Best Friends Pet Care Reviews | Glassdoor

Best Friends Pet Care Reviews

Updated Sep 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 120 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
29%
Recommend to a Friend
25%
Approve of CEO
Best Friends Pet Care CEO Shane Kelly (no image)
Shane Kelly
36 Ratings
Pros
  • "Getting to know all of the wonderful pets(in 22 reviews)

  • "It was great to work with animals(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "There were way too many dogs for just a handful of people to handle(in 17 reviews)

  • "Very low pay, minimum wage with raises every 2 or 3 years, usually(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best job!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Doc Daycare Counselor in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Friends Pet Care full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Being with dogs Fun people Great benefits I loved this job! Would probably still be there if I still lived there

    Cons

    Pay Always seemed understaffed Can get stressful sometimes

    Best Friends Pet Care2019-03-01
  2. "Endless problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Animal Care Technician in Rocky Hill, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Best Friends Pet Care part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with animals was a passion of mine, the company was able to give me that experience.

    Cons

    Constantly being put in unsafe situations, lack of support from management, underpaid and overworked. Customers and employees are not valued in the least.

    Continue reading
    Best Friends Pet Care2019-09-10
  3. "Fun but horrible corporate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I have been working at Best Friends Pet Care part-time

    Pros

    Great people and customers to interact with

    Cons

    Corporate and lack of staffing

    Best Friends Pet Care2019-06-12
  4. "Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Wayne, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Friends Pet Care full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None really it was ok for most part

    Cons

    Work hard I guess I guess

    Best Friends Pet Care2019-05-17
  5. "Fun job, can be stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Chestnut Ridge, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Friends Pet Care part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved working one on one with animals, getting to talk to pet owners every day. Every day was different and you never need to work late.

    Cons

    Management was very weak and a lot of responsibilities landed on the workers. There were way too many dogs for just a handful of people to handle. Some days were very stressful, it was physically and mentally draining, and management was not understanding at all.

    Continue reading
    Best Friends Pet Care2019-05-17
  6. "The dogs were the only reason I stayed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Lead in North Plainfield, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Best Friends Pet Care full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    -Interacting and taking care of awesome dogs - Boarding unique pets - Loyal clientele can be very generous in tips and gifts - Closed relatively early (7 pm weekdays, 5 pm weekends) and usually left on time unless it was a busy day

    Cons

    - Strong exhibit of favoritism for particular employees from management - Management did not value work/life balance, was extremely difficult to get a day off, request often denied. - Open availability on Weekends and Holidays a must. - Often very short staffed which made accomplishing services that clients payed for their pet to experience get done. - Unrealistic marketing goals and extreme stress and responsibility put on management. - Very low pay, minimum wage with raises every 2 or 3 years, usually .28 cents per employee. - Hire many young employees in their teens who often mishandle the pets and make mistakes which results in injured or sick pets, and of course customer service takes the brunt of it. -As a lead I often did not get a break, would eat what I could at my desk when the lobby was empty.

    Continue reading
    Best Friends Pet Care2019-05-30
  7. "Proceed with caution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Tyngsboro, MA

    I have been working at Best Friends Pet Care part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Getting to know all of the wonderful pets.

    Cons

    The manager has no managerial skills. She is petty, spiteful and condescending to all who cross her path. Toxic atmosphere pervades the workplace and results in a constantly revolving door of employees who are lucky to last month(s).

    Continue reading
    Best Friends Pet Care2019-05-03
  8. "Bullies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dog Bather 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Best Friends Pet Care part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    the dogs, bring own dog to work

    Cons

    if you dont do exactly what managers say they will bully you out of a position which unfortunately has happened so many times in my location. pay is terrible compared to other boarding facilities. the sanitation standard is absurd, its practically abuse in the kennels.

    Continue reading
    Best Friends Pet Care2019-04-30
  9. "MISERABLE !!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pet Care Associate in Prairie View, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Best Friends Pet Care full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Dogs Hour break Big open space

    Cons

    Long hours Confusion Chaotic Miserable Over worked

    Continue reading
    Best Friends Pet Care2019-04-17
  10. "Stayed for the dogs, left due to management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Best Friends Pet Care part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Being with the dogs, general consistency to each shift.

    Cons

    Management would run people from my store away. Turn over rate was way too high for a place that needed people there for the animals.

    Continue reading
    Best Friends Pet Care2019-01-14
Found 120 reviews