America Works Reviews | Glassdoor

America Works Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 179 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Dr. Lee Bowes
119 Ratings
Pros
  • "Dedicated to helping people find employment(in 21 reviews)

  • "It's really cool to see the results of our hard work(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Staff is treated unfairly and there is no HR(in 9 reviews)

  • "No cons, it’s a really fantastic place to work(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "The people make the job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at America Works full-time

    Pros

    - The people I work with are really and extremely talented at their jobs. - Management promotes a positive work environment. - GREAT work incentives.

    Cons

    Nothing comes to mind. I love working there.

    America Works2019-05-06
  2. "Excellent organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at America Works full-time

    Pros

    Managers are almost all hired from within.

    Cons

    There is always a lot to do!

    America Works2019-05-01
  3. "Best Place to Work if you are creative and a problem solver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at America Works full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    This is a company where creativity really matters. If you are unfamiliar with that level of independent thinking or assertiveness, you will not succeed. The uniqueness is this is a business AND human services company. The business is only successful, if the people we serve are successful. Please do not apply unless you understand and can relate to both ideals. The measurement of success is based on the targets we meet....

    Show More

    Cons

    No cons for this company. Your success is based on you.

    Advice to Management

    Advice to future applicants: The goal is to help change people's lives . Working provides them the freedom so desperately needed for their families to grow. Create your own pathway for the betterment of the people we serve. Only looking for people that can help us become stronger as an organization.

    America Works2019-05-01
  4. "Perfect company to build a career with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at America Works full-time

    Pros

    It's run by great people who are all about providing great experiences and supporting professional development. I really feel like I've been taken under the wing of the managers there - I can tell they actually care about what happens to me and the direction my career takes. I'm very thankful for how they've helped me grow professionally.

    Cons

    There aren't many, if any at all.

    America Works2019-04-28
  5. "Awesome work structure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at America Works full-time

    Pros

    The work is fast paced, fun and I've built a ton of meaningful relationships. The flexible work structure is a huge pro and so are the people that I get to work with. It's my favorite job I've had.

    Cons

    Must be a team player.

    America Works2019-04-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Easy recommendation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at America Works full-time

    Pros

    The leadership is highly supportive; I'm given access to all the tools I need to get the job done at a high level. The culture is pretty impressive too. Expectations are high, but everyone is helpful so the support needed to succeed is always there. Working there has been great experience overall.

    Cons

    We could always be more organized, but that's about it.

    America Works2019-04-09
  7. Helpful (2)

    "I work with amazing people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at America Works full-time

    Pros

    My coworkers are the best part of the job. I work with some incredibly smart, kind and generous people. The office stays pretty lighthearted, and I think a big reason for that is actually because everyone takes their job seriously. It's a rare occurrence for anyone to have to pick up someone else's slack. I loved it there.

    Cons

    I can't think of any.

    America Works2019-03-29
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Fun & innovative work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at America Works full-time

    Pros

    My favorite part about America Works is simply that I get to do interesting, next level work. I'm always working witht the latest tools and technology and constantly learning new things. It all keeps the job really interesting for me.

    Cons

    Must be able to learn new things and adapt on the fly. It's kind of stressful at first, but you get use to it.

    America Works2019-03-08
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Working at AW has been as close to perfect as possible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at America Works full-time

    Pros

    I love pretty much every aspect of it - I'm doing important work on a daily basis, my bosses are amazing, the jpb is a lot of fun, and I LOVE everyone I work with. Working there has easily ben the best experience of my career.

    Cons

    It's a very up tempo workplace, so be prepared to move fast.

    America Works2019-03-11
  10. Helpful (5)

    "A company you can be proud to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at America Works full-time

    Pros

    The work is cool enough, but I really appreciate the fact that they're committed to philanthropic and environmental initiatives. It makes my job a lot more enjoyable when I know that I'm amking a positive impact on the community, even if it's indirectly.

    Cons

    There haven't been any cons.

    America Works2019-03-02
Found 179 reviews