California State Controller's Office Reviews | Glassdoor

California State Controller's Office Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 25 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
California State Controller's Office CEO Betty T Yee
Betty T Yee
0 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at California State Controller's Office full-time

      Pros

      Great People, alot ot learn. Many celebrations!!

      Cons

      Nothing I loved my job. I need to keep writing so the system lets me get through.

      California State Controller's Office2019-03-29
    • Helpful (2)

      "Toxic work environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Analyst in Sacramento, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at California State Controller's Office full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Some people are nice to work with.

      Cons

      Very unorganized upper leadership. Lack of any morale. Promotions are non-existent. Nobody cares what your job is or what you are there to do. The State benefits package is really nice.

      Advice to Management

      Hire competent people. Allow for the opportunity to hire from the outside, instead of wasting people's time on interviewing when you already have someone in mind from the inside. Truly look at your employee's potential and give them opportunities to use their skills. Provide challenges. Work with your employees to groom them for management.

      California State Controller's Office2019-03-11
    • "Mainframe Development"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Information Technology Specialist I in Sacramento, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at California State Controller's Office full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Great benefits working for the State of CA

      Cons

      Lack of communication. Some managers have lack of technical knowledge.

      Advice to Management

      Hire/promote managers that actually have management experience or at least understand the technology supported by the team they are hired to manage.

      California State Controller's Office2018-10-10
    • "Invaluable public service experience for those interested in government work!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA

        I have been working at California State Controller's Office part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        - Availability of hours to work - Conducive and friendly work environment - Meaningful projects and public-facing events - Access to City Hall occurrences and opportunity to work across departments

        Cons

        - Confusing directives at times from management as far as projects go - Lots of busy work for assignments - Classic government bureaucracy

        California State Controller's Office2018-08-08
      • "Company with Good Public Reputation"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at California State Controller's Office full-time

        Pros

        Office is located in a safe neighborhood with free parking.

        Cons

        There is no major problems.

        California State Controller's Office2018-08-03
      • Helpful (1)

        "Managment are a gang of Bullies"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sacramento, CA

          I worked at California State Controller's Office full-time for more than 9 years

          Pros

          Free Parking there are no other Pros

          Cons

          Prepare to be bullied mercilessly. Provide with little or no instructions and given impossible timelines to complete task, you have neer completed before. Managment is above reproach, if they make a mistake it's your fault you didn't catch it.

          Advice to Management

          Find a new vocation

          California State Controller's Office2018-01-12
        • Helpful (2)

          "Analyst"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at California State Controller's Office full-time for more than 20 years

          Pros

          There's much to learn and work is rewarding

          Cons

          Promotions seem to be awarded to family and friends

          Advice to Management

          Promote from within and be fair with promotions 0

          California State Controller's Office2017-11-25
        • "OA"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Office Assistant in Sacramento, CA
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at California State Controller's Office full-time for more than 2 years

          Pros

          I love people and my job here. Plus free parking!!

          Cons

          I wish they will have more opportunities available for me.

          California State Controller's Office2017-09-30
        • Helpful (1)

          "moved on but happy at new agency"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Accounting in Sacramento, CA
          Doesn't Recommend

          I worked at California State Controller's Office full-time for more than 2 years

          Pros

          free parking, nice co-workers

          Cons

          no flexible work schedules. had to apply & interview for each opening, management was unfriendly to union

          Advice to Management

          staff should be allowed to rate management for their performance

          California State Controller's Office2017-10-20
        • "AGPA at Unclaimed Property Division"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - AGPA in Rancho Cordova, CA
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook

          I have been working at California State Controller's Office full-time for more than 2 years

          Pros

          Located in Rancho Cordova (free parking) Friendly atmosphere Great coworkers

          Cons

          Production focused Red tape for new projects/ideas

          California State Controller's Office2017-08-07
        Found 25 reviews