ShopperLocal Reviews | Glassdoor

ShopperLocal Reviews

Updated December 31, 2016
55 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.1
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Scott Hall
32 Ratings

55 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • You don't have to be amazing, just open minded and follow the system they provide for you and train you with (in 3 reviews)

  • They'll hire anyone, so it's a great place to get sales experience (in 2 reviews)

Cons
  • upper management is archaic in there belief system (in 3 reviews)

  • They could not distinguish how to use the words their and there (in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Marketing Consultant"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Local Marketing Consultant in Charleston, SC
    Current Employee - Local Marketing Consultant in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at ShopperLocal full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Ability to make an above average income...1st year 80k plus, 100k plus the next and beyond. Of course this is without a complacent attitude! We must be peristent and open minded to coaching(learning and changing when necessary) to make our skill sets and income better. We have the opportunity to self manage if in fact our results dictate that privilege .

    Cons

    I can not think of any at this time except we are a newer company and I would love to see some kind of company match on the 401k.

    Advice to Management

    Love you all and let's grow into more states and offer this awesome opportunity to others!


  2. "Sales Rep"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ShopperLocal full-time

    Pros

    Good co-workers.Friendly and willing to help. Morning conference calls could be helpful too- motivational, good ideas, keep one focused.

    Cons

    Poor product. High pressure. 100 phone calls a day.Alot of travel/overnites.

    Advice to Management

    None

    ShopperLocal Response

    Jan 26, 2017 – Project Coordinator

    We are sorry to hear that you had difficulty with job pressure but immensely pleased as well to know that you had a great work environment. Our products are extremely useful to many businesses as ... More


  3. "No way"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative
    Former Employee - Sales Representative
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ShopperLocal full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    You can make uncapped commission.

    Cons

    Employees and clients are merely numbers. Extremely high turnover. Recruiters saying you can make 75k but really it's more like 40k.

    Advice to Management

    Tell the truth. Take better care of employees.

    ShopperLocal Response

    Jan 26, 2017 – Project Coordinator

    We are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at ShopperLocal. The statistics that we give out are based on data of everyone in our sales team, not just a limited sampling. Over the years we ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Local Marketing Consultant / RTN"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Local Marketing Consultant in Farmington, NY
    Current Employee - Local Marketing Consultant in Farmington, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at ShopperLocal (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good marketing and good concept.

    Cons

    SMB market has a very low (less than 25%) of renewing.

    Advice to Management

    Have two programs. (1) Current base plus commission. (2) Straight commission.

    ShopperLocal Response

    Aug 22, 2016 – Project Coordinator

    We are sorry to hear that it was not a good experience for you at ShopperLocal. We do understand that SMB markets are more challenging and this is precisely why they are more rewarding. We take ... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Overview"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Durham, NC
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Durham, NC

    I worked at ShopperLocal (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    They allow you to take on as much responsibility as you can handle.

    Cons

    Very little direction from management.


  7. "What a Joke - A Black Turtleneck Doesn't Make you Steve Jobs"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Manager in The Barrows, SC
    Former Employee - Regional Manager in The Barrows, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    the only pro was the little bit of travelling for training and the highly inept managers who let you slide while applying for other jobs. I would bet every former employee here did the exact same things...

    Cons

    The owner/CEO or whatever thought wearing the same black turtleneck every day made him some Steve Jobs, but it didn't. He might have graduated from Yale but I was not impressed. Everyone was so scared to use his "private" bathroom which was in the front lobby of the building, and it was almost cult like how they followed him around. The main managers didn't know the difference between "thier" and "there" or "four" or "for". Not to bright. Plus, the programs DONT WORK and NO CUSTOMER LEAVES HAPPY

    Advice to Management

    burn the whole thing down and open a lemonade stand. God knows there are enough lemons in that place

    ShopperLocal Response

    Feb 11, 2016 – Project Coordinator

    We are sorry to hear that it was not a good experience for you at ShopperLocal. We understand that not every organization suits every individual. We have an immensely rigorous process for hiring new ... More


  8. Helpful (5)

    "Recruiter"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ShopperLocal full-time

    Pros

    Honestly, the work place was so negative it was hard to perform daily tasks. Zero pros!

    Cons

    Working for shopper local was an absolute nightmare. The entire time I worked for this company they were inconsistent, dis honest and down right cooperate bullies.

    Advice to Management

    There is no salvaging this company. Just steer clear and realize every opportunity isn't a good opportunity.

    ShopperLocal Response

    Jan 7, 2016 – Project Coordinator

    We are sorry to hear that it was not a good experience for you at ShopperLocal. Our work culture has evolved over decades, so it is something that we show immense pride in. Rest assured that we ... More


  9. "Good place to get started"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ShopperLocal full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Taught me how to deal with putting out fires quickly. You deal with a huge range of personality types, so you get comfortable working with all sorts of people *fast*.

    Cons

    I left a while ago, so it would be unfair to list some of the issues at the time I was employed as they could very well have been fixed by now. One con was the health benefits (cigna at the time), which didn't cover much and would have been way too expensive to add any family members to.

    Advice to Management

    Always keep the lines of communication open; never let anyone fear that their job is at stake if they speak up about a concern of theirs.


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Simple process, Great product...independent work with support"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales
    Current Employee - Sales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at ShopperLocal full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The product is a fit for the right buyer and that is what we do is find the right buyer. Great true sales position where NO ONE gets in your way. Company is very open to listening and making changes to keep up with growing sales and team. Always someone there to help if you need it!

    Cons

    Cannot think of any-- doing their best to keep up with alot of growth is a challenge but a great issue to have!

    Advice to Management

    Continue to have an open mind and listen to the team!


  11. Helpful (1)

    "Account Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ShopperLocal full-time

    Pros

    Great if you are a self starter. Support if you need it.

    Cons

    Change in management. They promoted someone to management who seemed like that they did not even graduate 9th grade English. They could not distinguish how to use the words their and there. Management has nothing else to do but to bother you on off hours when it is family time.

    Advice to Management

    Control your managers and giving them management training. Bring back the comp plan that pays you for what you sell. Get rid of the current plan that only pays you IF you get to a certain level.

    ShopperLocal Response

    Sep 14, 2015 – Project Coordinator

    We are sorry to hear that it was not a good experience for you at ShopperLocal. We follow a very stringent process for hiring at every level and make sure that only the most qualified people may ... More



Showing 55 of 55 reviews
Reset Filters