -“a reading from the book of ‘yes’” felt like a cult


  4. "RUN!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ryerson full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great co workers, health insurance

    Cons

    Major lack of training unless you go through the academy. Micromanaging bosses, lack of direction... Plans change daily what's right one day is wrong the next day. Vacation policy isn't good. Pay is way below average for the field. Lack of feeling valued unless your in sales you rank at the bottom. No room for advancement. Alot of favoritism.

    Ryerson Response

    Jun 4, 2018 – HR Coordinator

    Thanks for providing your feedback. We are constantly evaluating our employee compensation and benefits packages so we are an attractive choice for jobseekers. We are sorry to hear you didn’t have a... More


  5. "Inside Sales Representatives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ryerson full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Current CEO is great, culture is good, and they have facilities nationwide.

    Cons

    Employees' salaries are typically below the industry average. There isn't much training outside of the bare minimum. Company runs very lean on the sales team. Hard to advance unless you are willing to move. Some management have questionable morals and values.

    Ryerson Response

    Jun 4, 2018 – HR Coordinator

    We appreciate your feedback. Please feel free to email us at careers@ryerson.com if you’d like to share more!


  6. "Ryerson Academy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ryerson full-time

    Pros

    Great entry level experience in sales.

    Cons

    You have to sign a 2-year contract. They are very expensive to get out of.

    Ryerson Response

    Jun 4, 2018 – HR Coordinator

    Thank you for posting your feedback. We do ask participants in our immersive training program to sign an agreement that will help offset some of the housing and travel expenses Ryerson covers should... More


  7. "Not bad, but not necessarily good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ryerson full-time

    Pros

    Offices located nationwide
    Bonuses are based on office performance

    Cons

    Company is old
    Not a lot of space for movement up
    Says they promote from within but actually hire from the outside all the time for higher positions/new positions opening up.

    Advice to Management

    Even though you continue initiatives to bring in a younger, newer employees, you do very little to ensure they stick around. With a significant portion of the labor force about to retire, I would take a look at the reasons why your younger employees are leaving before you have no employees

    Ryerson Response

    Apr 16, 2018 – HR Coordinator

    Thanks for sharing your feedback. We strive to create an environment where employees at all levels are excited to work and grow their careers, but there is always room for improvement. Please email... More

  8. "Powerful past and promising future!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Support in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ryerson full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Ryerson is a company that has a powerful legacy; 175 years in business! The organization was built on the premise of hard work, strong service and an entrepreneurial spirit. If you want opportunity, there is plenty of it as the company continues to evolve. This company is not afraid to admit where we have gaps but then gives its employees the opportunity to be part of addressing the gaps. I am proud to work at a company where you can interact with all levels of the organization. It is a roll up your sleeves culture! Ryerson is a company where you can access the CEO or senior leaders easily. Ryerson also has locations everywhere so opportunities are far reaching if you are open to making a move!

    Cons

    There is a legacy culture that is evolving; you have to be patient as some changes don't happen quickly.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to communicate; so many good things are happening in the company! Although it is a challenge to connect everyone, keep up the communication!


  9. "Full time employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ryerson full-time

    Pros

    Training is a priority and most employees have been here for many years. There can be many opportunities to move up if willing to relocate.

    Cons

    The culture of the company is definitely very traditional. Young professionals looking for a flexible work schedule or a progressive company may be disappointed.

    Ryerson Response

    Mar 1, 2018 – HR Coordinator

    Thanks for sharing your feedback.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Outside sales representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ryerson full-time

    Pros

    Work/personal life balance. Freedom to grow and be in charge of your own success. Treated like family rather than just a body to fill a open position.

    Cons

    No cons that I can think of

    Advice to Management

    Keep on doing what your doing


Showing 164 of 180 reviews
Reset Filters