Taproot Foundation Reviews | Glassdoor

Taproot Foundation Reviews

Updated Feb 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Taproot Foundation CEO Lindsay Firestone Gruber (no image)
Lindsay Firestone Gruber
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "Awesome clients, smart people, feels good to give back, fun office bonding, interesting work(in 6 reviews)

  • "Work is for non-profits who need help(in 6 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Strategy Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Strategy Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Taproot Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great experience, worth the time and value you put in.

    Cons

    I can not think of any!

    Advice to Management

    none

    Taproot Foundation2018-06-07
  2. "Some opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Taproot Foundation full-time

    Pros

    Growth is possible but mostly in Bay Area and NYC locations

    Cons

    Not focused enough on nonprofit needs, mostly serve corporate/Funders

    Taproot Foundation2019-02-24
  3. "Great culture, wonderful place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in San Francisco, CA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Taproot Foundation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Warm, friendly staff. Team is supportive and hard working.

    Cons

    Location is a con. Hard to find affordable housing options.

    Taproot Foundation2019-02-15
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Strong Values & Operational Challenges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Taproot Foundation full-time

    Pros

    Awesome clients, smart people, feels good to give back, fun office bonding, interesting work

    Cons

    High turnover, leadership lack management skills, no long term vision, messy operational changes causing lack of trust

    Taproot Foundation2018-10-19
  5. Helpful (2)

    "So much potential... but in need of vision."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Taproot Foundation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Passionate, fun, smart and dedicated staff. Peer collaboration and support is stellar. Front line teams want to see each other succeed.

    Cons

    Deeply lacking a cohesive vision of the future of the organization. Struggling to articulate their value-add in an environment of growing competitors/ peers. Way too beholden to old ways of working./ programs.

    Advice to Management

    Get out of your own way! There's so much potential for the organization, but you're holding yourselves back. Empower your staff to contribute ideas and help bring you into the future.

    Taproot Foundation2018-05-18
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends

    I worked at Taproot Foundation part-time

    Pros

    It feels good to help nonprofits with the skills that I use on a regular basis in my daily work life. Taproot provides the opportunity for diversity of experience by interacting with several nonprofits.

    Cons

    Some nonprofits take advantage and just want the project team to be order takers not considering the expertise and dismissing the skills of the team.

    Taproot Foundation2017-05-06
  7. "Marketing Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Marketing Manager in San Francisco, CA

    I worked at Taproot Foundation for less than a year

    Pros

    Giving back to the community is a great feeling, and Taproot made the projects seamless.

    Cons

    My experience was very positive, no complaints.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Taproot Foundation2017-01-12
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Taproot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Taproot Foundation

    Pros

    Great and smart people that really love the work that they are doing ,playful professionalism.

    Cons

    Better hiring for leadership position. Needs improvement of on-boarding for for new hires. There was too much reliance on people who had historical knowledge .

    Advice to Management

    Make sure the people who are being hired to lead teams are ready for the work that will be required of them.

    Taproot Foundation2016-08-23
  9. "Amazing Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Marketing Manager Intern 

    I worked at Taproot Foundation for less than a year

    Pros

    You get to do something worthwhile with your knowledge. It was an amazing eye opening experience.

    Cons

    It is a lot to get done in a short amount of time and sometimes it would be nice to go off the standard outline

    Taproot Foundation2016-07-05
  10. "Great place to meet people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Director in Fairfax, VA
    Recommends

    I worked at Taproot Foundation for more than a year

    Pros

    You end up meeting some really interesting people who become your co-workers on a Taproot project

    Cons

    The client may be at a location that's not very convenient, although the project could be pretty interesting

    Taproot Foundation2016-05-11
Found 32 reviews