CBIZ Reviews | Glassdoor

CBIZ Reviews

Updated Jul 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 306 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
CBIZ CEO Jerry Grisko
Jerry Grisko
17 Ratings
Pros
  • "I also have a great work/life balance, which causes me to have zero stress when I come into work every day(in 34 reviews)

  • "Great place to work because we have great people(in 17 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to grow your career!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - National Recruiting Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CBIZ full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have been with CBIZ for 3 years now and I can honestly say that I am going stay here long-term, no questions asked! I have grown so much professionally during my time here and become much more confident because of it. I have the flexibility and independence to perform my job responsibilities as I see fit. I also have a great work/life balance, which causes me to have zero stress when I come into work every day.

    Cons

    Nothing negative to say at this time.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    CBIZ2019-02-18
  2. "CBIZ"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CBIZ full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The audit team was great

    Cons

    Lot of weird / unprofessional people

    CBIZ2019-07-21
  3. "Audit Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Experienced Audit Associate in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CBIZ full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people at CBIZ are great

    Cons

    Long hours and days make the job hard

    CBIZ2019-05-30
  4. "Good company. Local resources with national exposure. Fees at the local level tend to be higher than other local firms"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CBIZ

    Pros

    Many CPAs with depth of knowledge.

    Cons

    Hire fees to clients. Corporate control limits the ability of the local office to adjust quickly to market conditions.

    CBIZ2019-05-05
  5. "Good experience & better option to a Big 4"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Senior Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CBIZ full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work culture, commodore and events for employees to show appreciation.

    Cons

    Promote work/life balance, but not true for all.

    CBIZ2019-05-13
  6. "Clueless & Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CBIZ full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits and Accounting sides are organized and provides opportunities for payroll and HR sales.

    Cons

    If you work in payroll or HRIS expect to be working with mediocre systems, and with clients that hate you. The clients have been put through the ringer with unexpected system upgrades, and poor customer service. Account managers are inept, and have no idea how to help their clients. Training is basically self taught from pre-recorded videos, and trail and error. Management is disorganized, and they do not even have knowledge...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Clean house with current management in payroll and HR, and invest in software that don’t have so many system limitations.

    CBIZ2019-05-11
  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Audit Associate 

    I have been working at CBIZ full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good culture and even better people to work for. Tone set at the top really shows.

    Cons

    Long hours, but that can be expected with any CPA Firm.

    CBIZ2019-04-10
  8. "Good for a stepping stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Audit Associate in Clearwater, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at CBIZ full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent training, decent pay, interesting and challenging work

    Cons

    Poor work-life balance, extremely negative atmosphere, vacation /time off benefits are below market, they fire people often

    Advice to Management

    Build people up and help them build on their strengths, beware of overly critical reviews or you will be left with negative people who see the worst in others as associates leave for greener pastures and a work environment with energetic positive people who help one another be successful.

    CBIZ2019-04-21
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Terrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CBIZ full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great co-workers in my department

    Cons

    Management never sticks so every few years someone comes in with something to prove. Telling employees that they're easily replaceable and what they're doing isn't good enough

    CBIZ2019-04-09
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to develop leadership skill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal in Phila, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CBIZ full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. PE consulting is fast-paced, you learn a lot in a short amount of time (con for some people) 2. People are expected to develop exceptional project management skills and client facing skills early in their career 3. Promotion is based on what you bring to the table not years of service 4. Very entrepreneurial environment 5. Leadership skill can be quickly developed

    Cons

    1. Hours can be long (as for most consulting jobs) 2. Systematic training is not in place 3. You'll be on the road A LOT (pro for some people) 4. Industry expertise is somewhat out-weighted by project management skills

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up !

    CBIZ2019-03-26
Found 306 reviews