Ryerson Reviews | Glassdoor

Ryerson Reviews

Updated Aug 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 188 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Ryerson CEO Edward Lehner
Edward Lehner
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work/life balance is always a plus(in 16 reviews)

  • "Great people and atmosphere, learned a lot about the company and industry(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Expect upper management to be rude and passive aggressive(in 9 reviews)

  • "Owned by a private equity company (Platinum Equity) that only wants to auction this dog of a company at a profit(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Financial Planning & Analysis Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FP&A Intern in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ryerson full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You are exposed to a lot of high-level financial information, with tons of data access. You are also given the opportunity to take on as many projects as you would like, and are given the change to collaborate with others in the department. Everyone is also very open to questions, and are willing to help.

    Cons

    First few weeks are slow, but the pace picks up fast

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up

    Ryerson2019-05-01

    Ryerson Response

    July 31, 2019HR Coordinator

    Thanks for sharing your experience with others!

  2. "Former Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Laborer in Newark, DE
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Ryerson full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Never shortage of hours, Room for raises, Great company benefits

    Cons

    Starting off as a temp, little room for advancement

    Ryerson2019-08-28

    Ryerson Response

    September 3, 2019HR Coordinator

    We greatly appreciate your feedback!

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Part of the machine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Cleveland, OH
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ryerson full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity if you play the game and network internally.

    Cons

    If you're just about doing your job, you won't be offered opportunities given to those who don't schmooze to the right people in order to be noticed.

    Advice to Management

    Realize your inside staff aren't clerks and hold the true account relationship.

    Ryerson2019-08-13

    Ryerson Response

    August 27, 2019HR Coordinator

    Thank you for the feedback. If you would like to share more, please do not hesitate to reach out. Please email us at careers@ryerson.com.

  4. "A job not a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Ryerson

    Pros

    Good environment great fellow coworkers

    Cons

    Poor management liars and don't care about their employees

    Advice to Management

    Be truthful

    Ryerson2019-07-15

    Ryerson Response

    July 31, 2019HR Coordinator

    We appreciate your feedback. Please feel free to email us at careers@ryerson.com if you’d like to share more!

  5. "Rollercoaster experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Ryerson

    Pros

    The pay and co workers make the job worth it.

    Cons

    Management doesn’t have structure nor communication, innovation is frowned upon at the Greensboro warehouse. After a while the pay isn’t worth the stress and abandonment that management causes!

    Advice to Management

    Less buddy system more accountability and more training for incoming employees. Consistency is warehouse managements most major problem and planning. Stop being soo last minute with everything!

    Ryerson2019-06-19
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Ryerson Credit Dept"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Credit Analyst in Little Rock, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ryerson full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary, bonus, management, cleanliness, dress code

    Cons

    Male oriented environment, no sick time, vacation, work/life balance, computer systems & processes

    Advice to Management

    More team building activities

    Ryerson2019-03-09

    Ryerson Response

    March 11, 2019HR Coordinator

    We appreciate your feedback. Please feel free to email us at careers@ryerson.com if you’d like to share more!

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Not recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Support in Eldridge, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Ryerson full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Most other employees are okay.

    Cons

    Not the best people in charge.

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to support general employees much better.

    Ryerson2019-04-02

    Ryerson Response

    April 3, 2019HR Coordinator

    We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. If you would like to share more, please email us at careers@ryerson.com.

  8. "Tax Intern for the Summer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Intern - Hourly 

    I have been working at Ryerson part-time

    Pros

    Very nice people, great job of getting interns involved with the company.

    Cons

    Not always enough work which made days boring.

    Ryerson2019-02-18

    Ryerson Response

    February 18, 2019HR Coordinator

    Thanks for providing your feedback. Please email us at careers@ryerson.com if you’d like to share more!

  9. "Overall Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Worker in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ryerson full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Room for advancement here for sure.

    Cons

    Corporate structure is alot to handle.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing the good work. Look at the lower guys for advancement.

    Ryerson2019-02-07

    Ryerson Response

    February 11, 2019HR Coordinator

    We appreciate your feedback!

  10. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ryerson full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been with Ryerson going on one year in outside sales with a previous background in the metals industry. This company has been one of the best I have worked for. Despite its size, everyone feels like and treats you like family. Managers truly care about you as an employee and a person. Not just direct managers but upper management as well. They are actively involved (including the CEO), communicating with... employees on the ground floor making sure they keep everyone actively engaged in company wide goals while making sure those employees understand the role they play in achieving these goals. Ryerson makes it very clear and reminds employees of their value and how they individually contribute to the bottom line. They actively ask what your desires are in regards to upward movement within the company and pay at or above industry standards. If you work hard for Ryerson, they will work hard for you. Still the best in the metals industry.

    Show More

    Cons

    No cons significant enough to mention.

    Ryerson2019-01-29

    Ryerson Response

    February 5, 2019HR Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your experience with others!

Found 188 reviews