Austin Powder Reviews | Glassdoor

Austin Powder Reviews

Updated Mar 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
55%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Austin Powder President and CEO John D. Rathbun (no image)
John D. Rathbun
1 Rating
  1. "Lead Blaster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Austin Powder full-time

    Pros

    Great management team, different challenge

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Austin Powder2018-05-19
  2. "Keep looking!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Location Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Austin Powder full-time

    Pros

    Benefits were pretty decent. Crew members are good guys to work with.

    Cons

    Sales runs the show, management is just there to relay messages and be a fall guy. Higher management are pretty much used car salesmen.

    Continue reading
    Austin Powder2020-03-16
  3. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tax Accountant 
    Recommends

    I worked at Austin Powder part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly environment, relaxed workplace, and overall great place to work

    Cons

    There is sometimes leadership conflicts

    Austin Powder2019-11-16
  4. "Poor management and toxic environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Medical Case Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Austin Powder full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The work hour and health insurance

    Cons

    Management lacks leadership, incompetent, very messy and provides no structure and no accountability. No opportunity to advance. Majority of the staff and upper management are unprofessional and shady. It's a toxic work environment

    Continue reading
    Austin Powder2019-09-13
  5. "Equipment engineering implementation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Equipment Engineer 

    I have been working at Austin Powder full-time

    Pros

    I love the environment and the People

    Cons

    Austin is getting very congested and busy

    Austin Powder2019-06-23
  6. "JOKE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Austin Powder

    Pros

    None absolutely no pros at all

    Cons

    Lack of management and safety.

    Continue reading
    Austin Powder2018-09-30
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Family-like feel with lots of room for improvement."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Technical Representative in Williamsburg, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Austin Powder

    Pros

    Hands on work, never boring, time flies on the job, always working on a new challenge, company truck provided, lots of longevity in the company, comforting commitment to safety.

    Cons

    Lacks development plan and opportunities, communication tends to be a weakness, corporate management lacks vision and direction, not enough diversity or youth, pay tends to be low for time and effort required.

    Continue reading
    Austin Powder2018-03-29
  8. "Bulk explosive equipment operater"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Washington in Onalaska, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Austin Powder full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Different environment every day, travel the west coast, obtaining necessary licences ,good benefits 401k

    Cons

    No set schedule, early morning , late nights , exposure to chemicals, weather fluctuation

    Continue reading
    Austin Powder2018-01-19
  9. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Austin Powder full-time

    Pros

    Very family oriented and definitely value their employees. Upper management is very approachable, honest, and respectful to employees. Internal employees speak highly about the company. Employees do not leave the company based on being happy with the work environment and upper management. The company supports professional development and growth and is open for improvement opportunities. The current leaders are genuine people. The future of this company is very promising.

    Cons

    The location of the office based on current traffic conditions can be frustrating.

    Continue reading
    Austin Powder2017-10-24
  10. "Bad experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Driver in Asheville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Austin Powder full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I do not suggest you work there.

    Cons

    Terrible hours and terrible pay for a lot of work. The equipment was not in great shape either.

    Austin Powder2017-05-21
Found 24 reviews