Bader Rutter Reviews | Glassdoor

Bader Rutter Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Jeff Young
2 Ratings
  1. "Only positive things to say"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bader Rutter full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people, the people, the people! I loved the variety, the work, the fast pace and clients as well. Not a bad word to say, an overall excellent employment experience.

    Cons

    Some roles don’t have the opportunity for advancement desired but that is not true for all areas.

    Advice to Management

    Keep continuing to advance technology and capabilities and ensure you train and/or hire to ensure competency.

    Bader Rutter2019-02-06
  2. Helpful (3)

    "They think they're something special"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bader Rutter full-time

    Pros

    The location is nice, and so are some of the people.

    Cons

    They didn't understand my expertise.

    Advice to Management

    You're not as cutting-edge and innovative as you think you are.

    Bader Rutter2019-01-27
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Bader Rutter full-time for more than 19 years

      Pros

      BR days of talent and great management are gone.

      Cons

      Beware folks. It is all smoke and mirrors. Trust NO ONE.

      Advice to Management

      Look for a new career before you run the agency out of business. Best of Luck.

      Bader Rutter2019-01-10
    • Helpful (6)

      "Too little, too late."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Bader Rutter full-time

      Pros

      There are lots of opportunities to get involved at meet your co-workers.

      Cons

      The "Boys Club" runs deep at BR. A mostly incompetent middle management team has either pushed out or chased out top-talent while the executive team sits on the sidelines watching. Don't be fooled by things like a shiny new building or recent management-level hires. At it's core, BR has no desire to change and actually seems to perceive those who can bring about change as a threat.

      Advice to Management

      Get it together.

      Bader Rutter2018-09-12
    • Helpful (9)

      "Skip it"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brookfield, WI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Bader Rutter full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great team of design folks

      Cons

      Sales staff and resource managers have little concept of what it takes to get work done. Dates are committed with limited requirements and without regard to resource allocation, other work in progress, or budget.

      Bader Rutter2018-09-05
    • "Internship"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Bader Rutter full-time

      Pros

      - The team is great and full of characters. The people are lively and fun, as well as hardworking. - People want to see you succeed here. They'll help to make sure you feel valued! - It seems like there were lots of opportunities for promotions.

      Cons

      - Some of the office work is tedious and not related to your specific field. This is true of all office jobs, but sometimes you're pushed into a project that could've been handled far better by another department, while another department has a job that you would be more productive working on. - Large agencies can create a lot of bureaucracy and red tape that slows down progress! - The office culture sometimes causes...

      Show More
      Bader Rutter2018-07-24
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great company, lots of opportunity"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Bader Rutter full-time

      Pros

      The best people, open to new ideas, engaging culture, horizontal movement encouraged

      Cons

      Limited advancement opportunity, typical office politics, overly processed

      Advice to Management

      Continue being innovative and improving processes, but not at the expense of doing great work for clients.

      Bader Rutter2018-02-19
    • Helpful (20)

      "Bait and Switched"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Account Executive in Milwaukee, WI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Bader Rutter full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      BR sold itself as a growing, aggressive player poised on the edge of greatness. They built a beautiful new office in downtown Milwaukee, and talked about their open and creative environment. I left a high paying job to join them.

      Cons

      I quickly learned that the firm is tightly controlled by a very small group of white males at the top who do not deliver what they sell. In addition to not providing the rewarding and challenging work they promised, their client base is almost entirely based in a few very large agricultural accounts. I quickly realized the place was a Fun House of Cards, where nothing is as it appears and left the agency.

      Advice to Management

      Jettison your President and Business to Business team leader before their backroom smugness does real harm to the company. It is one thing to want to be the best, and another to set the groundwork for greatness. Their self-satisfied approach will drag you down.

      Bader Rutter2018-01-12

      Bader Rutter Response

      January 18, 2018President

      Thank you for providing your feedback. We greatly value the diversity of ideas expressed every day from employees throughout the agency. We also value all of our clients across all the categories of business they represent. Because we’re proud of what we’ve built over the last ...

      Show More
    • Helpful (9)

      "Worried about workplace equality? Move on."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Milwaukee, WI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Bader Rutter for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Beautiful work space in the heart of downtown.

      Cons

      C level staff, employee dumps, and mad men work culture, terrible administration, incompetent middle management.

      Advice to Management

      Get an HR department to handle workplace issues instead of bogus workplace surveys that clearly only pay your c-level’s backs.

      Bader Rutter2018-01-19
    • Helpful (12)

      "Yikes"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Bader Rutter full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      free gourmet coffee, fun company parties

      Cons

      restructuring beyond belief, layoffs, no room to grow in your career

      Advice to Management

      communicate and be truthful to your employees

      Bader Rutter2017-12-11
    Found 31 reviews