Schawk Reviews | Glassdoor

Schawk Reviews

Updated Mar 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
39%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
Schawk President David Schawk (no image)
David Schawk
13 Ratings
Pros
  • "There are some great people there that want to help you grow(in 15 reviews)

  • "Nice people, professional work environment(in 10 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Accounting Administrator in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Schawk full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The culture of the company is great and everyone I worked with was amazing.

    Cons

    No any cons from me

    Schawk2020-03-02
  2. "Employment review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Account Manager 

    I worked at Schawk full-time

    Pros

    Cool agency environment Opportunity to work with great clients

    Cons

    Not a very competitive salary Mergers and acquisitions that result in lay offs

    Schawk2020-02-20
  3. "Enjoyed my time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Packaging Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Schawk full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots to do and never a dull moment.

    Cons

    Internal company teams were more difficult to work with than with client and supplier and printers. Very disappointing and unncessary.

    Continue reading
    Schawk2020-02-19
  4. "Very corporate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Artist in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends

    I have been working at Schawk full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -flexibility in daily schedule -management is understanding and nice

    Cons

    -nothing gets done quickly because the corporate pushback is ridiculous

    Schawk2019-12-24
  5. "It was nice while it lasted!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Control Proofreader in Redmond, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Schawk part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people, professional work environment. Flexible.

    Cons

    Not enough work to keep me coming in.

    Continue reading
    Schawk2019-11-28
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Unethical Behavior"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Schawk full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people at many locations. Very talented professionals.

    Cons

    Unethical business practices by Senior HR personnel and Top Management. Disciplinary policies and procedures not followed. Employment contract terms arbitrarily changed to save money. Unable to perform for the stockholders. Overstated sales forecasts that cannot be hit resulting in missing the plan year over year. Loyal employees jobs are being let go continuously. No job security at any level. A sinking ship that cannot be saved.

    Continue reading
    Schawk2019-09-10
  7. Helpful (2)

    "It's a J-O-B"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Control Technician in Redmond, WA

    I have been working at Schawk full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The work is easy and the managers are extremely laid back. Zero pressure and zero stress, which is actually a very nice thing. If you can't work, need to leave, need to do anything, you're free to go. They seem very accomodating & flexible in the Redmond business unit. Co-workers are cool. Office enviroment is laid super chill.

    Cons

    You can tell they are being pressured by corporate to cut costs. It shows around the office. We're using dated equipment, 90% of the computers here are old and slow. Not sure if janitors are coming by the facility anymore because things seem like they could be cleaned up a bit. No raises. Seems sort of like a sweatshop for print files - try to pump out as much volume as possible. Workers slowly begin to get spread thin - they want everyone to be able to perform as many duties as possible in other areas and for other clients. No perks really except free coffee, wooohoo! It's a job but I don't see how it's possible to move up within the company, at least at this location. From my talks with other coworkers it seems as though all hourly employees get paid the same, regardless if they have been there 1 year or 20 years, which I honestly find very hard to believe but sounds sad if true.

    Continue reading
    Schawk2019-05-31
  8. Helpful (2)

    "poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Schawk full-time

    Pros

    it's a job if you are desperate.

    Cons

    No respect, a class system

    Schawk2019-03-12
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Stockholder submissive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Client Service Coordinator in Battle Creek, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Schawk for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great Co-workers & team work amongst workforce.

    Cons

    Poor leadership from management. 'Do what I say, not what is the best course of action' mantra.

    Continue reading
    Schawk2019-01-24
  10. Helpful (9)

    "Place was laughably in shambles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Accountant in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Schawk for less than a year

    Pros

    Free Coffee Cheap Loose Cigarettes from the scary characters on the corner

    Cons

    They closed the parking lot first. Too cheap to even heat the giant, ghetto-located warehouse where we worked and they photographed models. Place was too slow to "go digital" and thus was swirling the drain. Bought for pennies on the dollar. Typical case study on exactly what not to do in business. They had IT people sorting clothing, etc. Anyone with any skills were leaving in droves.

    Continue reading
    Schawk2019-01-07
Found 182 reviews