CNOOC Reviews | Glassdoor

CNOOC Reviews

Updated Jun 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
CNOOC CEO Fanrong Li
Fanrong Li
2 Ratings
  1. "very good experience for a summer intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at CNOOC

    Pros

    very good teamwork environment; very good stipend

    Cons

    For my position, it requires coding a lot.

    Advice to Management

    Good job!

    CNOOC2013-03-26
  2. "Chinese Government companies are not Businesses"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CNOOC

    Pros

    Experience how China government businesses are strategic to China

    Cons

    Whipsaw; one day it's do this, the next stop

    CNOOC2013-06-19
  3. "A once great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CNOOC full-time

    Pros

    Good compensation is offered to staff

    Cons

    Dunning-Krueger in full force at this company.

    CNOOC2019-06-10
  4. "Too much politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CNOOC part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good compensation, great location (downtown bow)

    Cons

    Toxic team environments, very unstable, high turnover rate

    Advice to Management

    Need to provide more incentive for talented people to stay

    CNOOC2019-03-26
  5. "Unstable, not good for growing career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at CNOOC full-time

    Pros

    Pretty good pay and benefit

    Cons

    Too much politics, employee do not career about business.

    Advice to Management

    Be effective, ethical and productive.

    CNOOC2019-03-12
  6. "It was an excellent experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Fellow 

    I have been working at CNOOC full-time

    Pros

    Good working environment and nice person

    Cons

    too many people are working

    CNOOC2019-02-23
  7. "Senior Treasury Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Senior Treasury Analyst in Dubai

      I have been working at CNOOC full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      I can't find any Pros

      Cons

      Low Pay, Week management

      CNOOC2018-10-24
    • "Transportation Supervisor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Transportation Supervisor in Kampala
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at CNOOC full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      As a supervisor, you are exposed to make your own decision and make it work

      Cons

      Sometimes you little info to work with

      Advice to Management

      Local content is about development and what's next after oil and gas

      CNOOC2018-04-26
    • "GM"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - GM Trading in Beijing, Beijing
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at CNOOC full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      CNOOC is a stated-owned company with good career development platform. The employees may have chances to work with international and domestic partners.

      Cons

      The headquarters may move and react slowly to the market changes. Some internal regulation are not in line with the international practices.

      Advice to Management

      Follow-up the best practices internationally.

      CNOOC2017-11-21
    • "Something about CNOOC"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Structural Engineer in Beijing, Beijing
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at CNOOC full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      I enjoyed the fairly good working environment and relationship of co-workers. The meals during working hours are free and of top quality!

      Cons

      It is a state owned company so there is a bit bureaucracy. The promotion and incentive mechanism is somewhat less attractive.

      Advice to Management

      Increase the overall salary level and set up a more effective mechanism to encourage competition and reward for the top talents.

      CNOOC2017-06-27
    Found 14 reviews