ACT Commodities Reviews

Updated Mar 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
80%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
ACT Commodities Co-CEOs/Co-Founders Bram Bastiaansen and Jaap Janssen (no image)
Bram Bastiaansen and Jaap Janssen
3 Ratings
  1. "Exciting time to be at ACT"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ACT Commodities full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Supportive senior leadership. A lot of room to develop and show your entrepreneurial spirit. Fun environment. Definitely a place that I'm pumped to go to every day.

    Cons

    None at this time

    ACT Commodities Response

    September 6, 2019Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with ACT! We are happy to hear that you enjoy ACT and the culture/environment.

  2. Helpful (4)

    "Toxic environment - proceed with caution"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Controller 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ACT Commodities full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to make money if you started early and got a decent slice of the customer pie. The company weekend is fun too. Good place if you have no experience and just graduated college.

    Cons

    Success will highly depend on your manager and how much you're willing to put the effort in making cold calls without one of your colleagues cannibalizing your margin. Limited liquidity in the market and the products are highly influenced by political agendas so it's definitely not your typical trading environment. Overall it's a frat-house type work environment that can be toxic at times. There is a non-compete agreement you will be signing and they have enforced it with employees in more than one office location in the past, so don't expect to use anything you learn at ACT somewhere else.

    Continue reading

    ACT Commodities Response

    December 9, 2019Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to express your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your experience did not lead to a positive recommendation. At ACT we strive to be a great work environment for everyone and feedback helps us to improve this on an ongoing basis. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.

  3. Helpful (4)

    "Really Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at ACT Commodities full-time

    Pros

    Senior Leaders value transparency and care about their people. Access to a private performance coach, lots of training and support for personal and professional development. High earning potential. Fun place to work, team members are friends outside of work.

    Cons

    None at this time.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (11)

    "High pressure phone sales"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at ACT Commodities full-time

    Pros

    Happy hours and team events if we hit monthly targets. Can make a very good bonus - but most good markets/clients are already being managed by someone else.

    Cons

    High pressure sales job with a lot of cold calling. Call stats are tracked. Little career and skills development as the job scope is limited and narrow.

    Continue reading

    ACT Commodities Response

    May 14, 2018Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for your feedback. The entrepreneurial nature of the Sales Trader role includes prospecting, which is a core part of how our sales traders build their business. I’m sorry to hear that the career development opportunities didn’t meet your expectations. As part of the trainee program that every sales trader goes through, we offer sales training, negotiations training, call reviews, private sales coaching, and access to a personal coach. All feedback is important to us and we appreciate your thoughts.

  5. Helpful (5)

    "Amazing company to work for!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at ACT Commodities for less than a year

    Pros

    ACT Commodities provides an open and inclusive environment. Each employee has a direct impact on the company. The team is ambitious, collaborative and most importantly fun. ACT is growing rapidly, which allows its employees to continue to develop on both a professional and personal level.

    Cons

    No cons at this time.

    ACT Commodities Response

    March 26, 2018Recruiter

    Thank you for your review and great to hear your positive experience!

  6. "Solid firm"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Physical Fuels Trader in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at ACT Commodities full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    • Properly aligned to grow within the environment commodities space. • Active participation of Senior management and Traders in daily activities. • Solid base salary and generous bonus structure. • Structured so that the employee determines the growth of their own business, but with the backing and experience of a larger firm. • Established flat organization.

    Cons

    Nothing critical to mention.

    Continue reading

    ACT Commodities Response

    March 26, 2018Recruiter

    Thank you for your review! And yes, we keep going like this :)

  7. "Excellent Firm"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales -Trader in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at ACT Commodities full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    ACT continues to grow and add talent to its team of Sales-Traders who pride themselves on being competitive, hard working, and versatile. The firm interacts within exciting markets that will continue to grow rapidly in the coming years. All employees are well versed in the intricacies and culture of the client base and markets. The move to New York City will grow the firm in size and scope and should provide key access to client bases and financial/energy related markets.

    Cons

    No negatives to mention as of now. Hours can be substantial and similar to Investment Banking due to the high focus on relationship building and deal flow.

    Continue reading

    ACT Commodities Response

    March 26, 2018Recruiter

    Thank you for your review! Much appreciated. Have a great week!

  8. Helpful (12)

    "Sales Trader"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Associate, Sales and Trading in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at ACT Commodities

    Pros

    Excellent company to work for. Very team oriented environment that demands hard work and a driven personality. It is a small team but very tight knit. The role requires an individual who thrives in a sink or swim atmosphere. The base pay is strong and offers a bonus structure that is uncommon in most entry level front office positions. ACT is a flat organization with almost no hierarchy. Traders work directly with managing partners and founders.

    Cons

    Early mornings and long hours. Don't expect to show up and work a 9-5 job. Mornings begin before 6am. While the team is small working as a trader requires a self motivated personality and willingness to learn from mistakes.

    Continue reading

    ACT Commodities Response

    March 26, 2018Recruiter

    Thank you for your review and your input! Have a great week!

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great atmosphere"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Trader in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at ACT Commodities full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This firm has a good balance between work and play. Great perks and bonus plan. If you have an interest in renewable energy you'll really like it here.

    Cons

    San Francisco can be foggy at times. Occasionally traffic here is a nightmare. It never rains. It rarely is warmer than 80, or colder than 50.

    ACT Commodities Response

    March 26, 2018Recruiter

    Hi, thank you for your review! As we have our offices in Amsterdam and New York, the climat overthere is pretty good :)

  10. Helpful (5)

    "Firm to keep an eye on"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Trader in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at ACT Commodities full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great starting salary. Good medical and bonus plan. Work closely with managers and directors. Good work atmosphere. Empower their employees

    Cons

    City is expensive. Weather is Mild. Work NY hour (can be a plus)

    ACT Commodities Response

    March 26, 2018Recruiter

    Thank you for your review. Much appreciated. Have a great week!

Found 18 reviews