Atmos Energy Reviews | Glassdoor

Atmos Energy Reviews

Updated Aug 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 115 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Atmos Energy CEO Kim R. Cocklin
Kim R. Cocklin
53 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The turn over is very high therefore when they fill a position with a good candidate they tend to stick them there with no room to grow(in 4 reviews)

  • "There is no room for advancement unless you are rubbing elbows with the supervisor or management(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Relaxed office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - GIS 

    I worked at Atmos Energy full-time

    Pros

    Very nice management and communicative.

    Cons

    Can be cutthroat because of the rope you already have. Not really a con but they're watching your work and give you chances without you really knowing. They will let you go.

    Atmos Energy2019-08-07
  2. "Terrible company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Franklin, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Atmos Energy full-time

    Pros

    - Great benefits -- that's about it

    Cons

    - Disrespectful coworkers - Management is very passive - No documentation or process in place for anything. People just work there for a long time and know things and never document - Upper management is concerned about numbers and silly Atmos essentials training sessions that benefit no one - No proper training for new hires

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention when your employees talk to you about process improvements. Also, it is not proper to ignore complaints about harassment just to be able to retain employees that have been working there for a long time (basically out of fear of losing them if disciplined properly)

    Atmos Energy2019-08-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Friendly company culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Right of Way Agent in Dallas, TX

    I worked at Atmos Energy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Complimentary lunch often. Great location.

    Cons

    Do not plan on advancement anytime soon. Entrepreneurs need not apply.

    Advice to Management

    Be open to new ideas.

    Atmos Energy2019-04-16
  4. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Atmos Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture of the company.

    Cons

    Not as many training opportunities across the different groups.

    Atmos Energy2019-02-26
  5. "A decent 9 to 5"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Atmos Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flextime PTO is yours to use as you please Management is nice even though it’s mircomanaged. Most Holidays we’re off and if the public schools we closed, so is Atmos. - Good if you have kids. VPP Bonus check

    Cons

    Micromanagement atmosphere. Mircromangement software built into the system, everything is about numbers. New employees are given cases they haven’t been trained on. Management is ALWAYS in meetings, not sure what you could possibly meet about every day. Training doesn’t seem to happen as needed, it seems to happen when they THINK it’s needed.

    Advice to Management

    Relax with the micromanagement. Hire people who have the ability to understand what’s needed w/o watching their every move. Where is the trust? Working here is like working at McDonald’s and having the shift manager secretly watch your every move.

    Atmos Energy2019-03-07
  6. "Takes time but great employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Service Technician in Madisonville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Atmos Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work environment at office, pay and time off.

    Cons

    Always on call, advancement can take many years, predetermined career tracks by higher ups.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees

    Atmos Energy2019-02-19
  7. "GREAT company ."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Damage Prevention Specialist in Lafayette, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Atmos Energy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good Pay , Great Benefits, Good culture , good employees . smart management.

    Cons

    none to report .

    Atmos Energy2019-01-29
  8. "Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Atmos Energy full-time

    Pros

    Great culture and company to work for

    Cons

    Pay was a little low for such a successful company. Moving up usually requires you to relocate.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing

    Atmos Energy2018-12-14
  9. "Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Atmos Energy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with, a family environment.

    Cons

    Limited work life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your people and act.

    Atmos Energy2018-12-11
  10. "Customer Support Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Support Representative in Amarillo, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Atmos Energy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I cannot say enough great things about my Atmos family! My actual date of leaving was in August of 2012 due to a surgery that almost killed me. Atmos Energy stood right beside me, visiting me during the almost year of being in the hospital, they stood by my family as well! When I started with this great organization in 2000, I was wowed by the rewards-great and small for just doing my job! Every team leader, supervisor,...

    Show More

    Cons

    The only con I could think of is not being able to work with one of the best companies in the United States!

    Advice to Management

    The management team is awesome! They always have time to visit with you-they would even walk past you at your desk and pat you on the back to just wave and make you feel like you were their only employee! Jamie and Ben--you are the backbone of our call center in Amarillo, thank you for everything you have done for all of us in customer support, even those of us that like myself, had to leave due to medical reasons. It...

    Show More
    Atmos Energy2018-10-17
Found 115 reviews