KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

ContentLEAD

Is this your company?

ContentLEAD

Add a Review

ContentLEAD Reviews

Updated Jan 24, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 of over 21 reviews

3.1
52%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
ContentLEAD CEO Daniel Morris (no image)
Daniel Morris
10 Ratings

The latest conversations about Accounting

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Amazing company, great experience

    Dec 5, 2014 - Content Marketing Specialist in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Investment from upper management in your career advancement - Company pays for Google Analytics certification - Amazing/fun company culture - Get to know you hours sponsored by the company - Supportive co-workers - Collaborative environment - WFH flexibility - Opinions heard by upper management - Great work-life balance - Process and procedure is well defined for all internal steps

    Cons

    - Busy schedules - Can have a lot on your plate at times

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    ContentLEAD? More Like ContentMILL.

    Jul 19, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent coworkers. Kind of like the camaraderie you feel with fellow hostages or the occupants of a sinking ship -- you don't know each other too well, but you're all in it together. Upward mobility. Easy to move up in the company if you're willing to work a lot more for the same amount of money.

    Cons

    They don't know how to treat their employees. Everyone is laughably underpaid, but expected to work longer hours and be more productive than other employees making the same salary. Writers are driven to near insanity, churning out content that it often rejected by clients. I've seen writers have breakdowns. Vacation hours accrue at a minuscule rate. If you save up all year to have the maximum number of days available in January or February, so that you can take more than one or two vacation days, your boss will suddenly be unable to approve your leave. They have no concept of work/life balance, and burden everyone with workloads that mean you must take your work home and work through weekends. You will never be paid overtime or offered any compensation for working past closing time. I wouldn't recommend this job to anyone but my worst enemy. It's a test of mental strength working here. Anyone who can get past a year is amazing. But people who stick it out past that strike me as odd -- after a year of working like a beaver you could definitely find a position with better pay and much better benefits. So why are you still stuck at CL in an entry level position?

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Good to Gain Experience

    Aug 12, 2013 - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Coworkers are great and the office culture is good because it's small and everyone knows each other (which holds everyone accountable for themselves). Managers/editors are easy to work with. You get to learn a lot about different types of industries you may never have otherwise had the chance to learn about. Also, you get to learn a lot about different types of web writing, like articles, white papers, press releases, etc. It looks great on a resume and helped me to land a better-paying job. Overall, good foundation for starting your career.

    Cons

    Oftentimes long hours, and the work can be mind-numbing depending on the clients (there are some good ones, It just depends on what you're assigned for a given month). There isn't enough time in the day to really turn out the quality of writing you'd want to attach your name to (which is fortunate, because you don't get bylines). If you can accept that, you can do well until you find something better...and you'll need to, because the pay and benefits package is horrible, and you won't be able to survive on it for long in this city. Basically, it's a good temporary job, but that's all. Will help you get your foot in the door to somewhere better.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    ContentLEAD Response

    CEO

    Thanks for the feedback - we're happy to hear you enjoyed the culture at ContentLEAD and also felt the role was a good way to build skills and experience. We work hard to offer career progression opportunities to our ContentLEADers, and have structured in several new roles and offered multiple promotions over the past few months, as well as reviewing our PTO policy to the benefit of tenured team members.

  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Find to start, but get our quick

    Oct 31, 2014 - Senior Writer in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun co-workers if you are in your 20s. I could basically make my own schedule. It was also a good thing to add to my resume as it adds some keywords and ideas that are hot in the industry right now. Beer sometimes.

    Cons

    The qualities they stress to writers (quality in writing) means very little as the ultimate goal is hitting quota every month (275-300 articles). As long as that happens, nothing else matters. The work load is laughably out of balance with the paycheck. Nearly every week I was working close to 50 hours and still needed supplemental income to pay my bills (and this is after a raise from my entry level pay). The only reason I took a promotion, which came with a massive workload increase, was to make a couple extra bucks in every paycheck because there is no other way to get a raise. There is also a massive lack of communication between departments. As a senior writer my work load could be changed by five different people at any time, often because someone didn't do their job correctly. Miscommunication led to me writing 30 articles for a client that cancelled months prior, wasting my time. There were multiple times where I know writers were asked for feedback and nothing ever came of it. When beer every week/event in the office is a major selling point on your culture, that's a problem.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    No such thing as the perfect company to work for, but there are really good companies.

    Feb 19, 2014 - Sales in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    ContentLEAD offers all of it's employees a very professional and low stress environment. They truly care about their employees and work hard at offering continued education and advancement. Are they perfect? No Are they a very good company? Yes

    Cons

    ContentLEAD, like any start-up has had it's share of ups and downs. This is normal! The advantages of working for a start-up are clearly in the ability to move up quickly within the organization. If you do well you will be noticed and rewarded accordingly. The disadvantages of working for a start-up are clearly the growing pains and the lack of concrete and well established procedures. Not everyone can deal with this. Most people need well established procedures to perform well.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good place to start, but not a place to make a career

    Feb 2, 2014 - Blog & Content Writer in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A very young and friendly environment. I often saw my co workers outside of work, which meant going to work much more bearable. Beer in the office regularly, and I could work from home almost whenever I wanted, and as long as I got everything done I was able to make my own schedule. It also was a great place to start a career -- the SEO experience I received has come up in almost every job interview I had after, and I feel confident it will continue to help me.

    Cons

    Much more about quantity than quality in my writing. The more we were expected to write, the more it felt like plagiarism instead of our own ideas, even if it technically wasn't. The pay was not enough to live in Boston, and I felt like if I freelanced I could make much more. Also, beer in the office is fun, but can make non-drinkers feel out of place and excluded.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Second Rate Content Farm

    Nov 18, 2012 - Web Developer in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -In the heart of Boston's financial district -"Boss" leaves to Europe and Arizona often -Young environment where everyone is around 24-25 -Drinking parties in the office

    Cons

    -Very low pay for work (unless you're in sales) I could easily make twice as much per hour freelancing than working 50 hours here. The writers who do the most constant work are paid next to nothing. -While the product works in concept, the fact that they need to push out hundreds of articles each day causes them to become a conglomeration of many other articles that already exist. In addition, the writers and account managers don't really understand high level SEO strategies and techniques, so the articles are poorly optimized. Therefore, the small business clients who pay thousands of dollars for this product, never see any significant conversions. -The web developers are the only ones who know about SEO and because of this, they are forced to take on the brunt of the client workload and usually perform additional tasks for free, in order to prevent the client from canceling. -The boss doesn't really understand SEO and doesn't get tough with the writers when they continue to deliver poor results or offer topics that the clients don't want.

    1 person found this review helpful

    ContentLEAD Response

    Thanks for the feedback - we are happy that our "get to know you"staff parties are popular. Based on the points you highlighted we are sure you will be pleased to hear that we now have a focus group meeting regularly to push core product development across the group - which includes but is not limited to technical integration practices and website builds to provide ever increasing ROI for clients.

  8. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great Environment to Begin a Career in Sales

    May 9, 2012 - Business Development Representative in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    ContentLEAD took me in after graduating from a relatively prestigious 4-year liberal arts school. I had no "real world" work experience or internships to speak of. They will teach you about the company in your first week but then they throw you to the wolves. Honestly, the best and only way to learn how to handle objections and become knowledgeable about your product is to talk about it with potential clients on a daily basis. The manager (who's awesome and hilarious) meets with you on a weekly basis to help you out. Even the CEO of the company meets with you once a month for an hour to see how your career and life is shaping up. You can get a meeting or receive help from anyone in the company within a few minutes. They bend over backwards to try and motivate you to reach your monthly goals. They try to scare away potential candidates for the job during the phone screening process, they don't sugar coat it at all. As the saying goes, if you can't take the heat stay out of the kitchen. Yes, you are going to make a lot of calls. Yes, it gets repetitive. And most importantly YES they will promote you to sales very rapidly if you do your job well and are good at it. I knew the kid who filled out the review before me and believe me he threw his career away long before working at ContentLEAD. Lastly, it is a great atmosphere to work in. I befriended all of my co-workers. I enjoyed their company, the camaraderie and monthly competition made work interesting on a daily basis. I worked in this role for 6 months. Hitting my quota on a regular basis and helping out the sales team when ever I could. I would have been promoted to sales within a few more months. However, I found a sales positions in the city that I originally had been planing on moving to directly out of school. I wasn't able to relocate previous to the job experience I gained at ContentLEAD. I would have never received my current opportunity without the experience this job provided me. ContentLEAD helped me become extremely prepared for my current sales job and I tip my hat to them in appreciation for what they have done for me. I would highly recommend them to anyone who is looking for a foot in the door of a sales career.

    Cons

    There is not a ton of room to grow within the company. There are 3 or 4 levels of sales and there isn't a ton of upward mobility. The good thing about sales is there is no cap on your commission. In this role or any of the other sales role. You make as much money as you can, you just have to be able to sell their product. They have a great product so you don't have to worry about being a slime-ball. Their product is genuinely high quality and they take it very seriously. There are some guys on the sales team that make a killing at ContentLEAD.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ContentLEAD Response

    Thanks for the feedback here - we're happy to note that we have listened to feedback from the sales team and introduced a commission for booked meetings that sell - so our outbound calling team is now experiencing increased earnings as a result.

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    What's it like to be a ContentLEADer?

    Oct 1, 2013 - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Visionary, passionate, forward thinking leaders - Great team atmosphere - Ability to collaborate and share ideas is encouraged - We deliver results and strive for meaningful outcomes - We regularly bring insights & innovative ideas that drive value for our clients - Team progress toward goals continually measured, discussed and observed - Company promotes for continuous improvement

    Cons

    I feel the pros will continue to outweigh the cons, I have no cons to share at this time. I am looking forward to the ContentLOUNGE.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ContentLEAD Response

    CEO

    Thanks for the feedback - glad to hear all those pro's. Watch out for results of all the team member feedback rolling out soon!

  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Decent place to gain entry-level experience, but not a lot of room for growth

    Oct 3, 2013 - Editorial Department in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people who work here are great, there's a lot of flexibility/options to work remotely and the health/dental benefits are decent. Also, the direct management is extremely supportive, approachable and encouraging.

    Cons

    The salary is embarrassingly low, and there are no annual performance-based raises. Also, it doesn't feel like upper management makes an effort to improve these areas of concern.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ContentLEAD Response

    CEO

    Thanks for the feedback - its great to hear you enjoy working with our people. We are looking at ways to improve the situation for tenured employees and will be rolling out some updates soon!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 21 Reviews

Work at ContentLEAD? Share Your Experiences

or