TV One Reviews | Glassdoor

TV One Reviews

Updated November 7, 2018
33 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

2.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Alfred Liggins
19 Ratings

33 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. Helpful (1)

    "New Direction, New Possibilities!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at TV One full-time

    Pros

    We have new leadership and I am excited for the new possibilities at TV One. The new General Manager encourages teamwork and has a lot of experience in the industry. The GM is open to new ideas and I believe she will be a positive addition to TV One and it's culture. Excited to see the new changes that will develop over the coming years.

    Cons

    - Does not match 401k

    - Does not have an official telework policy as of today - I say official because there is not a policy against it but it there is also not a policy in place. Some employees do work remotely but it is dependent on the supervisor and circumstances.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to be open to feedback from employees to possibly implement new ideas and strategies.


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Too Many Snakes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Silver Spring, MD
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Silver Spring, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at TV One full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good location, outgoing co-workers, near Metro stop.

    Cons

    Low pay, poor benefits. Lots of gossip and back-stabbing. Untrustworthy people. Not current with TV best practices. Poor management. Cheap production values.

    Advice to Management

    Hire people who know what they are doing, and let them do what they're hired to do. Company acquires too much debt, leading to cutbacks in salary and pay and benefits. TV schedule keeps changing because you all are clueless as to what your viewers want to watch. Causes a lot of last minute work for everyone! Learn how to market to your viewers. Learn how to develop good programs. Stop changing the schedule every week, or at least hire someone who knows what they're doing.

    TV One Response

    Nov 9, 2018

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback! Our goal is to create a positive experience for all employees. We are open to hearing more about your experience. Email us at feedback@tvone.tv

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Most fun I’ve had working somewhere!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TV One full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Wonderful people in marketing, research and sales. They hire good people, but can’t seem to keep them and people are their best asset. They have a few solid shows, but need more to grow. You’ll learn a lot about the multicultural market, great experience and opportunity to meet a lot of clients and build relationships.

    Cons

    A lot of turnover. The owners don’t always make sound business decisions and hire friends that aren’t qualified. Company also has a huge debt load so they can’t afford to invest in original programming. Ratings are declining, it’s a difficult sell and their competitors are doing better. Different divisions have different benefits, such as flexible work schedules and other divisions don’t have that opportunity - it should be consistent for everyone. And, no 401K match!!! Need to do more team building activities and show more employee appreciation.

    TV One Response

    Sep 6, 2018

    Thank you for the feedback. We make conscious decisions about our compensation and benefit packages and are always looking for ways to improve.


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Misrepresented position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TV One full-time

    Pros

    Great office environment. Some of the nicest senior executives I’ve ever met. Many lunchtime events with food (a lot of parties). That keeps people happy and working.

    Cons

    Depends on what team you’re on. When I told my colleagues what company I was going to work for, they all groaned. When I told them what team, they said, “Well, maybe your experience will be different.” It wasn’t. They misrepresented the position. Recently heard from another former executive that misrepresenting jobs to new hires is common within their organization and she witnessed it many times. They said they made changes to the job during the interview process after they interviewed me but didn’t keep me informed. They also took almost a month to deliver the actual acceptance letter (via email). A lot of stuff goes unchecked and while the HR people say you can go to them, when you do, they do nothing about it. I was told by more than one employee to pray about it. I should not have to pray about unchecked management and off the rails departments.

    TV One Response

    Sep 6, 2018

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback! Our goal is to create a positive experience for all employees. We are open to hearing more about your experience. Email us at feedback@tvone.tv.


  5. Helpful (3)

    "Nice People - Zero Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Coordinator in Silver Spring, MD
    Former Employee - Production Coordinator in Silver Spring, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TV One full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I did learn quite a bit my first year there, in regards to my duties and taking on new duties. There are quite a few very nice people, easy to work beside.

    Cons

    After my first year, there was zero opportunities for upward mobility. Not a single pay raise, title change, or promotion in all the years I was there, and that was common amongst the employees. They put you in a box and leave you there, hoping you'll stay as long as possible for the least amount of money they can pay you. Company is very top heavy (VPs & Directors) and very bottom heavy (Coordinators) with no opportunities to at least be in the middle. Management is trash, HR is trash.

    Advice to Management

    Create opportunities for your employees to grow. Figure out how to manage!

    TV One Response

    Sep 6, 2018

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We advocate for our employees to develop professional skills and gain experience by touching multiple areas. Employees are encouraged to apply... More


  6. "Going places!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Silver Spring, MD
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Silver Spring, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TV One full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great people, great location, new GM.

    Cons

    Need to provide other benefits to offset monetary gaps. Telecommuting, compressed work week, free parking, etc.

    Advice to Management

    Your staff is watching and talking about you...make changes even if you have to go into the lion's den.

    TV One Response

    Sep 6, 2018

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback! Our goal is to create a positive experience for all employees. We are open to hearing more about your experience. Email us at feedback@tvone.tv.


  7. "Producer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TV One full-time

    Pros

    Great work enviornment. Work around talented people.

    Cons

    Not much cons when I was there.

    TV One Response

    Feb 22, 2018

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback! Our goal is to create a positive experience for all employees. We are open to hearing more about your experience. Email us at feedback@tvone.tv.

  8. "No Room For Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at TV One full-time

    Pros

    It's a family oriented company and their are good people that work here.

    Cons

    Poor leadership. Managers lack managerial skills. No match for 401K. No development plans for junior level employees. No investment in employee growth. Severely underpaid for the level of work that we do.

    TV One Response

    Feb 22, 2018

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We advocate for our employees to develop professional skills and gain experience by touching multiple areas. Employees are encouraged to apply... More


  9. "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at TV One full-time

    Pros

    Family oriented place of work

    Cons

    No growth opportunity for junior level staff

    Advice to Management

    There is a need to have a development plan for staff, most supervisors have terrible leadership skills

    TV One Response

    Feb 22, 2018

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. In a company of our size, TV One employees are able to develop their professional skills by touching multiple areas at once; allowing them to... More


  10. "It's Ok..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at TV One full-time

    Pros

    Fun environment with a relaxed atmosphere

    Cons

    Underpaid and understaffed makes the workload sometimes unbearable. Benefits could also be better.

    TV One Response

    Feb 22, 2018

    Thank you for the feedback. We make conscious decisions about our compensation and benefit packages and are always looking for ways to improve.


Showing 33 of 39 reviews
Reset Filters