Scanbuy Reviews | Glassdoor

Scanbuy Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Chai Outmezguine
2 Ratings
  1. "Full Stack Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Stack Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scanbuy

    Pros

    - very good learning experience - Work with well experienced team - If you want to enhance your skills this is your right place.

    Cons

    - Less benefits for full - time and less chocolates lol

    Scanbuy2017-04-11
  2. "Good Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Scanbuy

    Pros

    Good team and excellent tech

    Cons

    poor leadership little direction from managers

    Scanbuy2016-09-28
  3. "Engineering team is great, always improving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mobile Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Scanbuy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to work with talented people (ex: ebay, amazon employees) and have the opportunity to develop great skills.

    Cons

    financial instability, lack of direction, work becomes a grind, boring, burnout

    Advice to Management

    Do you want to collect big data from a smaller user base? or grow your user base first and monetize from there? Focus on improving the performance and user experience of the app for a bit.

    Scanbuy2016-05-10
  4. "Awesome place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Scanbuy

    Pros

    Startup culture. Excellent place to learn tech skills and make a difference.

    Cons

    Work life balance is not good. Continuous cycle of deadlines and pivots leads to burn out.

    Scanbuy2016-01-08
  5. "Keeps getting worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Scanbuy full-time

    Pros

    Lots of freedom to make an impact. Good people, work hard and care about their work. Good benefits and solid pay.

    Cons

    The company has been through some dramatic ups and downs and the organization has an unclear purpose and direction. The culture has shifted and many people left the organization. High turnover and it's unclear how much longer can it keep going in its current state/business model.

    Advice to Management

    Be more transparent with your people and communicate more. We want to know what's going on.

    Scanbuy2015-07-10
  6. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scanbuy for more than a year

    Pros

    Unique mobile engagement platform that directly connects brands with their customers. Scanbuy offers coupons, targeting capabilities, big data analytics, push notifications and cross-selling and up-selling. Unbelievable number of customers with ad and media agencies and their brands.

    Cons

    Has an NFC and QR code solutions, needs to now get a customer for BLE.

    Advice to Management

    Keep going, have the courage to push forward exactly the way you are now.

    Scanbuy2015-04-22
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Not Super Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Database Administrator in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Scanbuy full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Ability to take on more responsibility beyond your job description, greater recognition for success, 100% telecommute, and decent salary and benefits.

    Cons

    The biggest con is whether or not the organization is going to survive another 6 months. A few months ago the company made some decisions that did not turn out to benefit the organization. In fact, these changes caused a sudden loss of cash. Thus, the company has been making a lot of drastic changes to cut costs. Layoffs have been the biggest one. I don't know the actual number, but I think that they have let go over...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I understand that the organizations is facing some serious financial issues, but I think that it is very important to make sure there is direction. From what I have seen, it seems like there is just a room full of chickens with their heads cutoff.

    Scanbuy2014-12-05
  8. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Scanbuy (Less than a year)

    Pros

    You learn a lot about mobile, you receive a reasonable hourly pay and travel stipend, they have company lunches and outings occasionally. The space is nice and the people are somewhat friendly. But very hardworking and ambitious.

    Cons

    Lack of organization, people are rude and inconsiderate of your time or what your working on. Everyone has an opinion and don't care on sharing it even without your approval. People cuss in the office and speak poorly at times about the business. Lack of financial security and as an intern you almost never get promoted unless your "liked." It doesn't seem to have anything to do with work ethic. And be prepared to do loads...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat you employees better and maybe they'd stay. Also be more organized something always isn't working. And not because someone is an intern means you can talk and treat them anyway. You need to work on the company culture as well. Things are way too relaxed and unstructured and I don't understand why your a "leader" and you guys don't have money.

    Scanbuy2014-11-03
  9. "Good to work but dont stay more than a year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development - Sales in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Scanbuy full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    nice culture, values, flexiblity

    Cons

    not much growth in any aspect

    Scanbuy2014-02-13
  10. "An engineering paradise!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Overhead in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Scanbuy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * creative environment * collegiate atmosphere * employee input valued & needed

    Cons

    * lack of financial stability

    Scanbuy2012-09-04
Found 10 reviews