Compassus Reviews | Glassdoor

Compassus Reviews

Updated Sep 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 302 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Compassus CEO James A. Deal
James A. Deal
178 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Best place I have ever worked - Kind and compassionate workplace culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chaplain in North Andover, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Compassus full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    At age 70 I am eligible to retire, and I am financially able to do so. But the executive director and my director of clinical operations at the North Andover office of Compassus are among the finest people I have ever worked for in my life. They have created a wonderful work culture in our office. They are kind, compassionate, collaborative, accessible, clinically competent and just nice, nice people. So why... would I retire, -when going to work is such a great experience, both in the office and out in the field? I was a newspaper reporter before attending seminary and doing chaplain training (Clinical Pastoral Education). I loved that job, and I especially loved the collegial atmosphere in the newsroom and the way we all worked toward a common cause, helping each other and enjoying one another as we got the job done. Who would have thought I would find as wonderful an atmosphere in the world of hospice? I have worked for this company for 9 years, and will stay as long as the same management is in place. They are very, very skilled at hiring people who share their attitude of positivity. Our work is difficult and challenging at times, be we, who are in the field, are supported by management and the office team. And we are pretty much, all happy employees. Amazing, really.

    Show More

    Cons

    For me, the con is that it is an hour drive to the office (NH-MA) but I make the drive because I could not find a finer hospice team to work with.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. You are blessing our patients and all of us.

    Compassus2019-08-25
  2. "Great Hospice Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Hattiesburg, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Compassus part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for, awesome team-work, get to form relationships with pt and their families

    Cons

    Still currently on paper charting

    Advice to Management

    None

    Compassus2019-09-09
  3. "Hospice Aide"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hospice Aide 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Compassus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team and patients to care for

    Cons

    Leadership needs to get ahead of themselves and learn a few things

    Compassus2019-08-19
  4. "Horrible Company. - Run!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Compassus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    schedule flexibility is nice. Not much else

    Cons

    Horrible leadership at all levels. Dishonest, unprofessional. Hostile work environment

    Compassus2019-09-18
  5. "All"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Accounts Receivable Manager 

    I worked at Compassus full-time

    Pros

    Good Pay & Good Benefits

    Cons

    Not enough training for employees

    Compassus2019-09-14
  6. "Cant reccomend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Supervisor in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Compassus full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There is potential not realized

    Cons

    When we were acquired we were given certain reassurances that were not kept. They cut PTO than they cut hours so drastically some staff went from 40 hr work weeks to 16.

    Advice to Management

    Do more so staff work hours are not solely based on census so staff can have some consistency in pay as the Market is saturated in Georgia

    Compassus2019-08-09
  7. "Upper management greedy and out of touch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Compassus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pto accruals are decent compared to others

    Cons

    Staff paid poorly with unreasonable insurance

    Advice to Management

    Spread the wealth, it take staff to make you look good. So pay us accordingly. Stop the greed, you aren’t the “great thinkers” you think you are.

    Compassus2019-08-16
  8. "Different"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Compassus

    Pros

    The benefits are great quality

    Cons

    The organization was disorganized complicated

    Advice to Management

    Listen to staff concerns

    Compassus2019-07-04
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Compassus Sucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Orange, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Compassus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary - they pay well because they can't get people to work there.

    Cons

    They just can't compete in this area due to poor management. I don't know who is hiring these ED's however they need to do an overhaul. I could do a better job and I'm only a nurse.

    Advice to Management

    Give it up. The reputation of this place is irreparable.

    Compassus2019-08-07
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in Bedford, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Compassus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    We work great together and everyone will do whatever necessary for our patients and their families

    Cons

    it takes a while to onboard people so when there are open positions everyone feels the pinch for a little while

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work. Try to get patients from the local hospitals

    Compassus2019-06-25
Found 302 reviews