KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Ashurst

Is this your company?

Ashurst

Add a Review

Ashurst Reviews

Updated Nov 28, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 218 of over 266 reviews

3.7
60%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Ashurst Managing Partner Paul Jenkins
Paul Jenkins
54 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work life balance, plenty of opportunities to develop career and skill set(in 10 reviews)

  • "Very flexible working as long as the work is being done(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours, difficult people to work with(in 21 reviews)

  • "working hours may be quite variable(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Law

    Join the conversation on

    Law

    4m

    an 

    Associate Attorney

    It seems partners are much more flexible with associates who have kids than with those who don’t. If it’s okay for my colleague with a kid to leave at 5 pm and log on later, why isn’t that the same for me (no kids)? My obligations might be different, but I still have a life and want to be able to do certain things, like catch that evening workout class or cook dinner for my partner. As you can probably tell, my firm is operating 100% in person. There is no point here — I’m just whining.

    3,328

    405 Comments

    Join the conversation on
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great New Offices

      Aug 6, 2019 - Staff in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      We just moved into brand new space in NY's Hudson Yards. The office is modern and spacious. It really embodies the collaborative and mobile working environment the firm promotes. I'm really pleased.

      Cons

      This is a great place to work and the people are nice. The only downside is our size. We are still small and there are strategic plans to grow and be a more robust US presence.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good

      Mar 30, 2021 - Finance Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Dynamic, good, inclusive, hip office, collaborative

      Cons

      too structured, divisive, slow decision making, centralized in UK

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Boutique feel at an international firm

      Jul 29, 2019 - Counsel in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Small friendly office but with a market leading in US infrastructure/project finance team and in several other sectors. Increasingly well integrated into the global firm. Pay is top tier (Cravath scale). Recently moved to new office in Hudson Yards. Opportunities to move around the global network.

      Cons

      Workload in my team can be “peak and trough”, and hours are unpredictable.

      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great culture and place to work

      Jul 22, 2019 - Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everyone is great to work with, very friendly and collaborative. A smaller office lends to a lot of exposure to partners and senior management, with frequent visits from our global managing partner/chairman. Great potential for growth.

      Cons

      Having to edit from UK to US spelling regularly.

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Culture and Development Opportunities

      Jul 5, 2019 - IT Services 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The teams I work with are really good and enthusiastic. Total commitment to doing a good job. Also a real desire to improve our services within the firm. Flexible working practices and remuneration seems pretty good.

      Cons

      Pressure to deliver results into the firm. Keeps you focused but is stressful at times

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Average firm with average people

      Nov 9, 2017 - Attorney in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Better work-life balance than other NYC firms

      Cons

      It's a British firm and tend to favor Brits over non-Brits. Small office. Some attorneys are immature snobs always talking behind and spreading rumors about junior attorneys and paralegals. Worked at a few different international firms but found the NY office culture to be very unpleasant due to such immature people.

      5 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Junior Associates beware of the lack of guidance

      Nov 8, 2016 - Associate in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Open door policy, laid back, challenging deals

      Cons

      Partners and associates aren't interested in developing junior associates, a lot of pettiness among certain associates directed towards assistants, paralegals and more junior associates

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Lots of partner involvement

      Nov 27, 2021 - Lawyer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good atmosphere and accessible partners

      Cons

      Salary not in line with US firms

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      GHG

      Nov 16, 2021 - Assistant Manager in Mewat
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work culture and facilities

      Cons

      lack of personal developmental opr.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Business Support

      Nov 28, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good starting salary. Benefits follows UK office. Diversity & Inclusion well managed but only applies to managerial level and fee earners.

      Cons

      Business support staff don't enjoy equal benefits as fee earners and mangers level staff. Hardly any salary and career path progression for business support staff.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 218 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Ashurst Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Ashurst? Share Your Experiences

    or