BET Reviews

Updated Dec 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
49%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
BET Chairman and CEO, BET Holdings and Black Entertainment Television Debra L. Lee (no image)
Debra L. Lee
58 Ratings
Pros
  • "The work environment was great, the projects I worked on were very exciting and challenging(in 14 reviews)

  • "Great time great people loved it(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work-life balance can be challenging given fast pace environment(in 10 reviews)

  • "Long hours, no work/life balance, expected to be on call at all times, no acknowledgement of personal sacrifices made on the company's behalf(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Love it"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant 

    I worked at BET full-time

    Pros

    Great time great people loved it

    Cons

    I cannot think of any

    BET2019-11-22
  2. "Good Place to learn"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BET full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Plenty of room for professional learning. A lot of collaboration across departments if you develop good relationships. Very familial type of environment.

    Cons

    There is a good chance that you could get overwhelmed by the goals.

    Continue reading
    BET2019-11-30
  3. "Great Parent Company. Experience varies by the manager you work under."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BET full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent Benefits and perks. Some teams allow for remote work. One can learn a lot depending upon the team you work with. Exciting industry. Viacom perks are amazing.

    Cons

    Can be long hours. My particular manager did not support sick time. Unclear communication. No opportunity for flexible work environment.

    Continue reading
    BET2019-12-03
  4. "Great people. Poor management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BET

    Pros

    - The resources of Viacom give it an edge over other niche publishers and broadcasters. - Coveted awards shows get advertisers and talent managers answering your calls heading into June.

    Cons

    - Senior management has not been updated since founding (30 years ago) and the strategy reflects this. - Skills and results aren’t as valued as personal relationships. - Very limited prospects for internal mobility.

    Continue reading
    BET2019-10-27
  5. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at BET full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very diverse. Gives employees opportunity to advance.

    Cons

    Work-life balance can be challenging given fast pace environment.

    BET2019-10-09
  6. "Not recommended"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at BET full-time

    Pros

    Humorous colleagues, hard working ones, minority based dynamic in the workforce

    Cons

    A lot of bureaucracy, you get stuck doing a lot of administrative duties instead of honing your career development and improving your skillsets so you become more valuable.

    Continue reading
    BET2019-04-03
  7. "Get out while you can"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive 

    I worked at BET full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They overpay, corp card is nice and benefits are awesome

    Cons

    Management is old-school and leads the teams as such. Not a lot of room to move up

    BET2019-02-25
  8. "Good opportunity"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Planning Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BET full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It is a Great work environment

    Cons

    No training and limited advancement

    Continue reading
    BET2019-02-07
  9. "Great Benefits, Terrible Management"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BET full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Viacom Benefits are great - Can learn a lot through start up like set up.

    Cons

    - Management does not listen to much analysis. Would rather go after the revenue even if it hurts the company - Not a lot of support to help battle Sr. Executives on what the data is saying. - Some employees rude and mouth off when told things they do not want to here -Constant pressure to put out more data, despite lacks of usage by decision makers. - No real knowledge of Digital by some higher ups.

    Continue reading
    BET2018-08-16
  10. "Production Finance Clerk"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Finance Clerk in Hollywood, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BET part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good environment, training, small department so you get a lot of different tasks

    Cons

    Hard to move up, communication issues, bad pay

    BET2018-07-21
Found 115 reviews
</>Embed