STARS Reviews | Glassdoor

STARS Reviews

Updated Dec 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
73%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
STARS CEO Ginny Paulsen
Ginny Paulsen
3 Ratings
  1. "Wonderful Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Speech Language Pathologist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at STARS full-time

    Pros

    Excellent pay Frequent communication with management as well as other local STARs employees so being a contracted employee with a district is not isolating at all (even letters in the mail for all holidays) Tons of free therapy materials and resources CEU opportunities Friendly and courteous

    Cons

    None!

    STARS2019-12-04
  2. "Awesome Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Speech Language Pathologist in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at STARS full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    STARS cares about their employees and provides amazing benefits! They allow their therapist the opportunity to grow as professionals and make sure you have everything you need to be a great therapist

    Cons

    No cons at all!

    STARS2019-07-08
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Wonderful Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Speech Language Pathologist in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at STARS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Materials and licensing paid Caring owners Owners work hard to get employees placed where they want to be

    Cons

    May not stay at a site you enjoy from year to year Caseload and some things are out of their hands, however they always give awesome effort to support staff

    STARS2019-05-29
  5. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ

    I worked at STARS part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Helping people, friendly colleagues, good location and great training opportunities.

    Cons

    Heavy workload was quite stressful.

    STARS2018-04-25
  6. "Company with good pay, too many hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at STARS part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The starting pay rate is excellent! And paying per mile traveled and for training is awesome!

    Cons

    I was under the impression I'd work around 40hrs a week. it ended up being closer to 55hrs per week.

    Advice to Management

    Remember to keep in mind work-life balance.

    STARS2017-12-28
  7. "Team Player"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Team Player in Mount Laurel, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at STARS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great before the company dismantled

    Cons

    The company is being dismantled

    STARS2017-10-29
  8. "Great company, but you are still a contractor..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Special Education Teacher in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at STARS

    Pros

    Benefits Day 1 Higher teacher salaries than in school districts Interview & Hiring process was simple and painless Family company Generous longevity bonuses Holiday Parties $1000 professional development stipend Free CEU opportunities

    Cons

    They ask for everything back if you leave. I mean everything including the new hire manual... Who keeps those? No sick time, no paid time off. If you do take time off and don't have enough billable days/hours you lose money in the summer, even if those days off are due to an on the job injury. They mail you a lot of $1 store crap to make it seem like they are thinking about you. They often pay more to ship the... items to you then they spent on the actual contents. No retirement match. If you forget to turn in a time sheet twice in a school year they revoke your direct deposit for 4 pay periods. Time sheets are emailed by weekly and there is no reminders to send them in. You just have to remember. Pay days are by weekly on Wednesdays and without direct deposit you do not get your paycheck until the Friday or Saturday after payday. You work in a school district and it is up to the district to decide what to do with you. You are basically hired help.

    Show More
    STARS2017-05-04
  9. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Speech Pathologist in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends

    I worked at STARS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A great, supportive place to work. They take great care of their employees. There are many advantages to working for them.

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons. I really enjoyed working for STARS.

    STARS2016-06-01
  10. "manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at STARS

    Pros

    awesome job great staff to work with

    Cons

    none that i know of

    Advice to Management

    keep up the god job

    STARS2016-01-19
  11. "Volunteer Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I worked at STARS

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, helping others, very educational experience Allow a lot more autonomy and gives more responsibility that many other research institutes which provides for great exposure

    Cons

    Hard to get paid without having an advanced degree--but that is to be expected in the field. Sometimes little improvement can be discouraging

    Advice to Management

    More thorough training session for volunteers to help them understand all aspects of the studies would be beneficial; other than that-- great place to work and to be a part of a great cause

    STARS2015-05-14
Found 11 reviews