Science Museum Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Science Museum Group Reviews

Updated Jul 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 40 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Science Museum Group CEO Ian Blatchford
Ian Blatchford
13 Ratings
  1. "it was a great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Science Museum Group

    Pros

    I was having a good time

    Cons

    i had a good time

    Science Museum Group2014-01-16
  2. "Stimulating and delightful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Explainer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Science Museum Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Privilege of working in such an exhilarating location Wonderful upbeat atmosphere - both the visitors and the employees Good career stepping-stone

    Cons

    Wages are relatively low at the bottom end

    Science Museum Group2019-07-29
  3. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Visitor Fundraiser 

    I have been working at Science Museum Group part-time

    Pros

    Good pay , and also good benefits

    Cons

    Very repetitive, no variety in responsibilities

    Science Museum Group2019-06-27
  4. "Many factions at the senior level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Science Museum Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great reputation. Interesting projects and exhibitions.

    Cons

    In fighting at the group executives level. Lack of accountability. Silo working.

    Science Museum Group2019-07-28
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ICT Software Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Science Museum Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Training, exposure to new technologies and very good management. Work-life balance is also great.

    Cons

    Salary is not competitive in general, especially in technical areas.

    Science Museum Group2019-06-18
  6. "Learning and Development Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Science Museum Group full-time

    Pros

    Learning focused Family orientated Opportunity to impact multiple sites

    Cons

    Sometimes teams would work in silos.

    Advice to Management

    Do more coaching from the top down.

    Science Museum Group2019-05-10
  7. "Great as a part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Science Museum Group part-time

    Pros

    Management are very relaxed, yet firm. The staff are very friendly and happy to give support.

    Cons

    Maps weren't updated when galleries were moved or closed, which meant staff had to know the museum inside and out to allow guests to get to where they wanted to go. This was an inconveniences for guests who needed to use lifts.

    Advice to Management

    Have more opportunities to work on product knowledge, so staff are better to answer visitor enquiries on the galleries. Get rid of paper maps and instead have interactive ones which can be updates whenever a gallery closes down. Charge visitors for maps like other museums in the area to deter visitors from accumulating too much wastage from discarded maps. Have staff or signage notifying visitors of broken lifts etc.

    Science Museum Group2019-05-03
  8. "An interesting place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Science Museum Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Exciting organisation to work for, always something happening. Friendly atmosphere and a great community spirit.

    Cons

    I don't feel management value their staff enough. Seems to be a high turnover. Pay is on the low side which means talented people leave.

    Advice to Management

    Invest more in your staff.

    Science Museum Group2019-04-11
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Fun work :) , terrible employer :("

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Science Museum Group full-time

    Pros

    Projects are varied and interesting Colleagues are talented, friendly, passionate and hard-working Opportunities to be involved in a wide range of additional activities

    Cons

    Shamefully low pay Senior management interference in projects Lack of communication across departments Almost all departments are understaffed

    Science Museum Group2019-04-03
  10. "Science Museum Group"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Science Museum Group full-time

    Pros

    An inspiring place to work with big ambitions and the opportunity to really make a difference.

    Cons

    Slow paced and sometimes lacking clear direction.

    Science Museum Group2019-02-04
Found 40 reviews