Sundt Reviews | Glassdoor

Sundt Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 132 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Mike Hoover
54 Ratings
Pros
  • "ESOP - Employee Owned company, makes what you are trying to build worth something(in 23 reviews)

  • "Family environment, ESOP, Great Benefits(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work long hours, but that’s just the industry(in 7 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Retirement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Administrator in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sundt full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The retirement and benefits package is outstanding being an employee owned company.

    Cons

    Having a mentor and being new to the company would be an asset to both the employee and Sundt.

    Sundt2019-04-10
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Administrator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sundt full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Learning Department Courses Excellent Benefits On-Site Certifications Revamped Marketing Great communication across the board

    Cons

    Does not focus on "Aces in their places" No room to grow if you are not a PE / PM or in the corporate office Practice what you preach

    Advice to Management

    Get to know your employees, their forte's and move them up instead of bringing in more workforce. This will help morale, ESOP being watsed on turnover and create a happer environment to thrive and want to stay in. Rebranding should come with more exciting opportunity for employee owners and potential new comers aside from prettier logos. This will help with retention from field, to job site office, to corporate office....

    Show More
    Sundt2019-02-05
  3. "Amazing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Engineer in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sundt full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The ESOP benefit is much better than any 401K I've seen. The divisional leadership truly inspires you to take ownership and leadership in the project and company. The seasoned veterans of the company are truly involved in fostering growth and development with the younger generation. BIM Division is on the cutting edge of some amazing technologies. It's a company that's growing and pursuing markets strategically.

    Cons

    1.Health insurance is HORRID given the ridiculous deductibles. 2. Construction naturally lends itself to big egos & mouths, & old dogs that refuse to learn new tricks. It doesn't matter which Big GC company you work for, they ALL have them. Sundt isn't immune to this phenomenon.

    Advice to Management

    Keep communicating with your division. Keep investing in safety, new technologies, and professional development.

    Sundt2019-02-05
  4. "Worst company ive ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operator in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sundt full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Federal pay on the job i was on

    Cons

    Horrible managment Way to many long days working 15+ everyday of the week. Supervisors love physically hitting employees, talking down on employees and other while they are not around.

    Advice to Management

    Get new management for slc.

    Sundt2019-03-12
  5. "Hypocritical work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Engineer in Sacramento, CA

    I worked at Sundt full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Early starts, Consistent work & overtime

    Cons

    Non union double standards no onsite safety guy/cpr certified on weekends

    Advice to Management

    Needs ethnic diversity

    Sundt2019-01-14
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Development in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sundt full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great ESOP (Google it if you don't know the acronym); work-life balance; competitive pay; from top to bottom, feels like a team working toward a common goal.

    Cons

    Speaking only for IT (no experience in other departments), nothing significant - any cons I mentioned would only sound like I was spoiled (I have worked for many, many companies and I have never worked for a better company).

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up.

    Sundt2018-11-27
  7. "Unforgiving hours and management organizational nightmare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sundt full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is decent, and teams are strong

    Cons

    Management, organization, technology resources are awful, benefits are the worst ever experienced.

    Advice to Management

    Needs organization and increase in technology budget to make any sort of actual positive change.

    Sundt2018-12-08
  8. "Project Superintendant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sundt full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    ESOP company, established, growing, stable, multi divisional

    Cons

    Big sometimes not personal. Not all the divisions work closely together.

    Sundt2018-11-06
  9. "Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Engineer in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sundt full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture and the type of projects

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Sundt2018-11-06
  10. ""Wants to be a Big Dawg but still run like a Mom & Pop Shop!""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Superintendent in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sundt full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    ESOP, Growing, Compensation, and Benefits

    Cons

    No support, No answers, No field craft, Can't estimate, Non responsive to clients needs, No urgency, Too many people in leadership positions with thin skin to be in construction and if your not in with the right people when you get hired ...your out!

    Advice to Management

    Need to change the culture from re-active to pro-active. Need to dissolve the clicks and favoritism. The upper management for the group I'm currently working for shows way too much favoritism towards certain people and projects and totally disregards and disrespects the other people and projects regardless of their experience or success. They are willing to let those other projects fail or let those people on those projects...

    Show More
    Sundt2018-11-07
Found 132 reviews