Clariant Reviews | Glassdoor

Clariant Reviews

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 210 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Clariant CEO Ernesto Occhiello
Ernesto Occhiello
6 Ratings
Pros
  • "Ambiente de trabalho sem igual, equipe muito boa(in 19 reviews)

  • "n, excelente ambiente de trabajo flexibilidad para aprender y capacitaciones constantes(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Falta de plano de carreira e aproveitamento de(in 31 reviews)

  • "Falta de treinamento e sem plano de carreira, supervis(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Service Engineer in Pleasanton, TX

    I worked at Clariant for less than a year

    Pros

    I was an intern at this company and I thoroughly enjoyed the experience I got. They often times went out of their way to make sure I was learning new things and getting valuable engineering experience.

    Cons

    I really didn't have any negative experiences with this company

    Clariant2018-10-01
  2. "Would not recommend to anyone under 40"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Clariant full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working from home, great benefits, good location

    Cons

    Bad working culture, very negative attitude, little room for upward mobility, strategic planning for company and future unsettling, large age gap in employees

    Clariant2019-08-06
  3. "Good place to work for but lots of variability between groups"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chemist in Mount Holly, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Clariant full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good benefits, good environment, lots of opportunity and upward mobility.

    Cons

    Middle management can be biased and expectations can be too high.

    Clariant2019-03-26
  4. "Nightmare job's"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Machine Operator in Belen, NM
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Clariant full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Drive was close to home.

    Cons

    The entire job was stressful

    Advice to Management

    Lazy, disrespectful and ignorant management.

    Clariant2019-02-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Customer Service."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Holden, MA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Clariant full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Not many, it’s a very toxic environment. Save yourselves and stay away unless there is a major overhaul you’ll only be breaking your back at a job with no rewards.

    Cons

    Clariant does not promote from within, they continue to put people in management roles that are not suited for the position and/or have minimal knowledge of the department. The few people who are competent get overloaded with work (I was easily working 60 hours a week while my teammates left early or spent half their day away from their desks socializing while I picked up the slack) while the people who don’t do any work...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Value the quality employees you have, promote them and acknowledge the hard work they are doing or else they will all leave and you’ll be left with employees who cannot pull their own weight or do the basic tasks of their job.

    Clariant2019-01-14
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Ok company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Clariant full-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours, decent pay if you fight for it.

    Cons

    Tended to hire friends of current managers vs. promoting within.

    Advice to Management

    Promote from within more often. You have great employees already, utilize them before looking at your social circle.

    Clariant2018-09-21
  7. "Family Friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Clariant full-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours and good benefits

    Cons

    Inadequate IT help desk - helpless

    Advice to Management

    Stop offshoring jobs to third world countries

    Clariant2018-06-28
  8. "Needs a facelift"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Clariant full-time

    Pros

    Globally recognized, not sure what else to add

    Cons

    Unclear direction, poor management, lack of innovation

    Clariant2018-05-30
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Procurement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Clariant for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and nice building.

    Cons

    Turnaround is extreme. Manage is the worst I’ve ever seen. Do not work for this company if you value your career.

    Clariant2018-06-16
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Avoid at all costs."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Clariant full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Brand recognition of the company

    Cons

    This is truly the worst place I have worked. I have worked for companies where sales is king, engineering is king and here cash flow is king and they don't care about anything else. They truly don't care about their customers. I've heard comments like they are going to pay more of we just won't serve them anymore. There is zero trust between managers to their employees. There is even zero trust between different divisions...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Zero trust = zero employees

    Clariant2018-03-27
Found 210 reviews