US Secret Service Reviews | Glassdoor

US Secret Service Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
US Secret Service CEO James Murray (no image)
James Murray
1 Ratings
Pros
  • "Truly great people in the Field(in 5 reviews)

  • "Travel the world, be a part of history in the making and a rich tradition of excellence(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work/life balance can be very tough(in 7 reviews)

  • "Travel, hours, and ever changing schedules can be difficult on family life(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "One of my most rewarding job opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at US Secret Service full-time

    Pros

    Amazing and exciting place to work. Management and fellow employees are the upmost professional individuals I have ever had the pleasure to work with.

    Cons

    In my opinion, there are none.

    US Secret Service2018-11-30
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Poor Executive Management, Zero Leadership, and Extreme Wasting of Taxpayer Dollars"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at US Secret Service full-time

    Pros

    Good pay and location in DC

    Cons

    Not worth the pay or location Nothing is what it appears to be Policy means nothing here They do not follow the rules like other agencies Career and Confidence Killer If you are a serious professional, it’s a waste of your time Young professionals will get the wrong impression of how a federal agency should operate, so I recommend you all stay away I would not want my children to work here!

    Advice to Management

    The problem is at the “high level”. Purge poor leaders in executive management. There’s no other way to improve the place.

    US Secret Service2019-09-09
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Proud But Disillusioned"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RO AO 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at US Secret Service full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great tradition paired with one of the most important mission sets in the Federal government. Truly great people in the Field. I love my office, the Agents and RAIC... superior group.

    Cons

    Unwillingness to revise outdated processes. NO training for administrative personnel... you better be a self-starter and be prepared for long distance OJT. Overburdened support personnel and systems. Far too much oversight that promotes a culture of fear and punishment over training and guidance. We waste more paper in a day than any other government agency I've ever seen because of antiquated filing practices...... just an example of the "that's the way we've always done it" mode of thinking. Being part of DHS has greatly affected, in a negative way, employee satisfaction and detracted from our ability to focus on the mission sets prescribed to the USSS. The additional layer of bureaucracy is an unnecessary burden stressing our already diminished manpower.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't be afraid to change with the times! Trust your people. HQ must remember that it exists to support the Field not the other way around.

    US Secret Service2019-07-30
  4. "Seasoned Supervisory Special Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Resident Agent In Charge 

    I worked at US Secret Service full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Job satisfaction because of protective and investigative missions.

    Cons

    Lots of travel outside of the United States

    US Secret Service2019-06-10
  5. "Good entry level position to start with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Uniformed Division Officer in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at US Secret Service full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Pay - Travel - Co-workers - Opportunities within Uniformed Division (k-9 handler, opportunities to move up in rank, etc) - Opportunity for overtime

    Cons

    - Terrible work/life balance - The senior management doesn't really care about the officers - A lot of FORCED overtime - Understaffed - Bad retention rate of employees

    Advice to Management

    Take better care of your officers so that the agency can get a better retention rate and won't be so understaffed.

    US Secret Service2019-03-27
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Difficult at times, but unique experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Special Agent in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at US Secret Service full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The quality of coworkers and personnel are second to none. Rewarding, unique experiences, opportunities to travel almost everywhere in the world, good compensation, and held to high standards.

    Cons

    Travel, hours, and ever changing schedules can be difficult on family life.

    Advice to Management

    Work/life balance needs improvement

    US Secret Service2018-10-04
  7. "Great but long hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at US Secret Service full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    travel and great money. wonderful experiences and some good men and women

    Cons

    long hours, poor management. Limited days off can go 12-14 days or more straight working shifts.

    US Secret Service2018-07-29
  8. "Not for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Police Officer in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at US Secret Service full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great travel, great money and experience

    Cons

    Too many hours. Typical year over 400+ hours of overtime

    US Secret Service2018-07-07
  9. "Used to be great. Now it is a difficult place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at US Secret Service full-time

    Pros

    A lot of travel if thats what you like. Serve your country.

    Cons

    A lot of travel - It depends what you like. Morale is bad.

    Advice to Management

    Many opportunities in the near future.

    US Secret Service2018-06-12
  10. "Highly motivated need not apply"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Police Officer in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at US Secret Service full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great pay with ample overtime available. Great travel paid for by the government.

    Cons

    Low morale, forced overtime, boring tasks that are not rewarding

    Advice to Management

    Ask your employees opinion on how to improve morale/security measures and use it

    US Secret Service2018-04-17
Found 65 reviews