Canfor Reviews | Glassdoor

Canfor Reviews

Updated Sep 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 84 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Canfor CEO Don Kayne
Don Kayne
44 Ratings
Pros
  • "great pay, amazing company, public and large but still know everyones name(in 8 reviews)

  • "Good pay, weekends off, over time every week, 9 holiday paid days, good benifits(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Personally the shift work is the best and worst thing about working at Canfor(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "I wish I would have come here sooner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area PLC Tech in Darlington, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canfor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay, Benefits, Hours, No Micromanagement, Upward Mobility

    Cons

    I have not come across any.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure your new and old employees can handle the ever changing new technology.

    Canfor2019-04-01
  2. "Spin certified lumber grader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lumber Grader in Urbana, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Canfor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work atmosphere and employees

    Cons

    None I can think of.

    Canfor2019-09-10
  3. "I have had app in at this job for years and haven't got a call for a job and I have the experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Millwright in Fulton, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Canfor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It a good place if you can get a job there

    Cons

    None that I know of

    Advice to Management

    When you have ppl that is experience of over 15 years you sure hire them

    Canfor2019-04-21
  4. "Great company to work for and great teams"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Canfor in Myrtle Beach, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canfor full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hours, pay, benefits, advancement, and great managers

    Cons

    Vacation, political environment, traditional culture

    Advice to Management

    Aging management team... lets plan for the future!

    Canfor2019-03-11
  5. "Owership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Manager in Washington, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canfor full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Canfor is an organization that takes ownership of its responsibilities to employees, customers , environment and the community that in which they are located. It gives every employee in every position the opportunity to succeed and excel if they take ownership of their position and responsibilities.

    Cons

    Canfor expects top effort for top recognition. You must come to the job every day with the intent to make it better and improve.

    Advice to Management

    Continue the path, I really think you are the finest company I have ever worked for

    Canfor2019-03-05
  6. "A great, people-first company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canfor full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Family atmosphere People first company Opportunity & Growth

    Cons

    Could be a better understanding that the way business is conducted in US is different than Canada. While our 2 countries are closely related there are some rather large differences.

    Advice to Management

    Better recognition of the differences between US & Canada and embracing them.

    Canfor2019-03-05
  7. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Myrtle Beach, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canfor full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great company that values their employees. Team environment. Great pay and benefits. Opportunities for career advancement.

    Cons

    Expect to work more than 40 hours per week.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to value in your employees and let them know their importance to the overall success of Canfor.

    Canfor2019-03-06
  8. "Good hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Machine Operator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Canfor full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good hours, competitive pay, education opportunities

    Cons

    Chose non educated people for positions that can be filled by others. Discrimination

    Advice to Management

    Offer good paying jobs to more African Americans and not just non aa

    Canfor2019-01-15
  9. "Stacker operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stacker Operator in Conway, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Canfor full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay, weekends off, over time every week, 9 holiday paid days, good benifits

    Cons

    Communication to employees from department managers

    Advice to Management

    Communicate more

    Canfor2018-05-13
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Wolf in sheeps clothing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Millwright in Urbana, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Canfor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay was competitive Plenty of hours to work Plenty of experience to gain if you don’t get canned Rewarding work

    Cons

    Long hours Unexpected hours thrown on you Will drop you like a bad habit for little to nothing Politics heavily weighed decisions This company could care less about a blue collar worker supporting his family

    Advice to Management

    Quit

    Canfor2018-04-12
Found 84 reviews