Breakthrough Collaborative Reviews | Glassdoor

Breakthrough Collaborative Reviews

Updated Jun 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 64 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
88%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Lior Ipp
22 Ratings
Pros
  • "The best part about working as a teaching fellow at Breakthrough was the kids(in 12 reviews)

  • "No micromanagement, great community, learned so much(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "long hours, little communication until a week before program(in 24 reviews)

  • "low pay for the amount of hours spent(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing Experience with students and co-workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teaching Fellowship in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Breakthrough Collaborative full-time

    Pros

    Really felt that I got to impact a group of students and own all the work I got to do

    Cons

    Disorganization meant teaching fellows had to do a lot more than their original roles to make sure everything went smoothly.

    Breakthrough Collaborative2019-06-15
  2. "Kids are great, everyone cares, but has some holes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Teaching Fellow in Austin, TX

      I worked at Breakthrough Collaborative full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      The kids are great and the staff is really trying to give these kids an enriching experience

      Cons

      Lack of organization and delegating

      Breakthrough Collaborative2019-06-11
    • "Great teaching experience!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Teaching Fellow in Austin, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Breakthrough Collaborative full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I loved the community at Breakthrough as well as the hands-on experiences I had working with students as a summer teaching fellow.

      Cons

      Little pay, but otherwise a rewarding experience all around

      Breakthrough Collaborative2019-05-02
    • "Overall great experience and organization"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Teaching Fellow in San Francisco, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Breakthrough Collaborative part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      •Great workplace culture •Strong support system •Awesome children •Very meaningful work

      Cons

      •Long hours and low pay

      Advice to Management

      Admins were great - however, I sometimes believe a lot of great ideas were overlooked from teachers.

      Breakthrough Collaborative2019-03-17
    • "Teaching Fellow"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Breakthrough Collaborative full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Fulfilling work with great students

        Cons

        A lot of turnover in management, pay too low for the amount of work

        Breakthrough Collaborative2019-03-15
      • "Teaching Fellow"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Breakthrough Collaborative

        Pros

        Excellent coaching from a mentor who watched our classes, provided an amazing group of people, and was an enriching experience

        Cons

        The PD was only for about a week before we applied and it didn't really teach us classroom management

        Breakthrough Collaborative2018-10-25
      • "Good as a fun summer gig/volunteer"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Teaching Fellow in Santa Fe, NM
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Breakthrough Collaborative for less than a year

        Pros

        - incredible training - teaching middle school is fun - great energy and spirit at the program

        Cons

        - insane work hours - little pay

        Advice to Management

        Teachers should not be in charge in committees, its an extra pressure on the work already required

        Breakthrough Collaborative2018-10-08
      • "Breakthrough Teaching Fellow Experience"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Teaching Fellow 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Breakthrough Collaborative full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Unparalleled teaching experience and working towards a greater vision. Breakthrough makes sure to hire a diverse teaching fellow cohort.

        Cons

        Low pay (teaching fellows are paid via stipend), unprofessionalism among teaching fellows and disorganization among the administration. There is very little work life balance.

        Advice to Management

        In the future, make sure to prioritize professional boundaries and create a clear goal for the teaching fellows.

        Breakthrough Collaborative2018-08-08
      • "Good experience"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Breakthrough Collaborative full-time

          Pros

          Great PTO, flexible work environment, passionate coworkers

          Cons

          More IT and operations support members

          Breakthrough Collaborative2018-07-03
        • "Breakthrough Pittsburgh Teaching Fellow Interview"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends

          I worked at Breakthrough Collaborative

          Pros

          Rebecca, the former Executive Director, was super nice and made me feel comfortable Asked a lot of questions based on application essays

          Cons

          Asked about grades on my transcript. She did the same thing with others as well.

          Breakthrough Collaborative2018-05-22
        Found 64 reviews